缅甸

缅甸生活技能培训帮助年青人预防艾滋病

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Myanmar/2008/Myo Thame
缅甸景东乡万库西村举行了以生活技能为基础的同伴培训课程。

桑德.林报道

缅甸景东,2008年12月29日 — 在东掸邦景东乡偏远的阿哈(Ah Khar)少数民族聚居的万库西村,很少有人知道艾滋病的风险,以及如何预防艾滋病。

艾美佳今年19岁,直到前不久,她还是村子里不了解艾滋病知识的众多人中的一员。

“我的家人、我的朋友们、我的邻居、甚至我们村里的负责人都不知道这些事,”她说。“我们听说过艾滋病,因为别的村里有些在边境地区工作的人,感染了艾滋病,回到村里,但是我们从没得到任何有关这种疾病的、详细的信息。”

学习生活技能

在最近一次联合国儿童基金会支持的生活技能培训项目上,有约30位年龄在15岁到24岁的青年人学习了有关艾滋病的知识。

“今天是培训的第二天,”艾美佳说。“现在我们知道了病毒到底是怎样传播的,我们如何才能保护自己……在未来的三天里,我们会学习更多的生活技能的知识,我真是太高兴了。”

生活技能是采用适应性行为和积极行为的能力,这些能力使人能有效地处理日常生活中的各种需求和挑战。到目前为止,在所学的课程中,艾美佳最喜欢的是“自我价值”这门课。

“女孩自身价值已经存于传统和文化中,一个主要的事实就是避免婚前性关系。但是,从这个培训中学到的知识,为此增加了更多的价值,”她说。

同伴讲授预防的知识

为了有效地预防艾滋病,帮助青年人采用更安全的行为,使他们掌握批判性思考、决策、解决问题和沟通的技能是必要的。包括同情心在内的十项核心技能植根于同健康有关的主题中,因此经过培训后,对感染了艾滋病的人,学员们能够表现出更多的、支持性的态度。

接受了生活技能培训后,参加培训的人更愿意和同伴们分享他们掌握的新知识,这样有利于广大社区的居民。

“我们讨论培训以外的事情,”和一群朋友站在一起的艾美佳说,“我们和别的村子的朋友们谈论我们迄今学到的艾滋病知识和生活技能课程,他们那里无法获得这方面的信息。我们乐于学习生活技能,因为在我们的日常生活中,了解什么对我们有害是很重要的。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年11月:联合国儿童基金会记者艾米.本内特就缅甸少数民族村的同伴教育项目进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Myanmar, Republic of the Union of

Life-skills training helps young people to prevent HIV in Myanmar

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Myanmar/2008/Myo Thame
A life skills-based peer training session takes place in Wan Ku Thit village, Kyaing Tong Township, Myanmar.

By Sandar Linn

KYAING TONG, Myanmar, 29 December 2008 – In the village of Wan Ku Thit, a remote Ah Khar ethnic group enclave in Kyaing Tong Township, eastern Shan State, very few people are aware of the risk of HIV and how to prevent AIDS.

El May Ja, 19, is one of many in her village who, until recently, did not have a lot of prior knowledge about HIV.

“My family, my friends, my neighbours and even the head of our village don't know these things,” she said. “Although we have heard about HIV/AIDS, because there are some people in other villages who went to work in border areas and came back as they got infected with HIV, we have not received any in-depth information about it.”

Learning life skills

At a recent UNICEF-supported life-skills training programme, about 30 young people aged 15 to 24 learned about HIV and AIDS.

“Today is the second day of our training,” explained El May Ja. “Now we know exactly how the virus is transmitted, how we can protect ourselves.... We are going to learn more about life skills in the next three days, and I’m so excited about that.”

Life skills are abilities for adaptive and positive behaviour that enable individuals to deal effectively with the demands and challenges of everyday life. Among the lessons that were taught so far, El May Ja cited the topic ‘Value Myself’ as her favourite.

“The tradition and culture is already in place for girls to value themselves, and one of the major facts is to abstain from having sexual relations until one gets married. But the knowledge from this training adds more value to this,” she said.

Peer groups teach prevention

For effective HIV prevention, skills such as critical thinking, decision-making, problem-solving and communication are essential to help young people adopt safer behaviours. Ten core skills, including empathy, are embedded in the health-related topics so that after training, the participants are able to show more supportive attitudes toward people living with HIV.

Following the life-skills training, participants are encouraged to share their newly gained knowledge with their peer groups so that it benefits the wider community.

“We discuss these things outside training,” El May Ja said, standing with a group of her friends. “We also talk about HIV and life-skills lessons that we have learnt so far with our friends from other villages, where they don't get this information. We enjoy learning life skills because it is important in our daily lives to know what is harmful to us.”


 

 

Video

November 2008: UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on peer education programmes in ethnic villages in Myanmar.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search