莫桑比克

莫桑比克儿童受益儿童友好学校项目

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mozambique/2010/Machiana
9岁的戴芬娜是布兹区费维雷奥小学的学生。她的书包里放着儿童友好学校项目发放的基础教育材料。

爱米迪奥.玛琪雅娜报道

莫桑比克布兹,2010年3月1日 - 费维雷奥小学的五年级教师姆奇多.阿尔贝托对自己所在的这所儿童友好学校颇为自豪。他说,就在不久以前许多孩子上课时还只能坐在地上,但现在每个人都有了课桌椅。

这所学校是由莫桑比克教育部和联合国儿童基金会2007年开始在布兹区实行的“儿童友好学校”项目的参与学校。

对学校在过去三年的变化,阿尔贝托都看在了眼里。他举例说,学校里新建的五个厕所在保证学生上学起到了重要的作用。他解释说,“过去只有三个厕所,很多孩子不愿意上厕所,所以他们经常干脆不来上学”。

不过,阿尔贝托也承认,建设儿童友好的设施只是为儿童、特别是最脆弱的儿童创建一个友好的学习环境的一部分。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mozambique/2010/Machiana
费维雷奥小学的学生们在新建的教室里上课,他们用的课桌椅也是新的。

更脆弱的儿童

在莫桑比克,艾滋、贫困和缺乏食品安全保障已经对原有的救助体系造成了巨大冲击,也使很多孩子成为孤儿。据估计,全国目前有140万孤儿,其中40万都是因为艾滋而失去了父母。

针对这些挑战,儿童友好学校项目致力于通过执行一系列学校干预措施和质量标准来提高小学的教育水平。从这个意义上说,学校成为提供一系列基本服务的起点。

学校干预的系列措施覆盖了五个主要领域:教育、水和卫生、健康、弱势儿童保护以及社区参与。这些措施改善了每个孩子的身体、心理和情感素质,并对弱视儿童和女童给予特别的关注。涉及的地区包括莫桑比克的七个省。

一系列的帮助

阿尔贝托说,教师、家长和学校理事共同找出弱势儿童,共同努力为他们提供一系列帮助,其中最重要的是提供学习用品,并为弱势儿童联系社会救助机构。

在当地卫生部门的帮助下,这些儿童友好学校获得了主要的卫生保健设施。流动卫生队定期到学校提供免疫、杀虫和营养筛检等服务。阿尔贝托说,学生们还可以学习一些诸如预防艾滋病以及其他常见疾病的重要性、怎样更好地刷牙、保持良好饮食习惯等知识。

现在,儿童友好学校项目覆盖了莫桑比克的七个地区,共有750所学校、超过30万名学龄儿童受益。


 

 

相关链接

搜索

Mozambique

Vulnerable children benefit from child-friendly schools in Mozambique

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Mozambique/2010/Machiana
Delfina, 9, attends 3 de Fevereiro Primary School in Buzi District, Mozambique. Her bag contains basic education supplies that are distributed to all students in the district's child-friendly schools.

By Emidio Machiana

BUZI, Mozambique, 1 March 2010 − Muchindo Alberto, the fifth-grade teacher at 3 de Fevereiro Primary School, is proud of his child-friendly school. "Until recently, many children had to sit on the on the floor, but today we have enough school desks for all," he says.

The school is part of the Child-Friendly Schools Initiative, a partnership between the Ministry of Education and UNICEF, introduced to Buzi District in 2007.

Mr. Alberto is quick to call attention to the visible changes that have improved the school over the past three years. He notes, for example, that the construction of five new latrines has played an important role in keeping students in attendance. "The school only had three latrines in very poor condition," he explains, "so the children were reluctant to use them. They often had to miss school as a result."

But Mr. Alberto also acknowledges that building new child-friendly facilities is just one aspect of creating a learning environment that addresses the needs of all children, especially the most vulnerable.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Mozambique/2010/Machiana
Children study in a newly built classroom equipped with new school desks at 3 de Fevereiro Primary School in Mozambique.

More vulnerable children

In Mozambique, the effects of AIDS, poverty and food insecurity have eroded the traditional support system provided by families and communities, giving rise to a rapid increase in the number of orphaned and vulnerable children. There are an estimated 1.4 million orphans in the country, including some 400,000 who have lost parents to AIDS.

Responding to these challenges, the Child-Friendly Schools Initiative aims to improve the quality of education in primary schools through the implementation of an integrated package of school interventions and quality standards. In this context, schools have become entry points for delivering a range of essential basic services.

The package of school interventions covers five main focus areas: education; water, sanitation and hygiene; health; protection of vulnerable children; and community participation. The initiative promotes caring for the physical, psychological and emotional well-being of every child, with special attention to vulnerable children and girls. Districts in seven provinces of Mozambique are targeted.

'A range of support'

"Teachers, parents and school council members work together to identify vulnerable children in the community," says Mr. Alberto. "We try to provide a range of support, giving priority to school materials, and referring the most vulnerable to social services."

In collaboration with local health authorities, the child-friendly schools facilitate access to primary health care. Mobile health units come to the schools regularly to provide vaccinations, de-worming and nutritional screening. "Students also learn life skills such as the importance of preventing HIV and most common diseases, how to better clean their teeth and follow a good diet," adds Mr. Alberto. 

Mozambique's child-friendly schools programme, which is part of the Schools for Africa initiative, now covers all primary schools in seven districts, benefiting approximately 750 schools and over 300,000 school-age children.


 

 

New enhanced search