马里

马里儿童与在国际空间站执行任务的宇航员进行太空对话

UNICEF Photo: Mali, space, Goodwill Ambassador and Belgian astronaut Frank De Winne
© ESA/NASA
俄罗斯宇航员罗马.罗曼科(左)和联合国儿童基金会亲善大使、欧洲航天局宇航员弗兰克.德.卫勒正在国际空间站恒星号服务舱的窗口附近使用通信系统与马里的孩子通话。他们都是有20余次太空飞行经验的工程师。

马里加奥村,2009年10月23日 – 在距离马里首都巴马科1200公里的加奥村,孩子们获得了一次与正在太空执行任务的宇航员、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使弗兰克.德.卫勒(Frank De Winne)实时对话的宝贵机会。

 点击此处观看视频

 点击此处收听广播

联合国儿童基金会与马里保健和环卫区域办事处合作,组织了这次与正在国际空间站指挥的比利时宇航员、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使德.卫勒进行无线通话的活动。

孩子们的问题

通过地面与空间站之间的双向实时无线电通讯联系,德.卫勒回答了加奥村儿童提出的问题。

孩子们抓住这次特殊的机会提出问题,他们最想了解的就是空间站的生活条件问题。

一名儿童问道:“你们怎么洗澡?有厕所吗?”

UNICEF Photo: Mali, space station, Goodwill Ambassador and Belgian astronaut Frank De Winne
© UNICEF Mali/2009/Pannecoucke
来自马里北部农业城市加奥的15岁女孩艾萨塔.麦加正在与联合国儿童基金会亲善大使、国际空间站的指挥官弗兰克.德.卫勒通话。她问:“你们怎么洗澡?有厕所吗?”

德.卫勒先生回答说:“我们用湿布擦洗身体,国际空间站的供水非常有限。我们每人每天可用大约三升水,其中两升半用来饮用,另半升用来洗漱。当然,我们这里有设施非常齐全干净的厕所。”

另一名儿童问:“你们怎么洗衣服呢?提问完毕”

德.卫勒先生回答说:“我们在这里不洗碗,也不洗衣服。我们拿一只小勺和一小块布来吃东西。吃完之后,就用布擦擦勺子,餐具只是一把小勺而矣。关于洗衣服的问题,我们只有几件衣服。基本上,一件T恤要穿两个星期。T恤脏了就扔掉。回答完毕。”

保持联系

德.卫勒对加奥和这所学校特别熟悉,他去空间站执行任务之前,曾到马里了解沙漠地区的卫生和供水情况。

马里保健和环卫事务区域负责人哈马东.迪科(Hamadoun Dicko)说:“德.卫勒先生了解了当地的清洁水供应问题,他非常喜爱加奥的孩子们。回到欧洲以后,他希望与这里的儿童继续保持联系。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月15日:联合国儿童基金会与马里保健和环卫区域办事处合作,帮助马里的孩子与正在国际空间站指挥的比利时宇航员、联合国儿童基金会亲善大使德.卫勒进行太空对话。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

音频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使、宇航员弗兰克.德.卫勒在国际空间站与马里孩子对话的实时录音。
 音频 播放

搜索

Mali

UNICEF in Space: Astronaut and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Frank de Winne talks to school children

UNICEF Image: Mali, space, Goodwill Ambassador and Belgian astronaut Frank De Winne
© ESA/NASA
Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko (left) and European Space Agency astronaut and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Frank De Winne, both Expedition 20 flight engineers, use communication systems near a window in the Zvezda Service Module of the International Space Station.

GAO VILLAGE, Mali, 23 October 2009 – In the village of Gao, some 1200 km away from Mali’s capital city of Bamako, local children were given the special chance to speak to UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador and Belgian astronaut Frank De Winne – live from space.

VIDEO: Watch now

AUDIO: Listen now

UNICEF, together with Mali’s Regional Office for Health and Sanitation, organized a radio transmission with Mr. De Winne, who is currently commanding aboard the International Space Station (ISS).

Answering children’s questions

Mr. De Winne answered questions from the children of Gao through a live two-way radio feed from the space station.

Children took the occasion to ask their questions, and were at first very eager to learn about the conditions of living in the station.

One child asked: “How do you wash? Are there latrines?  Over.”

UNICEF Image: Mali, space station, Goodwill Ambassador and Belgian astronaut Frank De Winne
© UNICEF Mali/2009/Pannecoucke
Aissata Maïga, 15, from the rural city of Gao in Northern Mali, communicates with UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Frank De Winne, the commander of the International Space Station.

“Here, we wash with a damp cloth," Mr. De Winne replied. "We have very little water here on the international spaceship station.  We have roughly three litres of water per person, per day – two-and-a-half litres of water to drink and half a litre a month that we use to wash and for hygiene.  And, of course, we have latrines that are very well equipped and very clean.”

Another child asked: “How do you do your laundry? Over.”

“Here we don’t wash the dishes, nor do we do laundry," Mr. De Winne explained. "We eat with small spoons and a small cloth.  After eating, we wash our spoon with the cloth.  But it’s just a small spoon.  As for laundry, we have very few clothes.  We have basically one t-shirt every two weeks, and when that t-shirt is dirty, we throw it out. Over.”

A problem of access

Mr. De Winne was familiar with the village of Gao and the school the children he spoke to are from. He came to Mali before his mission in space to inquire about hygiene and access to water in the desert areas.

“He saw the problems of access to clean water and he [met with] children in Gao. When he came back to Europe, he wanted to find a way to keep the link with them,” said Regional Head of the Department of Health and Sanitation, Hamadoun Dicko.


 

 

Video

October 15 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Natacha Ikoli reports on the opportunity Malian children had to speak with the commander of the International Space Station and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, Frank De Winne.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Audio

Astronaut and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Frank de Winne answers questions from Malian school children from aboard the International Space Station
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search