尼泊尔

在联合国儿基金会支持的尼泊尔学校里进行爱幼形式的学习

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2009/Prajapati
在尼泊尔的一间爱生教室,孩子们在黑板上画画。黑板的高度降到和孩子同高,使他们使用起来更方便。

阿什玛.什莱斯莎.巴斯内特报道

尼泊尔孙萨里2009年3月19日 — 愉快地歌唱着描写一周七天的韵律,对卡刹那.马哈德夫(Kachana Mahadev)中学一年级的学生来说,这是典型的一天的开始。位于尼泊尔东部孙萨里区伊塔哈里(Itahari)学校,是实施国家爱生学校倡议中的一个。

“每天早晨,学生自己决定一天的安排,”位于孙萨里德哈然(Dharan)的巴德里.纳斯小学一年级的老师玛雅.布胡杰(Maya Bhujel)介绍说。“这是非常不同的,过去我们教什么孩子们就学什么。”

“孩子们还成立委员会,以保持教室的卫生,这有助于给他们灌输责任感,”她补充道。

互动教学
在巴德里.纳斯明亮的教室里围成一个圆圈,孩子高喊着一周的每一天。“Sombaar! Mangalbaar! Budhabaar!”他们吟诵着。

他们学习的乐趣,在尼泊尔许多学校是无法看到的,那些学校着重于死记硬背和‘纪律’(也是体罚的意思)。这所学校低年级采用的爱生教学方法,鼓励互动式教学。
甚至从座位的安排到厕所等设施,都是着重拓展儿童心智。

“爱生学校倡议的目的是为孩子们提供一个安全和快乐的环境,使他们体会学习就是一种有意思的活动,”联合国儿童基金会项目官员多万.拉沃提(Dovan Lawoti)说。“爱生学习和以活动为基础的教学,有助于儿童全面开发他们的潜能。” 

建成1000所学校
2002年,在尼泊尔卡夫雷(Kavre)和孙萨里两个区的45所公立学校,开始了爱生学校的工作。现在,该倡议已经遍布全国15个县的约1千所学校。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2009/Prajapati
在孙萨里区的巴德里.纳斯小学,一年级的学生在玩玩具。联合国儿童基金会提供的学习材料,用于鼓励爱生教学。

同教育部密切合作,联合国儿童基金会为试点学校的教师提供爱生教、学培训。这种培训为教师提供明确概念,指导他们处理复杂的,不同的男孩和女孩的问题。

为推动爱生教学方法,联合国儿童基金会还提供了必要的教材。

由于这个倡议的实施,学校已彻底改变了他们的课堂设置,使之更加符合爱生的要求。课桌和凳子已改为地毯和垫子。黑板已被降低到了和孩子同高,使他们使用起来更方便。

‘我爱上学’
由于不再有体罚,孩子们更加勇于提出他们的需要和要求。这有助于提高他们的情绪和信心。

“相对来说,孩子们是更加自信和有创造性了,”布胡杰女士说。“以前,我认为,我要在纪律上严格要求孩子们,他们就能更好地学习。然而,现在,我看到孩子们在一个更加不拘礼节和‘自由’的状态下,学的这么快,更有创造性而感到吃惊。”

卡查纳学校二年级的老师茵蒂拉.纽帕恩(Indira Neupane)补充道:“由于他们在轻松的环境中学习,现在,孩子们喜欢上学。这有助于留住学生。缺席的人数也已经明显地下降了。” 

5岁的拉必娜.乔德哈里(Rabina Chaudhary)正在做填数游戏,她说:“我爱上学。我有很多朋友,我们的老师也很喜欢我们。”


 

 

搜索

Nepal

Learning the child-friendly way at UNICEF-supported schools in Nepal

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2009/Prajapati
Children drawing pictures on the blackboard in a child-friendly classroom in Nepal. The blackboards have been lowered to the children's level, making them more accessible.

By Ashma Shrestha Basnet

SUNSARI, Nepal, 19 March 2009 – It's the start of a typical day for first graders in the Kachana Mahadev Secondary School as they happily sing a rhyme describing the seven days of the week. This school in Itahari, located in Sunsari district, eastern Nepal, is among those implementing the country’s Child Friendly School Initiative.

“Every morning, students themselves decide their routine for the day,” explained Maya Bhujel, a first-grade teacher at Badri Nath Primary School at Dharan, also in Sunsari. “This is very unusual, for traditionally the children had to study whatever we taught them.

“Children have also formed committees to keep their classroom clean, and this has helped inculcate a sense of responsibility in them,” she added.

Interactive teaching and learning
Clustered in a circle around their brightly decorated classroom at Badri Nath, the children shout out the days of the week. “Sombaar! Mangalbaar! Budhabaar!” they chant.

The fun they have while learning is not witnessed in many of Nepal’s schools, where the stress is on rote learning and ‘discipline’ (which translates to corporal punishment). The child-friendly methodology followed in the primary sections of this school encourages interactive teaching and learning instead.

Even the facilities, from the seating arrangements to the toilets, are developed keeping the child in mind.

“The Child Friendly School Initiative aims to provide a safe and joyful environment to the children so that they experience learning as a fun activity,” said UNICEF Project Officer Dovan Lawoti. “Child-friendly learning and activity-based teaching help children to fully develop their potential.”

1,000 schools reached
The child-friendly school effort started in Nepal in 2002 at 45 government-run schools in two districts, Kavre and Sunsari. The initiative has now reached some 1,000 schools across 15 districts of the country.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2009/Prajapati
A first grader plays with a doll at Badri Nath Primary School in Sunsari district. UNICEF Nepal provides learning materials to encourage child-friendly teaching and learning.

In close partnership with the Department of Education, UNICEF provides training on child-friendly teaching and learning to the teachers in the pilot schools. This training provides conceptual clarity to the teachers and orients them on the intricacies of dealing with young boys and girls as individuals.

UNICEF also provides the materials necessary to facilitate child-friendly teaching and learning methods.

With the implementation of this initiative, the schools have completely changed their classroom set-up to be more child-friendly. Desks and benches have been replaced with carpets and mats. And the blackboards have been lowered to the children's level, making them more accessible.

‘I love coming to school’
As there is no more physical punishment in the school, children are more vocal about their needs and demands. This has helped to boost their morale and confidence.

“Children are comparatively more confident and creative,” said Ms. Bhujel. “Earlier, I used to think that I needed to be strict for children to be disciplined and for them to learn better. However, I am now amazed to see how these children learn so quickly and are more creative in a more informal and ‘free’ setting.”

Added Indira Neupane, a second-grade teacher in Kachana School: “Children now enjoy coming to school as they get to learn in a relaxing environment. This has helped to retain the students. The number of absentees has also decreased remarkably.”

While arranging number blocks in a row, Rabina Chaudhary, 5, had the last word: “I love coming to school. I have many friends here and our teachers also love us a lot.”


 

 

New enhanced search