尼泊尔

由年轻人制作的广播节目赢得了国际大奖

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NEP00959/ Bogati
图为尼泊尔平等机会广播电台的获奖广播节目《和我最好的朋友聊天》年轻的制作小组。

鲁帕.乔什和约翰.布莱坦报道

尼泊尔加德满都,2008年9月23日 — 由非政府组织,尼泊尔平等机会广播电台的一群年轻专业人士制作的《和我最好的朋友聊天》节目,赢得了2008年国际儿童广播电视日(ICDB)南亚地区奖。

这档针对青少年的“寓教于乐”节目,是由联合国儿童基金会2001年在尼泊尔发起的。该节目现每周在全国广播网以及由联合国儿童基金会和美国国际开发署支持的45个地方性调频广播电台播出。

在过去的7年里,听众的人数有了巨大的增长。在尼泊尔,每周大约650万尼泊尔及周边的年轻人收听这个1个小时的歌曲。这个节目采用戏剧、笑话等来谈论艾滋病这样严肃的话题。

“我们想要的世界”

这个节目使因害羞而不愿谈论这样话题的儿童和青少年得到了解放。它还提供了一个让青年人就他们真正关心的问题交流信息和知识的论坛。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NEP00952/ Bogati
《和我最好的朋友聊天》制作人之一桑吉塔.巴德哈霍吉展示每星期收到的数千封听众来信中的一部分。

“我们得奖的那期节目是在2007年12月初播出的,”主持人之一的桑吉塔.巴德哈霍吉(Sangita Budathoki)说。“1个小时的节目由聊天、戏剧、歌曲、听众来函和与国际儿童广播电视日主题‘我们想要的世界’有关的信息等常规片断组成。我们得到的信息是……在确保儿童得到他们想要的和应得的世界上,年轻人可以发挥很大的作用。”

奥兰多.布鲁姆出场

节目里好莱坞明星奥兰多.布鲁姆客串出场,当时他正在尼泊尔参观联合国儿童基金会的一个项目。

“儿童们写了一部有关他们面临的问题的戏,给了奥兰多一个角色,他在节目里告诉大家齐心协力就能解决儿童所面临的问题,”桑吉塔说,“奥兰多还参与了一个和儿童进行讨论的节目,他问他们有关未来的设想。国际儿童广播电视日的特别节目大部分取自男孩和女孩们的答案。

这不是平等机会电台和《和我最好的朋友聊天》节目第一次得到国际社会的赞誉。2007年11月,意大利总统乔治.纳波利塔诺(Giorgio Napolitano)在罗马总统府为这个节目颁发了全球青少年挑战奖。

 “研究结果已经一再表明,《和我最好的朋友聊天》现在是这个国家最受年青人欢迎的广播节目,”尼泊尔平等机会的国家主任纳马尔.里贾尔(Nirmal Rijal)说,“这个节目一开始为了教年青人掌握生活技能、采纳安全的行为方式,但现在已经扩展成为尼泊尔青少年和青年人面对的一系列问题提供答案的节目。”

听众俱乐部

《和我最好的朋友聊天》已经在全国成立了1200多个听众俱乐部。这些俱乐部是由那些喜欢与同伴间展开直接和坦率的讨论的年轻人成立,除了收听节目以外,俱乐部成员还讨论节目中提出的问题,甚至在自己的社区组织活动来解决问题。

此外,该节目还有相关的区域性和全国性出版物,以作为俱乐部的补充。

应听众的要求,《和我最好的朋友聊天》还发起了一个每周一次的节目—— 《谈论工作》。这一个每次半小时致力于构建青年人技能以确保他们获得更好就业机会的节目。


 

 

国际儿童广播电视日

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Nepal

Radio show produced by young people wins international award

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NEP00959/ Bogati
The team of young producers from the award-winning ‘Saathi Sanga Manka Koora’ radio programme of Equal Access Nepal.

By Rupa Joshi and John Brittain

KATHMANDU, Nepal, 23 September 2008 – ‘Saathi Sanga Manka Koora’ (Chatting with My Best Friend), a radio programme produced by a team of young professionals from the non-governmental organization Equal Access Nepal, has won the 2008 International Children's Day for Broadcasting (ICDB) regional award for South Asia.

Targeted at teenagers and young adults, the ‘edutainment’ programme was initiated by UNICEF in 2001 in Nepal and is now being broadcast every week over the national radio network and 45 other local FM stations with UNICEF and USAID support.

Listenership has grown enormously in the past seven years. Every week, about 6.5 million young people from Nepal and beyond tune in to listen to the hour-long programme of songs, drama and youthful banter, with a contemporary approach to serious issues such as HIV/AIDS.

‘The world we want’

The programme has liberated children and adolescents too shy to talk about such topics. It has also provided a forum for an exchange of information and knowledge among young people on issues that really interest them. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NEP00952/ Bogati
Sangita Budhathoki, one of the youth producers of 'Saathi Sanga Manka Kura', with some of the thousands of letters sent each week by Listeners' Club members.

"Our winning entry was the programme that we aired in early December 2007," says co-host Sangita Budathoki. "The one-hour programme with its usual segments of chat, drama, songs, letters and information revolved around the ICDB theme of ‘The world we want’.  The message ... was that young people can play a big role in ensuring that children get the world they wanted and deserved.”

Guest-starring Orlando Bloom

The drama featured Hollywood star Orlando Bloom, who was then on a trip to see UNICEF's programmes in Nepal.

"The children wrote a play about their problems, and gave Orlando a role to give a tip to the children on how things could be solved if everyone worked together," said Sangita. "Orlando was also involved in a discussion programme with the children where he asked them what they envisioned for themselves in the future. The answers given by the boys and girls formed the bulk of the ICDB special programme."

This is not the first taste of international recognition for Equal Access and Saathi Sanga Manka Koora. In November 2007, the programme was also honoured with the Global Junior Challenge Award by Italian President Giorgio Napolitano at the Presidential Palace in Rome.

"Studies have repeatedly shown that 'Saathi Sanga Manka Koora' is the most popular radio programme for young people in the country today," says Country Director for Equal Access Nepal Nirmal Rijal. "What started as a programme to equip young people with life skills for adopting safe behaviour has expanded and grown to deal with a whole spectrum of issues that concern Nepali adolescents and youth."

Listener Clubs

'Saathi Sanga Manka Koora' has spawned more than 1,200 Listener Clubs across the country, started by young people who felt more comfortable listening to the direct and frank discussions with their peers. Besides listening to the programme, club members discuss the issues raised in the programmes, and even take collective actions to resolve problems in their communities. 

The show is now being supplemented with regional and national publications published in coordination with the Listener Club network.
 
In response to the needs of the listeners, 'Saathi Sanga Manka Koora' has also launched a half-hour weekly programmek, ‘Kaamka Koora’ (Talking About Work), which is dedicated to building the skills of young people to ensure better opportunities for gainful employment.

 


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search