缅甸

联合国儿童基金会帮助缅甸受飓风影响地区清理被污染的水源

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Myanmar/2008
联合国儿童基金会驻缅甸顾问薜素乌监督受飓风影响的伽右光村的池塘排水工作。该村村民依赖池塘获取饮用水。

安娜.K.斯特克特报道

缅甸伊洛瓦底省,2008年9月9日 – 在偏远的伽右光(Nga Yoke Kaung)村,饮用水通常来自当地的两口池塘。最近袭击缅甸伊洛瓦底三角洲的飓风不仅摧毁了当地人的家园,还严重损坏了小学教学楼并污染了主要的水源。

飓风使得水源被盐水和残渣污染而无法再被使用。池塘要被抽空并且清理干净才能再用来蓄积雨水。

联合国儿童基金会驻缅甸水和卫生项目处主任沃尔德马.皮卡特(Waldemar Pickardt)说: “村民、地方当局以及援助机构马上就意识到要满足受飓风影响人口的饮水需求,清理这些池塘是至关重要的。”

提供水泵

联合国儿童基金会已经为伽右光村提供了水泵以帮助该村为池塘排水,联合国儿童基金会并在监督工作的进展。由于连续降雨,第一口池塘已经清理干净并蓄满了可以使用的雨水。

但是,社区仍然面临着一个困境——一方面要尽快抽干池塘里的水,因为必须在10月底季风季节结束之前,让池塘重新蓄满雨水;而另一方面,在季风季节期间,降雨强度太大,很难排空池塘里的水。如果村民们不能尽快地将第二口池塘清理干净的话,他们今年可能将没有足够的雨水蓄满池塘。

村里的一名工人站在齐腰的水中,将一把一把的泥扔上岸,他说:“我们不把池塘排空就绝不罢休。”和他并肩作战的是50多个村民,他们都深知局势的严重性。 没有池塘,社区就没有水来熬过即将到来的六个月长的旱季。

村长相信在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,他的社区将能够很快排空第二口池塘并把它清理干净 ,这样在雨季结束之前这口池塘能及时地蓄满雨水。

替代办法

联合国儿童基金会正寻找其他的办法来帮助高危险地带受飓风影响的社区。该会计划将八个饮用水处理工厂重新部署到战略性地点,这样就可以把经过处理的河水蓄积在池塘里。此外,联合国儿童基金会正提倡合理使用水资源,并将水箱分配到各个村庄,以增加他们的蓄水量。

皮卡特说:“虽然人们正在努力排干池塘里受污染的水,但是我仍然担心在旱季来临之前,我们无法把所有的池塘都清理干净。因此,我们必须要找到那些可能在旱季缺乏饮用水的高危险地带。”

在其他援助机构及缅甸政府的支持下,联合国儿童基金会目前已经清理了1800口池塘。

皮卡特说:“通过与社区、地方当局和伙伴机构的密切合作,我相信我们可以发挥重要作用,并准备好避免水资源的严重短缺。”


 

 

搜索

Myanmar, Republic of the Union of

UNICEF helps to clean contaminated water supplies in cyclone-affected Myanmar

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Myanmar/2008
UNICEF Myanmar consultant Pyi Soe Oo monitors the draining of ponds in cyclone-affected Nga Yoke Kaung village, where people rely on the ponds for drinking water.

By Anna K. Stechert

IRRAWADDY DIVISION, Myanmar, 9 September 2008 – In Myanmar's cyclone-affected Nga Yoke Kaung village, drinking water traditionally comes only from two ponds. The recent cyclone in the Irrawaddy Delta not only destroyed homes and severely damaged the remote village's primary school, but also contaminated its primary water source.

Salt water and debris stirred up by the May cyclone have made the water unusable. The ponds need to be emptied and cleaned so that they can be filled with rainwater again.

“The villagers, the local authorities and aid agencies recognized right away that the cleaning of these ponds will be crucial to cover the drinking water needs of the affected population,” said UNICEF Myanmar’s Chief of Water and Sanitation, Waldemar Pickardt.

Providing pumps, monitoring progress

UNICEF has provided Nga Yoke Kaung village with water pumps to help drain the ponds, and is monitoring their progress. The first pond is already clean and, thanks to the constant rain, is now filled with safe water.

But the community is facing a dilemma; the ponds need to be drained quickly, because they must be refilled before the monsoon season concludes at the end of October. However, during the monsoon season, the rain is so strong that it is very difficult to empty the ponds. If the villagers do not manage to clean the second pond very soon, there will not be enough rain to fill it again this year.

“We are not quitting until this thing is empty,” said one of the workers in Nga Yoke Kaung, standing waist-deep in water and tossing mud onto the shore. He was joined by 50 more villagers, all of whom understood the severity of the situation. Without the ponds, the community will not have water to get through the coming six months of dry season.

The village head is confident that with UNICEF’s help, his community will be able to empty and clean the second pond quickly.

Alternative solutions

UNICEF is also working on alternative solutions to help cyclone-affected communities in high-risk areas of Myanmar. The organization plans to relocate eight water-treatment plants to strategic locations, so that ponds can be refilled with treated water from the rivers. In addition, UNICEF is advocating water rationing and is distributing tanks to villages to increase their storage capacity.
 
“Even though ... significant efforts are under way to pump contaminated water out of the ponds, I am worried we won’t be able to clean all the water ponds before the dry season starts,” said Mr. Pickardt. “Therefore, it is very important to identify high-risk areas with potential drinking water shortages during the upcoming dry season.”

UNICEF, with the support of other aid agencies and the Government  of Myanmar, has cleaned a total of 1,800 ponds so far.

“By working closely with the communities, local authorities and our partner agencies, I am confident that we can make a difference and be well prepared to avoid severe water shortages,” said Mr. Pickardt.


 

 

New enhanced search