纳米比亚

为纳米比亚孤儿和被忽视儿童提供寄养选择

桑塔.波勒曼报道

纳米比亚温特和克,2010年11月22日 – 维里蒂.宛.维克(Verity Van Wyk)坐在家里的沙发上,家里的房子由一个小慈善机构“希望部”提供,她在这里抚养了四名寄养儿童,她说:“我曾做过承诺,如果我不能有更多自己的孩子,那么我要抚养没有父母的孩子。”

视频:联合国儿童基金会伊娃.吉利厄姆报道纳米比亚寄养儿童对寄养补助金的需求正在增加。 在Realplayer中播放

宛.维克女士住在纳米比亚里霍博斯,这是一个尘土飞扬的贫困小镇,距首都温特和克北部有1小时车程。自几年以前她自己唯一的孩子离开家以后,她希望能做更多的事来帮助这样一个失业率、酒精滥用率和艾滋病毒感染率都极高的社区里的孩子们。

为了支付学校的课本、校服、医疗和食物费用,宛.维克女士可以每月为每个孩子从政府领取29美元的寄养补助金。政府为使失去父母或生活环境恶劣的儿童能够得到很好的安置和照顾,提供了四种社会现金转移方式,寄养补助金是其中一种。

寄养的需求

纳米比亚人口稀少,全国总人口仅略多于200万,但约有15.5万名孤儿和约95000名属于极度弱势群体的儿童。数年以来,该国的寄养体系一直无法满足需求。

有效的寄养体系能够帮助像乔纳森(化名)这样的孩子继续接受教育。乔纳森的母亲六年前去世了,父亲再婚后,由于家庭关系紧张,他一度面临辍学的危险。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Namibia/ 2010/Moreno Gonzales
纳米比亚里霍博斯的一位寄养母亲维里蒂.宛.维克和寄养给她的四个孩子中的三个坐在一起,她通过领取每月寄养补助金及当地的慈善机构的帮助来照顾孩子。

泽尔纳蒂雅.恩格尔布雷希特(Zelnadia Engelbrecht)是里霍博斯两名社工之一,每周负责30名儿童的寄养工作,她说:“当我要安置像乔纳森这样的孩子,我首先要走访寄养家庭,再整理一份合法申请,提交给地方行政法院。”

恩格尔布雷希特女士说,大多数案例的情况是孩子成了孤儿或是父母没有尽到责任。她说:“照顾者常常因没有工作可做或感到无助而沮丧,而且很难在家庭里找到方法改善这种状况,因此一旦孩子被安排到寄养家庭,他们就会经常待在那里。”

社区儿童护理体系

联合国儿童基金会最近支持开展的寄养体系评估报告指出,虽然儿童福利补助金起到了显著的作用,但是很多父母都健在的贫困无助的儿童仍无法得到任何补助。这项评估报告由性别平等和儿童福利部执行开展,是联合国儿童基金会“儿童和艾滋病”区域倡议的一部分,该倡议通过接受来自英国和澳大利亚政府的资金援助,致力于为九个非洲东部和南部国家受艾滋病影响的儿童提供帮助。

报告还显示,目前急需确定更多的社区儿童护理工作人员,帮助监测安置到寄养父母或亲戚家的儿童的总体福利情况。根据这些意见,政府已经出台了社区儿童护理体系,帮助社工能够更好地确定儿童需要,并追踪儿童进展。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Namibia/ 2010/Moreno Gonzales
乔纳森(化名)在里霍博斯的寄养家庭准备十年级的考试,里霍博斯距纳米比亚首都温特和克北部有1小时车程。

纳米比亚儿童福利处主任海伦娜.安德嘉姆巴(Helena Andjamba)说:“我们致力于确保社区家庭里的儿童能够得到良好的照顾。这也是为什么我们要扩大寄养服务,将有血缘关系的寄养纳入其中。我们的经验教训以及这份报告提出的建议都已经纳入了‘儿童护理和保护议案’。”

扩大社会保护网

这份经过了广泛公共商讨的草案提供了自1960年以来与纳米比亚儿童有关的最全面的有关法律,草案中包括为接收寄养儿童的亲属提供寄养补助金,并力求进一步简化补助金发放程序。

过去十年以来,纳米比亚在为贫困和弱势儿童扩大社会保护网方面取得了很大进展,但由于该国超过三分之一的儿童没有跟亲生父母住在一起,很多举措无法贯彻。

回到里霍博斯,乔纳森现在和其他三个孩子同宛.维克女士住在一起,亲切地叫她“妈妈”。

宛.维克女士向我们展示孩子们穿校服的照片,自豪地说:“孩子们在学校里的表现真的很好,他们几乎都是班里最好的学生。”乔纳森一边冲着她笑,一边收拾好课本,准备为十年级的考试抓紧学习。


 

 

搜索

Namibia

Fostering alternatives for orphaned or neglected children in Namibia

By Shantha Bloemen

WINDHOEK, Namibia, 22 November 2010 – “I made a promise, when I could not have more children myself, that I would look after children who don’t have mothers or fathers,” says Verity Van Wyk, sitting on the sofa in a house provided by a small charity called Ministries of Hope, where she is raising four foster-care children.

VIDEO: UNICEF's Eva Gilliam reports on the need for increased social cash-transfer grants for Namibia's foster children.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Ms. Van Wyk lives in Rehoboth, a dusty and impoverished town an hour south of Namibia’s capital, Windhoek. After her only child left home a few years ago, she wanted to do more to help other children in a community that suffers from high rates of unemployment, alcohol abuse and HIV infection.

To pay for school books, uniforms, medical care and food, Ms. Van Wyk receives a monthly foster-care grant of $29 per child from the government. The foster grant is one of four types of government cash transfers that make it possible for children who have lost parents or live in harmful situations to be safely placed and cared for.

Demand for foster care

Namibia, a sparsely populated country with a population of slightly more than 2 million, has an estimated 155,000 orphaned children and 95,000 children considered extremely vulnerable. For years, its foster system has been unable to keep up with demand.

When the system works, it helps children such as Jonathan (not his real name), 16, continue his education. Jonathan’s mother died six years ago, and he was on the brink of dropping out of school due to tensions in the family after his father quickly remarried.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Namibia/ 2010/Moreno Gonzales
Verity Van Wyk, a foster mother Rehoboth, Namibia, with three of the four children she takes care of with help from a local charity and a monthly foster grant.

“When I place a child like Jonathan, I need to first visit the home and put together a legal application that is presented to the local magistrate’s court,” explains Zelnadia Engelbrecht, one of Rehoboth’s two social workers, who manages a case load of 30 children a week.

In the majority of cases, according to Ms. Engelbrecht, either the child is orphaned or the parents are negligent. “Caregivers are often frustrated over having no work and feelings of helplessness,” she says. “It is not easy to find solutions to improve these circumstances within families, so once children are placed in a foster care arrangement, they will often stay there.”

Community child-care system

A UNICEF-supported review of the foster system recently found that although child-welfare grants are making a marked impact, many very poor and vulnerable families with both parents alive are not entitled to any grant support. Carried out by the Ministry of Gender Equality and Child Welfare, the review was part of UNICEF’s Children and AIDS regional initiative, which supports efforts to help children affected by AIDS in nine eastern and southern African countries, with funding from the British and Australian Governments.

The review also revealed an urgent need to identify community child-care workers who can monitor the overall welfare of children who have been placed with a foster parent or relative. Based on these insights, the government has introduced a community child-care system to help social workers better identify children and follow up on their circumstances.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Namibia/ 2010/Moreno Gonzales
Jonathan (not his real name) studies for his 10th grade exams at his foster home in Rehoboth, an hour north of Namibia’s capital, Windhoek.

“We are focusing on efforts for children to be taken care of at the community level within families,” explains Helena Andjamba, Director of Child Welfare for Namibia. “That’s why we want to expand foster care services to include kinship arrangements. The lessons learned from our experience and the recommendations from this study have been incorporated into the Child Care and Protection Bill.”

Expanding the safety net

The draft bill, which has gone through extensive public consultation, provides the most comprehensive review of laws pertaining to children in Namibia since 1960. It includes a provision for extending the foster-care grant to relatives looking after children and seeks to simplify the grant process.

In the past decade, Namibia has made great strides in expanding its social safety net for the poorest and most vulnerable children. But with more than a third of the country’s children not living with their biological parents, many are still missing out.

Back in Rehoboth, Jonathan and the other three children living with Ms. Van Wyk, now call her “mum.”

“The children are all doing really well at school. They are all nearly at the top of their class,” she says proudly, showing off pictures of them in their school uniforms. Jonathan beams back at her as he packs up his school books and heads off to study for his grade 10 exams.


 

 

New enhanced search