墨西哥

紧急援助在塔巴斯科和恰帕斯水灾中受灾的儿童

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mexico/2007/Alleyne
在塔巴斯科的维拉赫莫萨,受到洪水袭击的家庭在一个物资发放中心排队,等待领取受灾时所需的物资。

理查德.阿里尼报道

墨西哥维拉赫莫萨,2007年11月9日。通往塔巴斯科首府维拉赫莫萨的道路满是泥泞,到处可见用来围堵洪水的已被扯裂的沙袋。 现在洪水终于退去。该市郊区的道路两边还有很多家庭,他们用纸板和防水布搭建了临时的建筑物用来存放他们的财产,他们拒绝离开已经被严重毁坏的家园。

本周的连降暴雨造成了该地区50年来最严重的洪水暴发,目前塔巴斯科的部分地区仍被淹没在几英尺的洪水中,负责救灾的部队仍在全力救灾。超过一百万人遭受了洪水的侵袭,其中三分之一是儿童。

教育部的报告中指出,全省有40万儿童遭受了洪水侵袭,有2500所学校的校舍被毁坏。与该省毗邻的恰帕斯也遭受到洪水的侵袭。联合国儿童基金组织已经派出了两个专家组到这两个地区确认紧急需要的物资。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mexico/2007/Alleyne
在一个为塔巴斯科洪水灾民提供紧急救援物资的中心,一位母亲和她的孩子,以及联合国儿童基金会的工作人员。

避难所提供援助

在维拉赫莫萨,埃尔陶里欧的“埃尔伯格”是政府提供的276个避难所中的一个。这些避难所为洪水灾民提供紧急援助。在路边有很多货车,年轻人正从车上搬卸饮用水、婴儿食品和粮食。

大约150人的长队绵延地穿过停车楼。程序是有序的,但排队的人们面无表情,显得疲惫不堪。

联合国儿童基金正在启动一个旨在帮助避难所中的儿童的计划,以确保他们获得精神上支持,并能有一个安全的环境。这个计划的活动内容包括为教师和避难所的工作人员提供为儿童进行心理咨询的培训。

另外,联合国儿童基金将为避难所提供一些娱乐用品箱,还将为教师和学生提供约4200个学校用品箱,其中包括教室用的基本物品,书包和教学材料。

 “我们从没见过这样的事情”

安娜和她的丈夫贡扎罗带着两岁的女儿,从布纳维斯塔的蓝切利亚村走了一个小时来到埃尔托里欧,安娜身怀7个月的身孕。

“我们以前从没有寻求过帮助”贡扎罗说。“但是我们以前从来没有遇到过这样的事情。我们需要帮助。”

上周刚开始下雨的时候,安娜和贡扎罗说他们当时知道要发洪水了,可万万没有想洪水会如此凶猛。 安娜回忆道:“在洪水涌进我们家之前,我们逃到了朋友家,当我们回到家的时候洪水已经淹到了窗户。”

目前,全省将近两万人拒绝撤离自己的家园。贡扎拉说,他担心如果他们离开自己家太久,他的小房子就会被别人抢劫一空。 但是,最后,这对夫妇还是决定来到避难所,因为担心带着一个年幼的孩子又没有食物实在风险太大了,况且还有一个新的生命马上就要降生。


 

 

音频(英文)

2007年11月9日:联合国儿童基金驻墨西哥代表苏珊娜.索托利探讨如何尽全力帮助在塔巴斯科和恰帕斯洪水中受灾的孩子们。
 音频 试听

搜索

At a glance: Mexico

Flood response targets immediate needs of children in Tabasco and Chiapas

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Mexico/2007/Alleyne
Flood-affected families wait in line at one of the supply distribution centres set up during the flooding in Villahermosa, Tabasco.

By Richard Alleyne

VILLAHERMOSA, Mexico, 9 November 2007 – The roads leading into Villahermosa, Tabasco’s capital city, are muddy and strewn with ruptured sandbags where floodwaters have finally receded. Also lining the streets on the city’s outskirts are clusters of families who refuse to leave their badly damaged homes and have rigged makeshift shelters from cardboard and tarpaulin. 

In the week since torrential rains produced the worst flooding here in more than 50 years, parts of the state of Tabasco remain under several feet of water and Army-led recovery efforts are still underway. More than 1 million people, a third of them children, have been affected by the floods.

The Ministry of Education reports that 400,000 students across the state have been affected and 2,500 schools damaged by the floods. Neighbouring Chiapas has also suffered flooding, and UNICEF has sent two teams of experts to both areas to identify immediate needs.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Mexico/2007/Alleyne
A mother, child and UNICEF staff member at an emergency centre for Tabasco flood victims.

Shelters provide assistance

El Toreo ‘albergue’ in Villahermosa is one of 276 government-run shelters providing flood victims with emergency assistance. Tractor-trailers line the street outside, and young men unload palettes of water, infant formula and dry food.

A queue of about 150 people snakes through the parking lot of the building. The process is organized but those waiting on line are grim-faced and look worn out.

UNICEF is establishing a programme to help children in the shelters, making sure they have emotional support and a safe environment. Planned activities include workshops that will train teachers and shelter personnel in psychosocial counselling techniques.

In addition, UNICEF will deliver recreation kits and approximately 4,200 school kits providing teachers and students with basic classroom supplies, backpacks and instructional materials.

‘We’ve never seen anything like this’

Ana and her husband Gonzalo have travelled an hour from the village of Rancheria Buenavista to El Toreo with their two-year-old daughter. Ana is seven months pregnant.

“We have never asked for help before,” says Gonzalo. “But we’ve never seen anything like this before. We need the help.”

Last week when the rains started, Ana and Gonzalo say, they expected some flooding to occur but couldn’t imagine the scale of what was to come. “Before we knew it the water was soaking through our home. We left to go to a friend’s house, and when we returned the waters were up to the windows,” Ana recalls.

Across the state, meanwhile, approximately 20,000 people have refused to leave their homes. Gonzalo says he’s afraid that his tiny house may be looted if they stay away too long. In the end, the couple decided to come to the shelter because they couldn’t risk running out of food with a young daughter to care for and another child on the way.


 

 

Audio

9 November 2007: UNICEF Representative in Mexico Susanna Sottoli discusses efforts to help children affected by flooding in Tabasco and Chiapas.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search