尼日尔

尼日尔妇女赋权带来儿童生活改善

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2009
每隔几周就有一名社区宣传员走访古单.坼里弗来村里做宣传。

乔利.欧尼穆斯.福特内尔报道

尼日尔马拉迪,2009年8月14日 - 古单.坼里弗村的收获期刚刚结束,谷子秸秆整齐地堆在村口。一般在这个时节,村里的妇女们都在田地里工作,或者为全家准备晚餐。

然而,今天妇女们都聚拢在村里广场上芒果树的树荫下。她们到那里是为了听定期来访的社区宣传员比芭.阿巴斯(Biba Abbas)讲话。

阿巴斯女士在一家小额信贷机构工作。每隔几周,她都来村里提倡家庭日常生活中需要采取的一些关键做法。今天,她来解释如何使用口服补液盐 (ORS),这是一种治疗腹泻的非常简单的方法。

她讲完后,大家要跟着做一次,以确保听懂。

联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔办事处推出的这个沟通项目是为了从家庭和社区层面来解决与不良儿童保健相关的根本原因。

这个项目提倡在日常生活中采纳七项对促进尼日尔儿童生存至关重要的做法:用口服补液盐(ORS)治疗腹泻、洗手、喂食婴儿副食品, 免疫、求医,以及全母乳喂养。

妇女团体

这个项目将持续三年,目标人口为生活在马拉迪地区51个地方的7.4万人。项目旨在使50%的目标家庭在项目结束前养成七项必要的日常习惯。

阿巴斯女士说:“六个月前,古单.坼里弗村的妇女听说其他村里的妇女通过一些创收活动来改善生活条件,所以也创建了一个叫做塔塔里(Tatali)的妇女团体。”Tatali在当地豪撒语(Haussa)中的意思是“存款”。

阿巴斯女士说,塔塔里的成员们现在开始存钱,直到她们有资格获得小额贷款来开展创收。

赋予妇女权力

每位像阿巴斯女士这样被挑选出来的社区宣传员都配备了一套通信设备,包括翻转图板以及监测和报告表。宣传员们还在人们习惯见面的地方组织团体讨论,如村里的广场。

人际沟通和团体交流活动为农村妇女提供了一个表达自己和寻找问题答案的良机。这是一个赋予妇女权力的好方法,也是让她们了解自己潜力和需要的好途径。

阿巴斯女士说:“我已经看到了村里发生的变化。”她强调说她所见到的腹泻病例的数量减少了三分之一。

“但是妇女们发生的变化最大。她们更多地参与到家庭和村里的决策过程中。她们获得了一定的尊严。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Empowering women to improve child survival in Niger

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2009
Tvery few weeks, a community animator visits the village of Guidan Cherifi to promote essential family practices.

By Joelle Onimus-Pfortner

MARADI, Niger, 14 August 2009 – The harvest period in the village of Guidan Cherifi has just come to an end, and the millet stalks are neatly bundled at the entrance of the village. Normally at this time, the women of the village can be seen working in the fields, or pounding millet for their family’s evening meal.

Today, however, the women are gathered on the village square, under the cooling shade of the mango trees.  They have come to listen to community animator Biba Abbas – who works for a micro-finance institution – during one of her regular visits.

Every few weeks, Ms. Abbas visits to promote essential family practices. Today, she is explaining the use of Oral Rehydration Salts (ORS), a simple way to treat diarrhoea.

When she is finished, the woman of the group will repeat the demonstration, to make sure the message is clear.

UNICEF Niger has developed this communication project to promote essential family practices, targeting the root causes related to poor child care at both the family and community levels.

The project promotes the adoption of seven key family practices that are considered essential for child survival in Niger: use of Oral Rehydratation Salts for diarrhoea, hand washing, complimentary feeding, vaccinations, care-seeking, and exclusive breastfeeding.

Tatali groups

The project is designed to last a period of three years and target a population of 74,000 people, living in 51 localities in the region of Maradi. The aim is that by the end of the project 50 per cent of targeted families will have adopted the seven essential family practices.

"Six months ago, when they heard that women in other villages were improving their living conditions through income-generating activities, the women of Guidan Cherifi created a women’s group called Tatali,” said Ms. Abbas. Tatali means ‘savings’ in Haussa, the local language.

Ms. Abbas notes that the Tatali group started saving money until they became entitled to receive a micro-loan, which they used to start their own income-generating activities.

Empowering women

Every elected community animator like Ms. Abbas is equipped with a set of communication devices such as flipcharts and monitoring and reporting sheets. Animators also organize group discussions in the places where people meet traditionally, such as Guidan Cherifi's village square.

Interpersonal and group communication sessions offer rural women a good opportunity to express themselves as well as to find answers to their questions. This is a good way of empowering women and of offering them understanding of their possibilities and needs.

“I can already see the difference in the village,” says Ms. Abbas, who notes that the number of diarrhoea cases she has seen has been cut by three.

“But it is in the women that you see the biggest difference. They are more involved in decision making at the family level as well as in the village. They have gained some dignity.”


 

 

New enhanced search