尼日尔

西非社区准备开展大规模预防小儿麻痹症运动

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2009/Bisin
28岁的巴尔科.加尔巴住在尼日尔津德尔地区的卡达马利村,她是四个孩子的母亲。她的孩子已经全部接种了小儿麻痹症疫苗。

森卓.毕森报道

尼日尔津德尔地区,2009年2月27日 – 今天开始的西非同步预防小儿麻痹症运动中,尼日尔的传统和宗教领袖活跃在宣传预防工作的最前沿。

该运动将在下列八个国家展开:尼日利亚、贝宁、布基纳法索、科特迪瓦、加纳、马里、尼日尔和多哥。疫苗接种工作计划分两轮进行——第一轮从今天开始至3月2日,第二轮从3月27日至30日。

 点击此处观看视频

重要的讨论

在尼日尔东南部津德尔地区的卡达马利村,当宗教领袖马兰甘尼.马哈马(Malangani Mahama)走进村里最近召开的一次集会时,就知道他的任务将受到村里一些长老的信仰的挑战。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2009/Bisin
宗教领袖马兰甘尼.马哈马在卡达马利村教导传统族长和户主有关预防小儿麻痹症的重要性。

他开始讲道:“你们知道,尼日尔即将开展一场预防小儿麻痹症的免疫运动。去年,本村的几个家庭拒绝让他们的孩子接种疫苗。我有责任向你们保证,疫苗没有问题,它只会拯救你们的孩子,避免感染一种导致残疾的疾病。

就这样,一场重要的讨论开始了。

对小儿麻痹症疫苗的误解

卫生官员在尼日尔东南部的保守地区一直面临挑战,那里的许多家长仍然拒绝让他们的孩子接种疫苗,认为这种口服疫苗会导致孩子成年后阳痿或者造成其他的残疾。

一位在卡达马利村有影响力的成员拉明.西塞马托格说:“在我们村,人们相信这种疫苗会使儿童变成聋哑人或者不听话。因为这个原因,父亲们拒绝为孩子们免疫,妇女倒从未反对为孩子接种疫苗。”

在2008年的小儿麻痹症免疫运动中,卡达马利村是津德尔地区十个被报告有拒绝疫苗情况的村庄之一。但是今年,应该会有一些进步。

提高社区意识

2008年,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,对2400名传统和宗教领袖进行了有关在敏感社区小儿麻痹症免疫的重要性的培训,马哈马先生也是学员之一。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2009/Bisin
传统族长和长老在卡达马利村召开会议。

马哈马先生说:“幸运的是,卡达马利村的舆论领袖已经理解为儿童接种疫苗的重要性,希望在运动开始的时候,他们会欢迎小儿麻痹症疫苗接种队到他们村去。”

在免疫运动开始之前,3000多名社区动员者挨门挨户家访,告诉居民会发生什么事,确保家长们欢迎疫苗接种队到他们的家里。

多数情况下,这些社区动员者是女性。但是,在一些像伊恩考布勒村(在豪萨语中是“锁住妇女之村”的意思)的地方,实行保守的伊斯兰习俗——就需要男性动员者与男人进行沟通。

卡达马利村令人鼓舞的迹象

由于动员工作出色,卡达马利村似乎步上实现为所有儿童免疫的正确道路,一些家庭已经接受小儿麻痹症疫苗接种的观念。

28岁的巴尔科.加尔巴是四个孩子的母亲,她说:“每当有免疫运动的时候,妇女都应该带她们的孩子去接种疫苗。如果一个孩子患病,就会成为整个家庭的问题。”

通过认真安排媒体信息在广播电视节目上播放,也取得了成效,提高了家长对小儿麻痹症疫苗的接受度。

在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,自1997年开始,世界卫生组织及其合作伙伴与尼日尔卫生部合作。今年的国家免疫日将组织推广疫苗,单在第一轮运动中,就将分发470多万支口服小儿麻痹症疫苗。这次运动的目标是为420多万五岁以下儿童接种疫苗。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年2月18日:联合国儿童基金会记者伊丽莎白.克穆报道努力使参与西非八国预防小儿麻痹症的运动最大化。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Communities in West Africa prepare for extensive polio vaccination campaign

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2009/Bisin
Balki Garba, 28, is a mother of four children in Kadamari village, located in Niger's Zinder region. She has vaccinated all of them against polio.

By Sandra Bisin

ZINDER REGION, Niger, 27 February 2009 – In Niger, traditional and religious leaders are at the forefront of communication efforts in the run-up to a synchronized polio vaccination campaign that begins today in West Africa.

VIDEO: Watch now

The campaign is part of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative, a partnership spearheaded by the World Health Organization, Rotary International, the US Centers for Diseases Control and Prevention, and UNICEF. It will take place in eight countries: Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Mali, Niger and Togo.

Two rounds of immunization are scheduled – the first from today to 2 March and the second from 27 to 30 March.

An important discussion

As he walked towards a recent assembly of traditional chiefs from Kadamari village in the Zinder region of south-eastern Niger, religious leader Malangani Mahama knew his mission would challenge beliefs among some of the village elders.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2009/Bisin
Religious leader Malangani Mahama educates traditional leaders and heads of households on the importance of polio vaccination in Kadamari village.

"As you know, a polio vaccination campaign is soon due to start in Niger," he began. "Last year, several families within this village refused to immunize their children. It is my responsibility to assure you that there is nothing wrong with the vaccine. It is only meant to save children from a debilitating illness."

With that, an important discussion started.

Misconceptions about polio vaccine

Health officials have long faced difficulties in conservative areas of south-eastern Niger, where many parents continue to refuse to immunize their children, believing the oral vaccine drops will make them impotent when they grow up or will cause other disabilities.

"In our village, people are convinced that the vaccine renders children deaf or disobedient," said Lamine Mato, an influential member of the Kadamari community. "It is for this reason that fathers refuse to immunize their children. Women have never been against the vaccination of children."

Kadamari is one of 10 villages in Zinder where refusals were reported during the 2008 polio vaccination campaign. But this year should see some improvement.

Sensitizing communities

Mr. Mahama is one of the 2,400 traditional and religious leaders who were trained in 2008, with UNICEF's support, to sensitize communities on the importance of polio immunization.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2009/Bisin
The traditional chiefs' and elders' assembly in Kadamari village.

"Fortunately, opinion leaders in Kadamari have understood the importance of vaccinating their children and hopefully when the campaign starts, they will welcome the polio vaccination teams in their village," said Mr. Mahama.

More than 3,000 community mobilizers have been making door-to-door visits ahead of the vaccination campaign, to tell families what to expect and ensure that parents will welcome vaccination teams within their homes.

In most cases, these mobilizers are women. In some places – such as the village of Ian Koublé (in the Haussa language, "the village of locked-up women"), where a conservative form of Islam is practiced – male mobilizers are required to interact with men.

Promising signs in Kadamari

Thanks to mobilization efforts, it seems that Kadamari village is on the right path for achieving its vaccination-for-all target, as polio immunization is already a reality for some of the families.

"Every time there is a vaccination campaign, women should bring their children for vaccination," said Balki Garba, 28, a mother of four. "When a child gets sick, it becomes a problem for the whole family."

Inroads are also being made via the careful placement of media messages, through radio and TV spots, resulting in increased acceptance of the polio vaccine by parents.

Coordinated in Niger by the Ministry of Health (with UNICEF's support), the World Health Organization and other partners since 1997, the national immunization days will organize distribution of more than 4.7 million oral polio vaccine doses for the first round alone. The aim is to reach more than 4.2 million children up to the age of five.


 

 

Video

18 February 2009: UNICEF correspondent Elizabeth Kiem reports on efforts to maximize participation in an eight-country polio vaccination campaign in West Africa.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search