尼泊尔

联合国儿童基金会的报告指出要加强立法以打击南亚地区的儿童贩卖

UNICEF Photo: Nepal, Innocenti
© UNICEF/2008/Alert
联合国儿童基金会南亚区域主任图勒在尼泊尔加德满都因诺琴蒂研究中心关于南亚地区贩卖儿童报告发布会上发表讲话。

艾里森.阿勒特-阿特伯瑞报道

尼泊尔加德满都,2008年8月27日 — 在南亚,儿童因各种原因,如性剥削、劳工、行乞、早婚、强征入伍、在骆驼农场工作等而被贩卖。这种严重侵犯儿童权利的行径在该地区和整个世界都有,但缺乏精确可靠的统计数字。

今天发布的联合国儿童基金会因诺琴蒂研究中心(Innocenti Research Centre)的报告《南亚在行动:预防和应对贩卖儿童》,发出了建立强化法律架构和有效的儿童保护体系的呼吁。这将为儿童提供更好的保护,以及加强数据收集,提供更加可靠、系统和具有可比性的数据,以改善信息共享。

仅有法律承诺是不够的

南亚地区不少国家已经就保护儿童免遭贩卖作出了全国性和地区性的承诺。不过,仅有这些承诺是不够的。比如,国际上第一部为人口贩卖作出定义并且特别对贩卖儿童作出规定的国际文献《巴勒莫议定书》,就从来没有在任何一个南亚国家被批准。

并非所有的南亚国家都有对贩卖儿童进行定罪的法律。常常,被贩卖的儿童遭到起诉,而非接受照顾和作为犯罪的幸存者而受到支持。

“要理解这个问题,我们还有很长的路要走。而要解决这个问题,路就更长了,”联合国儿童基金会南亚区域主任丹.图勒(Dan Toole)说。

需要关注的问题不少

贩卖行业是隐蔽的,与儿童的非法互动,常常使这种行为更加地下。这份报告呼吁对贩卖儿童和其他保护暴力、虐待和剥削等违法行为之间的联系加强分析。

它还强调多部门——卫生、教育、社会服务、法制及其他部门之间的协作,以有效地解决贩卖儿童问题。

尚未发育成熟的女孩可能会被嫁给老男人,这样他们的父母可以少喂一张吃饭的嘴。儿童常常被送往首都或城里“过更美好的生活”,而这种生活往往是剥夺了食物、睡眠和住所,以及限制行动和切断与家人的联系。毫无准备的儿童缺乏风险认识,可能自愿地离开家迁到另一个国家,这增加了他们被贩卖伤害的可能性。

“贫穷被公认为是儿童受贩卖伤害的一个因素,”提交该报告的联合国儿童基金会贩卖儿童问题专家卡尔松(Lena Karlsson)说。使儿童易受伤害的其他因素的深入分析——包括家庭破裂、缺乏机会、家庭虐待和剥削、性别歧视和武装冲突,将使风险分析日臻完善。

“政府必须做得更多”

这份报告呼吁加强立法,以及加强以下几个方面:

  • 有可靠数据、对儿童友好的程序和服务的全国性儿童保护体系
  • 在打击人口贩卖的计划中儿童和青少年的参与
  • 专业人员的培训
  • 更好的合作,以及各国政府防止和应对贩卖儿童的实际行动

《南亚在行动》广泛地呼吁各国政府加强保护儿童免遭贩卖的努力。图勒先生说:“主要响应的是各国政府,政府必须做得更多。”


 

 

搜索

Nepal

UNICEF report says stronger legislation needed to protect South Asian children from trafficking

UNICEF Image: Nepal, Innocenti
© UNICEF/2008/Alert
In Kathmandu, Nepal, UNICEF Regional Director for South Asia Dan Toole speaks at the launch of the Innocenti Research Centre’s report on child trafficking in South Asia.

By Allyson Alert-Atterbury

KATHMANDU, Nepal, 27 August 2008 – Children in South Asia are being trafficked for sexual exploitation, labour, begging, early marriage, forced military recruitment, to work on camel farms, and for several other harmful purposes. This grave violation of children’s rights is occurring in the region and throughout the world, but precise and reliable numbers are lacking.

A UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre report launched today, ‘South Asia in Action: Preventing and responding to child trafficking’, issues a call for a stronger legal framework and effective child protection systems. This will result in better protection of children and strengthened data collection, more reliable, systematic and comparable data, and improved information-sharing.

Legal commitments are insufficient

South Asian governments have made several national and regional commitments to protect children from trafficking. However, these commitments are insufficient. For example, the ‘Palermo Protocol’ – international legislation that provides the first global definition of trafficking in human beings and specifically addresses trafficking of children – has not been ratified by any of the countries in the region.

Not all of the countries in South Asia have laws that criminalize child trafficking. Often, children who have been trafficked are prosecuted, rather than receiving care and support as survivors of a crime.
 
 “We have a long way to go to understand the problem, and we have an even further distance to go before we can deal with the problem,” says UNICEF Regional Director for South Asia Dan Toole.

Many factors to track

The trafficking industry is hidden, and often illicit interactions with children are even more underground. The South Asia report calls for increased analysis of the links between child trafficking and other protection violations, such as violence, abuse and exploitation.

It also stresses that collaboration among many sectors – health, education, social services, the legal system and others – is required to effectively address trafficking of children.

Girls who have not yet reached puberty may be married off to older men so that their parents have one less mouth to feed. Children are often sent to the capital city or an urban area to ‘have a better life’, which often involves deprivation of food, sleep and shelter, restriction of movement and severed contacts with their families. The unprepared child who lacks awareness of the risks may voluntarily leave the home to migrate to another country and increase her or his vulnerability to trafficking.

“Poverty is well recognized as a factor that increases children’s vulnerability to trafficking,” says Lena Karlsson, the UNICEF child trafficking specialist who presented the report. An in-depth analysis of the other forces that make children vulnerable – including broken families, lack of opportunities, domestic abuse and exploitation, gender discrimination and armed conflict – will refine the analysis of risk.
 
‘Governments must do more’

The report calls for strengthened legislation, as well as:

  • National child protection systems with solid data and child-friendly procedures and services
  • Stronger involvement of children and young people in programmes against trafficking
  • Training of professionals
  • Better cooperation and concrete actions by governments to prevent and respond to child trafficking.

‘South Asia in Action’ issues a broad call on governments to increase their efforts to protect children from trafficking. “The primary response is for governments," said Mr. Toole. “Governments must do more."


 

 

New enhanced search