毛里塔尼亚

联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴共同应对毛里塔尼亚的儿童营养不良问题

UNICEF Photo: Mauritania, malnutrition
© UNICEF/2009/Isselmou
一岁的萨尔和她的母亲在毛里塔尼亚凯地医院的营养中心。

马丁.戴维斯 布拉赫姆.奥尔德.伊塞尔穆 报道

毛里塔尼亚凯地,2009年7月27日 - 一岁的萨尔显然是病了,村里一位妇女让她的母亲带她去凯地医院的营养中心。

在这个中心里,在其他六位也带着需要食疗的孩子的母亲的簇拥下,萨尔的母亲讲述了她是怎么得到村委会的资助、坐了九公里的驴车来到凯地医院的。

护士卡迪杰突.耶洛. 恩迪亚耶(Kaadijetou Yero N’diaye)为萨尔进行了检查,发现她患有营养不良,并且还有另一个引起呕吐的病因。不久以前医院的通常做法是诊治比较明显的症状,而对营养不良要么不去管,要么只是留到以后再做治疗。

联合国儿童基金会驻毛里塔尼亚代表克里斯圣.斯库格(Christian Skoog)说:“我们讲多数儿童的死亡原因是疟疾或呼吸性疾病,但是营养不良是让这些疾病变得更加致命的重要因素。通过确保优先处理营养不良问题,我们正大幅度地增强儿童对严重疾病的抵御能力,并确保对身体和心智发育等其他方面有好处。”

认识营养不良

为确保毛里塔尼亚的每个人都 “了解营养不良”,法国红十字会和欧盟支持的志愿者正在开展多项工作。他们深入农村进行宣传并发放袋装干粮,让儿童可以在自己家里获得治疗。

七个组织参与了这项由联合国儿童基金会创立的多层次工作计划。这是联合国各机构和合作伙伴为减少儿童饥饿和营养不良的问题,支持全球“REACH”倡议活动的一部分,该倡议已经在毛里塔尼亚和老挝试行。

这一倡议的两大支柱是:确保所有行动者的行动协调一致;并以更广泛的视角来审视营养问题——即分析营养不良的根本原因及其造成的多种后果,并促进预防和治疗。

流动工作队

伊布拉赫姆.巴尔在凯地医院的办公室里有关于当地每月接受治疗的儿童人数的统计数字。根据他的记录,一个严重营养不良的婴儿在五月被收入特殊治疗中心;同月,还有33个患急性营养不良的儿童来诊所接受治疗。

两年前,根本没有这样的数据。

现在,还有一个流动工作队深入农村地区培训卫生工作者,并且一年至少两次为难以接触到的营养不良儿童开展治疗。

国家议定书规定基本原则

目前,在当地使用的营养不良筛查和治疗方法是在2007年3月发布并被政府采纳的“国家议定书”中公布的。这份文件在联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织的技术支持之下形成;在儿童体重严重不足率超过10%、并有成千上万急性营养不良患者的国家,这是具有开创意义的文件。

议定书的规定有非常具体的标准。当凯地医院的护士恩迪亚耶先生被问到萨尔需要住院多长时间时,他说他很清楚。他解释说,因为她患病,“议定书”规定她至少需要住院两星期。

萨尔的母亲在孩子生病期间获得医院的住宿安排,她得到一些肥皂和一条毯子,并且住宿期间每天有两餐供应。

现在,这位母亲感到安慰。她微笑着说:“萨尔得救了。”


 

 

搜索

Mauritania

Faces of progress: UNICEF and partners tackle child malnutrition in Mauritania

UNICEF Image: Mauritania, malnutrition
© UNICEF/2009/Isselmou
One-year-old Saar and her mother at the hospital nutrition centre in Kaedi, Mauritania.

By Martin Dawes and Brahim Ould Isselmou

KAEDI, Mauritania, 27 July 2009 – One-year-old Saar was clearly ill when a woman from her village told the baby girl’s mother to get her to the nutrition centre at Kaedi Hospital.

At the centre, surrounded by six other mothers with children in need of special feeding, Saar’s mother explained how the village council gave her money to take a donkey cart on the 9 km journey to Kaedi.

Nurse Kaadijetou Yero N’diaye, who assessed Saar, found that she was malnourished and had another condition that was causing vomiting. Not so very long ago, her more apparent symptoms would have been mentioned first, with malnutrition logged as another issue to be dealt with later, if at all.

“We speak about most child deaths being caused by malaria or respiratory diseases, but malnutrition is a significant factor that allows other diseases to become even more deadly,” said UNICEF Representative in Mauritania Christian Skoog. “By ensuring that malnutrition is a priority, we are dramatically reducing the vulnerability of children to serious illnesses, while ensuring other benefits such as improved physical and mental development.”

Malnutrition awareness

Considerable work is under way to ensure that everyone in Mauritania is ‘malnutrition aware’. Volunteers supported by the French Red Cross and the European Union visit villages to spread awareness and distribute dry rations, which are bagged and ready for children under treatment at home.

Seven organizations are involved in this effort, set up by UNICEF under a plan that works on multiple levels. It is all part of the global ‘REACH’ initiative supported by various UN agencies and partners to reduce child hunger and malnutrition. The initiative is being piloted in Mauritania and Laos.

The initiative’s dual pillars: to ensure a coordinated approach by all actors and to look at nutrition in the broader sense – analyzing both underlying causes and wider consequences of poor nutrition, and promoting both prevention and treatment.

Mobile teams and training

In his office at Kaedi Hospital, Ibrahim Bar has figures showing how many children in the district are being treated each month. According to his records, a severely malnourished baby was placed in a special treatment unit in May; 33 other acutely malnourished children came into clinics during the same month.

Two years ago, such figures were simply unavailable.

Now there are also mobile teams going into rural areas, a programme for training health personnel and at least two campaigns a year for treating difficult-to-reach malnourished children. 

National Protocol sets ground rules

The malnutrition screening and treatment approaches now being used here were laid out in a National Protocol published in March 2007 and adopted by the government. Developed with technical support from UNICEF and the World Health Organization, this document was groundbreaking in a country more than 10 per cent of children are severely underweight and tens of thousands suffer from acute malnutrition.

The protocol sets very specific standards. Mr. N’diaye, the nurse at Kaedi, was clear when asked how long baby Saar would need to spend at the hospital. Because she was sick, he explained, “the protocol” stated that she would have to stay for at least two weeks.

Saar’s mother received accommodations to remain at the hospital for as long as her baby was ill. She was given some soap and a blanket, and would get two meals per day during the duration of her stay.

The mother was now comforted. “Saar is saved” she said, smiling.


 

 

New enhanced search