马尔代夫

教师资源中心给每个马尔代夫孩子接受素质教育的机会

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Maldives/2007/Taylor
马尔代夫全部20个环礁行政区被宽带网连接,这使全国的学生和教师可以在网络上获取信息和交流经验。

李坤报道

2007年12月,马尔代夫腊环礁行政区米都。自从岛上建立了教师资源中心,9岁的阿利石.拉希德已经感到学习的课程比以前有意思多了。

作为“比以前建设得更好” 海啸恢复工作的成果,儿童友好主动学习 — 这种学习方法得到了教师资源中心的支持 — 已经扩展到了全国的所有学前班和107所小学。

对于阿利石和他的同学来说,使用互动式“电子白板”是最有意思的了。在一堂课上,教师请学生到白板前解乘法题。当轮到阿利石的时候,他把手放在一个数字上,在板的另一边滑动,直到显示相等。然后按一个红色的按钮来检查答案。

如果答案正确,一个小丑就会蹦到屏幕上,为孩子们喝彩。如果答案错误。一只小熊就会出现在屏幕上,耸着肩说:“噢孩子,请再试一次!”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Maldives/2007/Taylor
来自岛屿社区的孩子们,用“电子白板”在马尔代夫各地建立起来的20个教师资源中心中的其中一个上课。

互动式和参与式学习

学生们还可以通过教师资源中心的网络摄像头与不同岛屿的孩子们互动。用电子白板作为投影屏幕,孩子们可以看到彼此,还可以讨论学校,家庭和社区等他们感兴趣的话题。

至今,马尔代夫已经建立了20个教师资源中心。它们是由培训室,计算机实验室组成的,每个环礁行政区的重要位置都建有重点学校。教师资源中心的特别标志 — 诸如电子白板和宽带网 — 对教师和学生来说,学与教比以前更具有互动性和参与性。

对于一个人口分布在200个岛屿上,而且师资培训费用的近80%都是用于交通运输等费用支出的国家,这是很重要的。在电信和信息技术的支持下,教师资源中心极大地缓解了大量的后勤负担,将服务和资源分配给最偏远社区的教师和学生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Maldives/2007/Taylor
一个男孩在腊环礁行政区米都教师资源中心培训实验室用“电子白板”解数学题。

更多的合格的教师

“我们面临的挑战之一是在儿童友好主动学习和教学方法方面给教师提供在职培训。”联合国儿童基金会教育专家阿米娜.默罕默德.迪迪说:“保持过去三年取得的成果的关键是用新的方法来培训更多的教师。”

“所以,教育部和联合国儿童基金会提出的战略规划是建立教师资源中心。”迪迪女士补充道。

“随着教师资源中心的发展,另外19个环礁行政区现在已与我们连接上,” 法府环礁行政区尼蓝湖岛教师资源中心协调员伊斯梅尔.纳西尔解释道。“有一些房间现在用来交流教师的好经验。展望未来,通过这些教师资源中心的发展,我们的教师将会得到培训 — 特别是儿童友好的方法 — 我们的孩子就一定会有更多的合格的教师。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年12月:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.内尔斯就海啸后联合国儿童基金会如何改进马尔代夫的儿童教育进行报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Maldives

Teacher Resource Centres give every Maldivian child a chance for quality education

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Maldives/2007/Taylor
All of the Maldives’ 20 atolls are now being connected through broadband Internet, enabling students and teachers across the nation to access information and share experiences online.

By Kun Li

RAA MEEDHOO, Maldives, December 2007 – Since the creation of the Teacher Resource Centre (TRC) on his island, Areesh Rasheed, 9, has found classes much more interesting than ever before.

As a result of the ‘building back better’ tsunami recovery effort, child-friendly active learning – the very approach that is supported by the TRCs – has been scaled up to all registered pre-schools and 107 primary schools across the country.

For Areesh and his classmates, using an interactive electronic ‘smart board’ is the best part. In one class, students are invited by the teacher to come up to the board and solve a multiplication problem. When it is Areesh’s turn, he places his hand over a number and glides it across the board until it reaches the equal sign. He then touches a red button to check his answer.

If the answer is correct, a clown will jump out on the screen, cheering for the children. If the answer is incorrect, a bear will appear, shrug and say, “Oh boy, please try again!”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Maldives/2007/Taylor
Students from an island community use a ‘smart board’ for their classes at 1 of 20 Teacher Resource Centres set up throughout the Maldives.

Interactive and participatory learning
The students can also interact with other children on different islands through the TRC’s webcam. Using the smart board as a projection screen, the children can see each other and discuss interesting topics about their schools, families and communities.

To date, 20 TRCs have been set up throughout the Maldives. They consist of a training room and a computer lab, and are strategically placed in a key school in every atoll. The special features of TRCs – such as the smart boards and broadband Internet – have made learning and teaching more interactive and participatory than ever for both teachers and students.

That is important in a nation where the population is dispersed across 200 islands, and where nearly 80 per cent of teacher-training costs are transport-related. With the help of telecommunications and information technology, TRCs greatly alleviate the massive logistical problems, decentralizing services and resources to reach teachers and students in the most remote communities.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Maldives/2007/Taylor
A boy solving a math problem on the ‘smart board’ at the TRC training lab in Meedhoo, Raa Atoll.

More qualified teachers
“One of the challenges we faced was to provide in-service training on child-friendly active learning and teaching methodology to teachers,” says UNICEF Education Specialist Ameena Mohamed Didi. “Getting more teachers trained in the new methods is key to sustain the achievements made during the past three years.

“So the strategy that the Ministry of Education and UNICEF came up with was to establish Teacher Resource Centres,” adds Ms. Didi.

“With the development of the TRC, all the other 19 atolls are now connected to us, explains Ismail Naseer, TRC Coordinator on Nilandhoo island, Faafu Atoll. “There is a lot of room now for sharing good practices amongst teachers. And if we look at the future, through these developed TRCs, our teachers will be trained – especially in the child-friendly methodology – and as a result we will have more qualified teachers for our children.”


 

 

Video

December 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on how UNICEF is improving children’s education after the tsunami in the Maldives.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search