马里

在马里,对因冲突而无家可归的儿童开展地雷风险教育

瑞秋.沃顿报道

马里塞瓦尔(SÉVARÉ),2012年9月28日 —— 孩子们奔跑着玩耍着,身后扬起阵阵灰尘。母亲们搅拌着户外火焰上锅里的食物。年长者在临时庇护所的阴凉下休息。这里有家的感觉。超过400人被迫逃离马里北部的冲突,来到这个临时营地。

2012年9月28日:联合国儿童基金会记者瑞秋.沃顿报道保护因马里冲突而无家可归的儿童的项目。 在Realplayer中播放

三月份的一场政变导致马里局势动荡,为叛乱集团控制北基达尔(Kidal)、加奥(Gao)和廷巴克图(Timbuktu)区域打开了通路。在马里,这个国内流离失所者的小营地是个例外。逃离战火的40万人中,一半以上穿过国界,来到了更大的难民营。留在马里的大部分人都寄住在国内各地的亲戚或朋友家里。

满足基本需求

塞瓦尔的这个营地由政府管理、当地和国际援助组织(包括联合国儿童基金会)支持。到目前为止,捐赠的食品、帐篷、毯子和医疗服务一直是足够的。联合国儿童基金会提供厕所,监测水和环境卫生,这在面临霍乱威胁的时候,是至关重要的。

营地干净清洁、管理有序,基本需求都得到了满足。

战争遗留爆炸物 —— 潜在威胁

就目前而言,这里的儿童是安全的。然而,战争往往会留下危险的痕迹。如果他们回到北部的家园,儿童就将面临战争遗留爆炸物的危险。截至今年6月,19名男童和两名女童已经因2012年的战争遗留爆炸物受伤。四名儿童因此失去生命。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mali/2012
法蒂玛.玛宜佳和她的孩子们。他们一家因冲突而无家可归,目前住在马里塞瓦尔的一个营地。该营地由政府管理、当地和国际援助组织(包括联合国儿童基金会)支持。

联合国儿童基金会马里地雷风险教育专家塞巴斯蒂安.卡萨克(Sebastian Kasack)表示,“出现这种冒险行为,是因为他们根本不知道这些东西是危险的。他们开始玩弄这些东西,偶然情况下,也许还会激活、碰撞或踩到某些设备,导致隐藏的战争遗留物爆炸。”

将提高意识作为重点

对大多数马里人而言,危险是最近才出现的,他们对此还不熟悉。意识对挽救生命至关重要。出于这个原因,联合国儿童基金会举行了一场大规模的地雷风险教育讲习,培训合作伙伴组织,教他们如何为儿童开展提高意识的讲习班。我们的目标是让国内流离失所的儿童以及那些生活在北部冲突地区的人们知道如何保持安全,以及如何保护自己和家庭成员。

联合国儿童基金会就在塞瓦尔市政厅下面的道路上为来自当地非政府组织的三名人道主义援助工作者举办了一场地雷风险教育讲习。他们具有举办其他儿童问题意识讲习班的经验,此次被挑选出来,辅助地雷和未爆弹药危险的意识讲习班。他们说的是北部最通用的语言。

联合国儿童基金会及辅助人员探访塞瓦尔营地。所有儿童,不分年龄和大小,都聚集到了会议厅。他们仍然处在玩耍的兴奋心情,大声地吵闹着。然而,一旦讲习开始,所有的眼睛和耳朵就都聚集到了课堂上。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Mali/2012
一名援助工作者向住在塞瓦尔营地的儿童展示传单,向他们解释未爆炸武器的危害。目前,这里的儿童是安全的。然而,在他们回到冲突地区的家园之前,提高意识是极其重要的。

现场有传单,上面画着简单的图像 —— 未爆弹药和用骷髅头和交叉腿骨描述的可能导致伤害、死亡的风险。儿童与辅助人员互动,提出并回答各种问题。从而理解相关信息。他们学习简单的规则。如果看到可疑物,就应该停下来、后退、回家告诉父母 —— 联系当地的负责部门。

意识讲习班结束后,营地里一阵骚动。儿童将传单带回了帐篷,并立即与父母讨论。一个小男孩向母亲重复着他学到的内容。然后她又与另一名母亲分享。意识讲习班已经取得了很大成功。

超越意识讲习班

这些挽救生命的信息需要传达给所有面临危险的儿童和家庭,包括住在北部的儿童和家庭。因此,该项目的一个核心组成部分是为当前在那里运营的组织提供培训。联合国儿童基金会的项目将包括用五种语言传达广播信息,最终挨家挨户地将这些信息传达给国内流离失所者。

安全是所有儿童的权利,而在马里,提高儿童对战争遗留爆炸物的意识就是帮助实现这种权利的方式之一。


 

 
搜索

Mali

In Mali, mine risk education targets children displaced by conflict

By Rachel Warden

SÉVARÉ, Mali, 28 September 2012 – Children run and play, kicking up dust behind them. Mothers stir pots over open flames. Elders rest in the shade of makeshift tarps. There is a feeling of home here, at this campsite housing more than 400 people forced to flee conflict in the north of Mali.

28 September 2012: UNICEF correspondent Rachel Warden reports on a programme to protect children displaced by violence in Mali.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

A coup in March destabilized Mali and opened the way for rebel groups to gain control of the northern Kidal, Gao and Timbuktu regions. The small camp for internally displaced persons is exceptional, in Mali. More than half of the 400,000 people who fled the fighting crossed national borders to large refugee camps. The majority of those who remain within Mali are living with relatives or friends throughout the country.

Basic needs met

The camp in Sévaré is run by the government and supported by local and international aid organizations, including UNICEF. Thus far, donations of food, tents, blankets and health care have been ample. UNICEF has provided latrines and is monitoring water and sanitation, which is crucial at this time when cholera is a threat.

The camp is clean and well managed, and basic needs are being met.

Explosive remnants of war a looming threat

For now, the children are safe. However, fighting often leaves a dangerous trail. If and when their families return to the north, the children will be at risk of the dangers from remnants of war. As of June, 19 boys and two girls had been injured by explosive remnants of war in 2012.  Four children had lost their lives.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Mali/2012
Fadima Maïga with her children. The family is displaced by conflict and is living in a camp in Sévaré, Mali. Run by the government, the camp is supported by local and international aid organizations including UNICEF.

According to UNICEF Mali Mine Risk Education Specialist Sebastian Kasack, “The risk-taking behaviour is that they basically don’t know that these things are dangerous. They start playing with it, or they may actually activate it by mere chance, hitting a device, stepping over something that’s hidden and making it explode.”

Raising awareness a priority

These dangers are recent and unfamiliar to most Malians. Awareness is crucial in the effort to save lives. For this reason, UNICEF is staging a large-scale response by holding mine risk education workshops to train partner organizations in how to conduct awareness sessions for children. The goal is for internally displaced children, as well as those living in conflict areas of the north, to know how to stay safe and how to protect themselves and their family members.

Just down the road at the Sévaré town hall, UNICEF holds a mine risk education workshop for three humanitarian aid workers from a local non-governmental organization. They have been selected to facilitate awareness sessions on the dangers of landmines and unexploded ordnance based on their experience holding awareness sessions on other children’s issues. They speak the languages most common in the north.

UNICEF and the facilitators visit the Sévaré camp. Children of all ages and sizes flock to the meeting hall. They are still in play mode, chattering loudly. But, once the session starts, all eyes and ears are on the presentation.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Mali/2012
And aid worker shows a leaflet that explains the dangers of unexploded ordnance to children living in the camp in Sévaré. For now, the children are safe. However, awareness-raising is critical before they return to their homes in the conflict area.

There is a leaflet that uses simple images – examples of unexploded ordnance, injuries that can result and the risk of death, depicted by a skull and crossbones. The children engage with the facilitators, answering and asking questions. The children get the message. They learn simple rules. If they see something suspicious they should stop, retreat, go home and tell their parents – who should contact local authorities.

After the awareness session, there is a buzz in the camp. Children take the leaflets back to their tents and immediately share them with their parents. A small boy repeats what he has learned to his mother. She shares it with another mother. The awareness session has been a great success.

Beyond the awareness sessions

These life-saving messages need to reach all children and families at risk, including those still living in the north. So, a key component of the programme is training organizations currently operating there. UNICEF’s campaign will involve transmitting radio messages in five languages and eventually going door to door to reach families hosting internally displaced persons.

Safety is a right for all children, and, in Mali, raising their awareness about explosive remnants of war is one way to help achieve it.


 

 

New enhanced search