尼泊尔

帮助和支持尼泊尔受艾滋病毒影响的家庭

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2008/Joshi
10岁的迪奈的父亲死于艾滋病。他在尼泊尔阿克柴姆区满伽森的一个联合国儿童基金会支持的纳瓦.基兰加护中心帮助母亲高拉洗餐具。

鲁帕.乔什报道

尼泊尔阿克柴姆区,2008年5月2日。四名妇女盘腿坐在地板上,唱着略带忧伤的歌。来自尼泊尔西部偏远地区受艾滋病毒影响的家庭的妇女们,即兴编词,互相帮助完成了两句诗歌:

开在花园的花,只有两天的生命。
艾滋病毒/艾滋病使我们的生命渐渐远去。

其中一名妇女,30岁的高拉,她的丈夫去印度工作,感染了艾滋病毒而回家。九年前他死于艾滋病相关的疾病。但高拉被确诊为艾滋病毒抗体阳性后才知道事实的真相。她最小的儿子死于艾滋病时才3岁。

地区性问题

耽心她唯一幸存的孩子10岁的迪奈什的幸福和前途,高拉一直住在联合国儿童基金会支持的,设在满伽森的纳瓦.基兰加护中心,该中心由感染了艾滋病毒的工作人员管理。

“在全南亚大问题中,阿克柴姆项目是一个很小的例子,”联合国儿童基金会艾滋病/艾滋病毒区域顾问伊兰.麦克劳埃德说。“男人们到印度工作,光顾性服务,把艾滋病带回了他们家。”

这些日子高拉觉得好多了,不仅因为她接受了抗逆转录病毒治疗,而且还因为她不用为儿子的教育担心了。该中心支付了他就读满伽森一所好学校的费用。

高拉回到自己的村子已经好几个月了。她花光了她所有的财产 — 包括出售土地的收益 — 给丈夫治疗她一无所知的疾病。他到死也没有告诉她他患得是艾滋病。

高拉并不孤单

要给她自己支付治疗的费用时,家中一点积蓄也没有了。当她得知她感染了艾滋病毒,她才意识到她的丈夫在他死前一再请求宽恕的意思。

她并不孤单的事实使高拉感到安慰 — 特别是在纳瓦.基兰中心同其他与她情况相同的妇女在一起。用一个手指堵住她的右耳,以提高她声音的共振,她深吸一口气唱道:

犁耙在田里一垄一垄地犁地。
艾滋病毒劫去了耕耘的全部。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.内尔斯对联合国儿童基金会在尼泊尔西部帮助受艾滋病毒和艾滋病影响的家庭所作的工作进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Nepal

Help and support for Nepalese families living with HIV

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2008/Joshi
Dinesh, 10, helps his mother Gaura wash the dishes at the UNICEF-supported Nava Kiran Plus Care Centre in Mangalsen, Accham District, Nepal.

By Rupa Joshi

ACCHAM DISTRICT, Nepal, 2 May 2008 – Four women sitting cross-legged on the floor are singing the melancholic strains of a song. The women, all of whom are from families affected by HIV in this remote area of western Nepal, improvise the words and help each other complete the couplets:

Flowers bloom in the garden, this life is of but two days / Our lives have become a banishment due to HIV/AIDS

One of the women, Gaura, 30, had a husband who went to India to seek work and returned carrying HIV. He died of an AIDS-related illness nine years ago. But Gaura came to know the facts only after she herself was diagnosed as HIV-positive. Her youngest son also died from AIDS at age three.

Region-wide problem
Fearful for the well-being and future of her only surviving child, Dinesh, 10, Gaura has been staying at the UNICEF-supported Nava Kiran Plus Care Centre in Mangalsen, which is run by staff members who are themselves living with HIV.

“The Accham project is one very small example of a huge problem right across South Asia,” said UNICEF Regional HIV/AIDS Advisor Ian Macleod. “Men have been migrating to India for work, visiting sex workers and bringing back HIV to their families.”

Gaura is feeling better these days, not only because she is getting anti-retroviral treatment, but also because she does not have to worry about her son’s education. The centre is paying for him to attend a good school in Mangalsen.

It has been months since Gaura was back in her own village. She spent all that she owned – including proceeds from the sale of her land – to treat her husband for a disease that mystified her. He died without telling her that he had AIDS.

Gaura is not alone
When it came time to pay for her own treatment, there was nothing in the coffers. Only when she learnt her HIV status did she realize the significance of the repeated pleas for forgiveness from her husband before his death.

Gaura takes comfort from the fact that she is not alone – especially when she is with other women in the same situation at the Nava Kiran centre. Plugging her right ear with a finger to heighten the resonance of her voice, she draws in a long breath and sings:

The plough digs up in rows the earth in the field / HIV disease has robbed our lives of all yield


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the work UNICEF is doing to help families affected by HIV and AIDS in western Nepal.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search