尼泊尔

在尼泊尔最贫困的农村地区,解决慢性营养不良问题

盖伊.哈伯德(Guy Hubbard)报道

尼泊尔卡哈提加云(KHATI GAUN)及比拉托力(BIRALTOLI),2013年1月9日 —— 在喜马拉雅山脉的山麓深处,帕舒帕蒂.萨乌德(Pashupati Saud)早早地起床了,忙着在她的小园子里采摘草本植物和蔬菜,她将这些食材煮成酱汁,再加上一碗水牛奶泡米饭,这就是她8岁儿子的早餐。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖伊.哈伯德报道了一项由联合国儿童基金会、欧盟和尼泊尔政府三方合作的计划,该计划旨在努力解决尼泊尔国内的营养不良问题。 在Realplayer中播放

这种早餐富含维生素和蛋白质,非常适宜幼童食用。但这种早餐在尼泊尔农村并不常见,大多数人的三餐中只有主食。萨乌德女士是一名社区卫生志愿工作者。经过培训,她了解了向家人的膳食中添加富含维生素和蛋白质成分的重要性。

她参加了由联合国儿童基金会和欧盟支持的一项全国性计划,该计划旨在消除尼泊尔的慢性营养不良问题。

努力解决粮食安全问题

尼泊尔是南亚最贫困的国家之一。这个内陆山国所面临的粮食安全问题显而易见。这在一定程度上可以归因为地形。高山使大量最贫困的人们与外界隔绝,食物、清洁的饮用水、充足的环境卫生和医疗设施对这里的人们来说难得可贵。

山区农业的季节性很强,在冬季只能依靠储存的粮食。山区农业同时又属于劳动密集型,家长们经常整天都在田地里劳作,而年幼的孩子们只能独自在家,忍饥挨饿。

尼泊尔约有一半的儿童发育迟缓,每10名儿童中就有1名不幸夭折。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在尼泊尔农村,大多数人的食物只有主食,没有副食。尼泊尔是南亚最贫困的国家之一,约有一半儿童发育迟缓。

提高意识和监控儿童

在位于西南部农村地区的卡哈提加云,萨乌德女士和另一名志愿者每个月都为这里的母亲和儿童们安排一次基础医疗检查。这种检查使村民有机会改变自己的行为、饮食和营养习惯。她们向其他母亲们传授自己所掌握饮食和个人卫生方面的知识,为每名儿童进行营养不良筛查。严重营养不良的儿童,将被转往医院。

尽管有定期辅导,但始终存在不正确喂养或没有能力正确喂养孩子的母亲,从而导致始终存在营养不良的病例。两岁大的亚斯米塔.巴蒂(Asmita Badi)已转往当地医疗中心接受进一步治疗。亚斯米塔的母亲没有注意到她的情况,她十分感激志愿者们为她女儿提供的诊断和帮助。

援助最贫困地区

解决营养不良问题的另一个主要障碍是种姓制度。种姓制度虽然已经被正式废除,但是对农村地区的影响仍然非常普遍。种姓歧视的受害者大部分没有土地,比其他尼泊尔人更加贫困。

在西部地区的比拉托力,社区卫生志愿者拉克希米.博胡尔(Laxmi Bhul)挨家挨户上门进行儿童营养不良筛查。该地区的高度贫困意味着所有儿童都十分脆弱,尤其是有营养不良病史的儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
图为正在为家人准备营养餐的社区卫生工作者帕舒帕蒂.萨乌德。她负责为自己所在农村地区的家庭教授有关营养和个人卫生方面的知识,并进行儿童营养不良筛查。

“我的孩子一度病得很严重,受了不少罪。”一名母亲说。通过博胡尔女士的努力,这名三岁大的男孩罗桑(Rosan)现在圆润起来、显得既健康又活泼。

但是,这里的许多家庭无力遵循博胡尔女士针对饮食和喂养方式的建议,很多儿童反复地患上营养不良。她依然不断滴为他们进行诊断和治疗。

以社区为核心应对营养问题

博胡尔女士认为,比拉托力每一个儿童的健康和营养问题都与自己相关。“我承担这项工作,因为这个村庄是我的家,是我的生命。”她说,“早些时候,村子里有大量儿童、甚至是母亲患有营养不良。而经过我的努力,已经实实在在地帮到了他们。能够为村里做些事情,这让我感到十分欣慰。”

通过志愿者对社区营养不良问题进行管理,这是联合国儿童基金会、欧盟和尼泊尔政府旨在消除慢性营养不良的广泛合作的一小部分,但却是最重要的一部分。志愿者的奉献精神和承诺是这个项目最有力的基石。受贫困、交通不便、知识贫乏影响的社区数目庞大,像萨乌德女士和博胡尔女士这样的志愿者是抵御营养不良的第一道防线。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会-欧盟合作伙伴关系

搜索

Nepal

Attacking chronic malnutrition in the poorest rural areas of Nepal

By Guy Hubbard

KHATI GAUN and BIRALTOLI, Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, 9 January 2013 - Deep in the foothills of the Himalayan mountains, Pashupati Saud is up early, harvesting herbs and vegetables from her small garden. She cooks them into a sauce and gives them to her 8-year-old son, along with a bowl of rice soaked in buffalo milk.

UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on a UNICEF-EU-Government programme that is battling malnutrition in Nepal.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

It’s a breakfast rich in vitamins and protein, perfect for a young child. But it is unusual in rural Nepal, where most people survive on staple grains alone. Ms. Saud is a volunteer community health worker and has been taught the value of adding vitamin- and protein-rich ingredients to her family’s diet.

She is part of a country-wide programme backed by UNICEF and the European Union aimed at ending chronic malnutrition in Nepal.

Battling food insecurity

Mountainous Nepal, one of the poorest countries in South Asia, is notoriously food insecure. Its topography is partly to blame. The mountains isolate many of the poorest people, who struggle to feed themselves and to ensure that they have clean water, adequate sanitation and healthcare.

While there is agriculture in the mountains, it is seasonal. Stockpiles barely last through the winter months. Mountain agriculture is also labour intensive, and parents often spend full days working the fields while young children, alone at home, go hungry.

Half of the country’s children are stunted, and 1 in 10 are wasted.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
In rural Nepal, many people survive on staple grains alone. The country is one of the poorest in South Asia. Half of the country's children are stunted.

Raising awareness and monitoring children

Every month, Ms. Saud and another volunteer organize a basic clinic for mothers and children in their village, Khati Gaun, in the rural Southwest. The clinic is their opportunity to change the behaviour, diets and nutrition of the families in their village. They pass on to other mothers what they’ve learned about what and how to feed their families and about hygiene, and they screen every child for malnutrition. Severely malnourished children are referred to the hospital.

Despite regular counselling, there are always mothers who don’t, or can’t, afford to feed their children properly, so there are always cases of malnutrition. Two-year-old Asmita Badi has been referred to the local health centre for further treatment. Asmita’s mother was not aware of Asmita’s condition, and she is grateful to the volunteers for diagnosing and helping her daughter.

Reaching the poorest

Another obstacle in the fight against malnutrition is the caste system, which, while officially abolished, can remain deeply entrenched in rural areas. Victims of caste-based discrimination are mostly landless and are significantly poorer than other Nepalese people.

In Biraltoli, in the West, community health volunteer Laxmi Bhul goes door to door screening children for malnutrition. The high levels of poverty here mean that all children, especially those with a history of malnutrition, are vulnerable.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Community health worker Pashupati Saud, shown here preparing a nutritious meal for her family, teaches families in her rural area about nutrition and hygiene and screens children for malnutrition.

“My baby was very sick and suffering,” explains one mother. Through Ms. Bhul’s efforts, the boy, 3-year-old Rosan, is now plump, healthy and energetic.

However, many of the families here can’t afford to follow Ms. Bhul’s advice on diet and feeding patterns, and many children become malnourished again and again. She continues to diagnose and treat them, again and again.

Managing nutrition at the community level

Ms. Bhul feels the health and nutrition of every child in Biraltoli is her responsibility. “I do this job because this village is my family and my life,” she says. “At first, there were lots of children and even mothers suffering from malnutrition in this village, but through my work, I’ve been able to help them. I’ve been able to help the village, and I’m very grateful for that.”

Volunteer-based community management of malnutrition is one small part of the broader partnership of UNICEF, the European Union and the Government, aimed at ending chronic malnutrition, but it’s the most important part. The dedication and commitment of the volunteers are the cornerstones of the project. With so many communities so poor, so isolated and so often uninformed, volunteers such as Ms. Saud and Ms. Bhul are the first line of defence against malnutrition.


 

 

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search