缅甸

联合国儿童基金会帮助缅甸遭受到气旋风暴袭击的家庭恢复供水系统

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Myanmar/2009/Linn
村民昂帕萨(Daw Pauk Sa),在缅甸曼萨古村家门前,用联合国儿童基金会提供的水罐装水。

桑德尔.琳报道

2009年6月17日缅甸坎缇帕瓦特–看见小孩拉丹提着沉重的水桶似乎不是一件令人开心的事。但是,在坎缇帕瓦特村,人们的看法却另有不同。

2008年5月缅甸三角洲地区受到气旋风暴“纳尔吉斯”(Nargis)的袭击,之后的几个月后,没人能从村里池塘中打出任何饮用水。只有咸涩的盐水和残片碎瓦。大多数雨水积蓄设施被毁,池塘是剩下的唯一水源。

“我们非常担心在季风来到之前如何抽空及清扫池塘。一切都是那么令人感到绝望。我们都已疲惫不堪,生活也已经支离破碎,”肖昌村村长吴梭敏说到。

社区供水池

社区的积蓄雨水池塘对居住在整个三角洲地区的众多家庭来说极为重要。如果没有这些池塘,每年大部分时间许多家庭将无法获得洁净水。社区需要在雨季积蓄足够的雨水,这样才能使他们渡过整个旱季。旱季通常在11月左右开始,可持续到下年的5月。

因此水的积蓄是非常重要的。联合国儿童基金会已为受气旋风暴影响地区约2500户家庭提供了援助,每户得到两个227升的水罐。这两个巨大的水罐加起来可储存一个家庭在旱季所需用水量的约百分之二十五。

“我们买不起这样的水罐,因为家里仅靠我丈夫打临时工,挣来的钱还远远不够买食物的费用,”48岁的昂帕萨说到,她与四个孩子生活在曼萨古村。

其它蓄水方法

在联合国中央应急资源基金和其他捐助单位的援助下,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴帮助重新开发了其他蓄水方法。

联合国儿童基金会与缅甸红十字会和其他伙伴合作,在每一个村清洁一个池塘。他们给每家每户提供了净水材料和卫生用品,及铁锹、锄头和四轮手推车,鼓励建造卫生厕所。

联合国儿童基金会在科缇帕瓦提(Katipar Ywar Thit)的小学和其他学校安装了400加仑的蓄水罐,以及预制厕所和两套陶瓷滤水器。

“即使发生水源短缺我们也没有太多担心了,”已是三个孩子母亲的丹漆(Than Htay)说到。

蓄水罐提高了生活质量
“我很高兴得到这些蓄水罐,”昂帕萨说到。“家门口有这些蓄水罐,我感到非常自豪。这意味着可以多蓄水,它们也是宝贵的财富。”

虽然他们仍然从社区池塘中汲水,昂帕萨的家庭已不再花时间往他人的水罐装水了。因为太穷买不起自己的水罐,过去在长干旱季节他们曾被邻居允许用其水罐装水,条件是要帮邻居装满几罐水作为交换。

这些水罐使昂帕萨能去稻田里工作,以补充家庭收入。她的孩子们也可以有更多的时间与朋友们玩耍了。


 

 

搜索

Myanmar, Republic of the Union of

UNICEF restores water supplies in cyclone-affected Myanmar

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Myanmar/2009/Linn
Villager Daw Pauk Sa, filling a water jar provided by UNICEF, in front of her house in May Sa Ngu village, Myanmar.

By Sandar Linn

KATIPAR YWAR THIT, Myanmar, 17 June 2009 – A child laden with heavy water buckets isn’t always a cheerful sight. But in Katipar Ywar Thit village, it has a different connotation.

Even a few months after Cyclone Nargis, which hit Myanmar’s delta region in May 2008, no one could draw any drinking water from the village pond. It was choked with saltwater and debris.  With most rainwater storage facilities destroyed, the ponds were the only other water source.

"We were overwhelmed with worries about how we were going to empty and clean the pond before the monsoon starts. Everything felt hopeless. We were worn out and our lives had been torn apart," said the head of Shaw Chaung village, U Zaw Min.

Communal water ponds

Communal rain water ponds are immensely important to families across the delta. Without them, many families would not have access to clean water for most of the year. Communities need to catch enough rainwater during the rainy season to last them throughout the dry season, which begins around November and can last until May.

Water storage is crucial. UNICEF support has provided about 2,500 families in the cyclone-affected district each with two 227 litre jars. Combined, the two huge jars store around 25 per cent of a family’s water in the dry season.

"We could not afford to buy a jar because the family has to depend only on my husband's income as a day labourer, which can’t cover much beyond the food expenses,” said Daw Pauk Sa, 48, who lives with her four children in May Sa Ngu village.

Other means of storing water

Drawing on the United Nations Central Emergency Resource Fund and other donors, UNICEF with its partners helped re-establish other means of storing water.

UNICEF worked with the Myanmar Red Cross Society and other partners to clean one pond per village. They provided water purification materials and hygiene kits to every household, along with shovels, hoes and wheel barrows to encourage the construction sanitary latrines.

UNICEF installed a 400-gallon water storage tank at Katipar Ywar Thit’s primary school and other schools, as well as prefabricated latrines and two sets of ceramic water filters.

 “We do not have a lot to worry even if there is water shortage,” says Than Htay, a mother of three.

Jars improve life quality

"I'm so happy to receive these jars," said Daw Pauk Sa. "I'm very proud to have earthen jars in front of my house. They mean more than water storage—they are also a precious asset."

Though they still fetch water from the communal pond, Daw Pauk Sa’s family no longer has to spend hours filling other people’s jars. Too poor to buy their own jar, they were allowed access to a neighbour’s jar in the long dry season in exchange for filling several jars.

The jars also enable Daw Pauk Sa to work in the paddy fields to supplement the family’s income. And her children have more time for playing with friends.


 

 

New enhanced search