UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

蒙古

空气污染正在危及蒙古儿童的健康

© UNICEF Mongolia
观看:访问蒙古乌兰巴托,看看为什么空气质量对儿童的健康亮起了警灯。

 

恩赫朱丽.阿勒坦格列尔报道

蒙古乌兰巴托,像南丁.额尔德尼这样的儿童面对着因污染而变得如此浓重的空气,以致他们无法看到交通灯的颜色。查看空气质量对儿童健康意味着什么,并且了解联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴为穿透烟雾做了什么。


蒙古乌兰巴托,2016年2月22日—“去学校的路上,空气中弥漫着烟雾,我什么也看不见。早晨去学校的路上,当我穿过马路时,看不清交通灯是红色还是绿色,”南丁.额尔德尼说,她的脸颊因寒冷变得通红。

这个9岁的女孩和她的父母及兄弟姐妹一起住在蒙古包区,这个区域尚未享受到城市规划或者蒙古首都乌兰巴托大部分基础服务带来的好处。与城市边缘地区其他20万个家庭一样,南丁.额尔德尼家在冬季(这个季节温度可骤降零下40度)用原煤取暖和做饭。

煤燃烧和较高的吸烟率造成了大量的室内和室外空气污染,形成了浓重的雾霾,南丁.额尔德尼要穿过雾霾过马路。

南丁.额尔德尼呼吸的空气

像南丁.额尔德尼这样的小学生不仅在街上呼吸重度污染的空气,在学校和家里也是如此。

乌兰巴托是世界上10大污染最严重的城市之一。蒙古包区的空气污染已达到危险程度:2011年的数据显示,增加儿童患呼吸道感染风险的细颗粒物(或PM 2.5)通常比世界卫生组织允许的标准高6-7倍。到12月,这个测量值的峰值达到了允许值的25倍。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mongolia/2016/Altangerel
南丁.额尔德尼在乌兰巴托步行上学。这个9岁的女孩过马路时都看不见前方,污染太严重了。

“我的孩子冬天经常得流感,喉咙痛。我觉得这是因为空气污染,”南丁.额尔德尼的妈妈洪古尔朱丽说。

“因为烟雾,我的喉咙有灼烧感,有些痛,”南丁.额尔德尼承认。“我经常生病。

我听说烟雾对健康非常不好。它会给肺部和其他器官带来疾病。”

“我更加担心长期的影响,”洪古尔朱丽说。“我不知道他们以后会发生什么。”

南丁.额尔德尼和她妈妈的担心是对的。污染对像她这样的儿童的健康威胁很显著。

儿童与空气污染

全球每年有430万人因室内空气污染死亡,其中13%是5岁以下的儿童。在这个年龄组中,50%以上的死亡因颗粒物质引起的肺炎导致。 

在蒙古,导致大部分死亡的三种疾病都与空气污染有关。在5岁以下的儿童中,急性下呼吸道感染,尤其是肺炎,是导致死亡的原因之一。调查发现,居住在乌兰巴托重污染地区的儿童肺功能比居住在农村地区的儿童低,具体表现为生命后期有患慢性呼吸道疾病的风险。


UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mongolia/2016/Altangerel
空气污染深深地影响着人们的健康,尤其是儿童的健康。联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴正在扩大蒙古的活动,以应对污染的原因和影响。

空气污染以不同方式深深地影响儿童健康是有真正原因的。据国家母婴健康中心的恩赫祖.马尔欣呼医生称,“儿童暴露于空气污染要受到特别关注,因为他们的免疫系统和肺部还未发育完全。儿童年龄越小,其健康受到空气污染的影响就越大。”净影响有多大?“空气污染会导致呼吸功能不全,还会卷入炎症,可能损害儿童的肺部,对儿童的生命造成危险,”马尔欣呼医生说。

对数据作出响应

“我希望我的孩子生活的环境里可以呼吸道清洁的空气。这应该是每个人类的基本权利。”–洪古尔朱丽

联合国儿童基金会正在应对像南丁.额尔德尼这样的儿童的迫切需求。联合国儿童基金会驻蒙古办事处正在扩大其对环境和空气污染的参与度。

1月,联合国儿童基金会与世界及各国专家召开了一次国际会议,对空气污染和儿童健康的科学依据展开了讨论,并且促进了一次政策讨论——这一切都在与各国合作伙伴的紧密合作下进行。这次会议及会议中提出的建议加快了降低乌兰巴托儿童肺炎烦扰的措施的实施,同时,对于因空气污染而产生慢性呼吸道疾病烦扰的年长儿童,减少其暴露于污染空气的措施而受到关注。

联合国儿童基金会还将通过支持疫苗引进和治疗、加强营养及母乳喂养之类的辅助性干预措施及促进积极行为改变的措施来专注于降低肺炎发生率。

“儿童目前对空气污染的暴露是以前几代人未曾经历的,据预测,这一代在生命后期罹患慢性呼吸道疾病的水平将是空前的。肺炎引起的疾病负担可以也应该被预防,因为在漫长的寒冷季节,仍有太多儿童死亡,”联合国儿童基金会驻蒙古代表罗伯托.贝奈斯说。“这就是为什么减少空气污染不仅是一种道德责任,还是对蒙古下一代及建立在健康和人力资本上的可持续发展的最有效投资。”

只有在大家迫切的努力和积极的政策措施下,这个希望才有可能成为事实。就其本身而言,联合国儿童基金会驻蒙古办事处继续加倍努力为儿童提供发展的基本要素:一个更加健康的居住环境。



 

 

搜索

At a glance: Mongolia

Air pollution is endangering children’s health in Mongolia

© UNICEF Mongolia
Watch: Visit Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, and see why the air quality is raising alarms for children’s health.


By Enkhzul Altangerel

In Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, children like Nandin-Erdene face air so dense with pollution that they cannot view the colour of traffic lights. See what the air quality means for children’s health, and learn what UNICEF and partners are doing to cut through the smog.

ULAANBAATAR, Mongolia, 22 February 2016 – “When I go to school, it is very smoggy and I can’t see anything. When I cross the road in the morning on my way to school, I can’t tell if the light is red or green,” says Nandin-Erdene, her cheeks red from the cold.

The 9-year-old girl lives with her parents and siblings in a ger district, an area that does not benefit from urban planning or most basic services, in Ulaanbaatar, the capital city of Mongolia. Like 200,000 other households in the peri-urban areas, Nandin-Erdene’s family burn raw coal for heating and cooking during the winter – during which time temperatures can plummet to –40 °C.

Coal combustion and a high smoking rate have brought considerable indoor and outdoor air pollution, the dense curtain through which Nandin-Erdene tries to cross the street.

The air Nandin-Erdene breathes

Schoolchildren like Nandin-Erdene breathe in heavily polluted air not only in the streets, but also at both school and home.

Ulaanbaatar is among the 10 most polluted cities in the world. Air pollution levels in the ger have reached dangerous levels: 2011 data showed that fine particulate matter, or PM 2.5, which increases the risk of respiratory infections among children, is usually 6–7 times higher than World Health Organization standards allow. The measurement can peak at up to 25 times the allowance, in December.

© UNICEF Mongolia/2016/Altangerel
Nandin-Erdene walks to school in Ulaanbaatar. This 9-year-old girl can’t see across the street, the pollution is so thick.

“My children get flu and sore throat very often during winter. I think that it’s because of the air pollution,” says Nandin-Erdene’s mother Khongorzul.

“Because of the smog, my throat burns and it gets sore,” agrees Nandin-Erdene. “I get sick often.

“I heard that smog is very bad for health. It makes lungs and other organs sick.”

“I am worried more about the long-term effects,” says Khongorzul. “I don’t know what will happen to them in the future.”

Nandin-Erdene and her mother are right to worry. The health risks to children like her are significant.

Children and air pollution

Globally, indoor air pollution contributes to the death of 4.3 million people each year, of whom 13 per cent are children under 5. Of this age group, more than 50 per cent of deaths are attributed to pneumonia caused by particulate matter.

In Mongolia, the three diseases that have resulted in the most lost life-years in Mongolia are related to air pollution. Among children under 5, acute lower respiratory infection, and in particular pneumonia, is one of the leading causes of death. Children living in highly polluted districts of Ulaanbaatar have been found to have lower lung function than children living in rural areas, with concrete risks of chronic respiratory disease later in life.

© UNICEF Mongolia/2016/Altangerel
Air pollution affects the health of people profoundly, and of children in particular. UNICEF and partners are scaling up activities in Mongolia to address the causes and effects of the pollution.

There are real reasons that air pollution affects children differently, and profoundly. According to Dr. Malchinkhuu Danzan, of the National Centre for Maternal and Child Health, “Children’s exposure to air pollution is of special concern because their immune system and lungs are not fully developed. The younger the children, the greater the impact of air pollution will be on their health.” The net effect? “Air pollution leads to respiratory insufficiency, which is complicated with inflammation and can damage a child’s lungs, and cause a dangerous risk to child’s life,” concludes Dr. Malchinkhuu.

Acting on the data

“I want my children to live in an environment with clean air to breathe. It should be an essential right for every human being.” –Khongorzul 

UNICEF is responding to the urgent needs of children like Nandin-Erdene. UNICEF Mongolia is scaling up its engagement in environment and air pollution.

In January, UNICEF convened an international conference with world and national experts to discuss scientific evidence on air pollution and child health, and to foster a policy discussion – all in close collaboration with national partners. The conference and its recommendations have triggered accelerated actions to reduce the burden of pneumonia among children in Ulaanbaatar, while simultaneously focusing on measures to reduce air pollution exposure in older children that contribute to the burden of chronic respiratory disease.

UNICEF will also focus on reducing the incidence of pneumonia by supporting vaccine introduction and treatment, complementary interventions like better nutrition and breastfeeding, and measures to promote positive behaviour change.

“Current exposures of children to air pollution have not been experienced by previous generations, and this generation is projected to suffer from unprecedented levels of chronic respiratory disease later in life. The disease burden of pneumonia can and should be prevented, as too many children still die during the longest cold season,” says UNICEF Mongolia Representative Roberto Benes. “That is why reducing air pollution is a moral imperative but also a most effective investment for Mongolia’s future generations and sustainable development built on health and human capital.”

It is only with collective urgent efforts and aggressive policy measures that this hope can become a reality. For its part, UNICEF Mongolia is continuing to scale up its efforts to provide children with the essence of development: a healthier environment to live in.



Unless we act now: The impact of climate change on children

New enhanced search