马来西亚

曼联传奇球星布莱恩.罗布森访问吉隆坡处于危机中的青少年

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
曼联足球明星布莱恩.罗布森在访问马来西亚吉隆坡秋杰区的“吉隆坡休闲中心”时,向当地为处于危机中的青少年开辟的安全运动场所竖起了大拇指。图右为曼联基金会首席执行官约翰.希尔斯。

因陀罗.库玛瑞.耐德査姆报道

马来西亚吉隆坡,2011年4月12日 — 曼联传奇球星布莱恩.罗布森最近在访问“吉隆坡休闲中心”(位于吉隆坡秋杰区市中心区的一个青少年中心)期间,强调了为处于弱势以及危机中的青少年提供安全的娱乐场所的重要性。

罗布森先生说:“运动对帮助那些受到过排斥、处于弱势位置的青少年应付并克服生活中遇到的挑战,可以起到十分重要的作用。通过运动、娱乐和玩耍,这些青少年能够学会如何判断事务;并用在找寻问题的解决方案时想得更透彻。”

这位前曼联偶像级队长(被其球迷称为“神奇队长”)强调了必须要为处于弱势的青少年提供出路,而不是让他们流浪街头、遭受暴力、抢劫以及会导致感染艾滋病的其他行为。

罗布森先生、曼联基金会首席执行官约翰.希尔斯和他的前俱乐部队友安迪.科尔一起到马来西亚,参加为期两天的访问,此行的目的是为了参加曼联基金会和联合国儿童基金会传奇人物慈善晚宴。该盛会由马来西亚电信公司协办,旨在筹集资金用于支持吉隆坡休闲中心计划。

慈善拍卖所得将用于为中心的青少年建立安全的场所,作为年轻人收入来源的一个基础,另外还将用于支持将青少年锻炼成同辈中佼佼者的计划。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
“吉隆坡休闲中心”青少年计划协调员费尔杜斯(Firdaus - 图右)向曼联传奇球星布莱恩.罗布森(图中)和曼联基金会首席执行官约翰.希尔斯简要介绍了马来西亚吉隆坡秋杰区的青少年缺乏安全的娱乐场所的情况。

缺乏安全场所

19岁的哈弗兹 (Hafiz)* 在流浪街头的时候染上了毒瘾,在他转变的过程中,运动发挥了至关重要的作用。2010年底,吉隆坡休闲中心的工作人员解救了哈弗兹。之后,他被带回到这个中心,工作人员为其提供咨询辅导让他能够重获新生。

哈弗兹说:“吉隆坡休闲中心的工作人员安排我参加一个运动计划,前往沙亚兰参加训练。起初情况十分艰难,但体育运动帮助我集中注意力,而不是总想着毒品。体育训练帮助我走出困境,帮助我重新认识自我。现在,我离开毒品已经三个月了,为了我自己也为了中心那些相信我的工作人员,我有决心远离毒品。”

17岁的琳达与哈弗兹有些相似,她非常热衷体育运动(尤其是室内足球)。她说:“我喜欢玩室内足球,因为这项运动向女孩比男孩柔弱的传统看法发出了挑战。我学到了纪律和团队合作,最为重要的是,我虽然是一名女孩,但是我感到非常自信。”

哈弗兹和琳达都对青少年没有安全的运动场所而感到失望。琳达说:“秋杰区真的很少有地方可供我们与朋友们一起踢室内足球。在街上踢球不安全。我们大多数人都没有钱去租室内足球场来进行训练和踢球。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
“吉隆坡休闲中心”17 岁的正式队员琳达(Linda) 与曼联基金会首席执行官约翰.希尔斯(图左)以及传奇球星布莱恩.罗布森讨论室内足球技巧。

被忽视的群体

联合国儿童基金会驻马来西亚代表维克托.卡鲁南 (Victor Karunan) 说:“被漠视的和‘隐藏起来’的青少年正在被人们忽视 - 例如参与吸毒和性工作这样违法行为的青少年,或者未进行合法出生登记的青少年)。当这些青少年过着充满犯罪、暴力、毒品和 艾滋病的流浪生活时,寻求一个安全场与同龄人一起学习、玩耍并拥有积极的生活方式对他们来说变得几乎不可能。”

根据马来西亚 2010 年向联合国大会艾滋病特别会议提交的报告,自从 1986 年报告了第一例青少年艾滋病毒检测呈阳性以来,马来西亚已有大约 2,000 名青少年艾滋病毒检测呈阳性。去年,最新诊断已感染艾滋病毒的马来西亚人中有四分之一人年龄在13至29 岁之间。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
来自马来西亚吉隆坡“吉隆坡休闲中心”的一名青少年向曼联传奇球星布莱恩.罗布森发起挑战,邀请他来一场Wii足球赛。
使年轻人感染艾滋病毒的因素包括性暴力、暴力、性工作、人口贩卖以及未成年和无保护措施的性行为。

通过运动使伤口愈合

卡鲁南先生说:“帮助受到过排斥以及处于弱势的青少年摆脱困境犹时未晚,现在就是最应该行动的时候。运动不但是一个极佳的切入点,同时也是一个强劲的工具,能够动员青少年作出积极的行为改变。”

曼联基金会的希尔斯先生补充说:“通过运动,市中心区处于弱势的青少年(例如访问吉隆坡休闲中心以表达他们的感想的那些青少年)建立起了自尊和自信,并且取得成年人的信赖。对于曾经受害的青少年来说,这个机会变得尤为珍贵,因为运动能够治愈心灵的创伤。”

* 为了保护本报告中提及的青少年的隐私,使用了化名。


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Malaysia

Manchester United legend Bryan Robson visits at-risk adolescents in Kuala Lumpur

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
Manchester United football star Bryan Robson gives the thumbs up to safe spaces for vulnerable teens to play sports during a visit to the 'KL Krash Pad' in the Chow Kit neighbourhood of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Manchester United Foundation Chief Executive John Shiels is at right.

By Indra Kumari Nadchatram

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia, 12 April 2011 – Manchester United football legend Bryan Robson stressed the importance of safe recreational spaces for vulnerable and at-risk adolescents during his recent visit to the ‘KL Krash Pad’ – a teen and youth centre located in the inner-city Chow Kit neighbourhood of Kuala Lumpur.

“Sport can play an important role in helping marginalized and vulnerable adolescents cope with and overcome the challenges in their lives,” said Mr. Robson. “Through sport, recreation and play, these adolescents can learn to exercise judgment and think critically while finding solutions to their problems.”

The iconic former Manchester United captain – known as ‘Captain Marvel’ to his fans – stressed the need to provide vulnerable teens with an alternative to life on the streets, violence, exploitation and behaviour that can lead to HIV.

Mr. Robson, Manchester United Foundation Chief Executive John Shiels and former club mate Andy Cole were on a two-day visit to Malaysia for the Manchester United Foundation and UNICEF Legends Charity Dinner. Held in association with Telekom Malaysia Berhad, the event raised funds to support the KL Krash Pad programmes.

Proceeds from the charity auction will be used to create a safe space for the centre’s teens as well as an income-generation initiative for young people, and a programme to develop adolescents as strong peer leaders.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
'KL Krash Pad' Youth Programme Coordinator Firdaus (right) briefs Manchester United football legend Bryan Robson (centre) and Manchester United Foundation Chief Executive John Shiels about the lack of safe recreational opportunities for teens in the Chow Kit neighbourhood of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Lack of safe spaces

Sport was critical in helping Hafiz*, 19, kick a drug addiction he developed while living on the streets. Rescued by KL Krash Pad outreach workers in late 2010, Hafiz was brought to the centre and provided with counselling and the opportunity to rebuild his life.

“The KL Krash Pad staff helped get me into a sport programme, organizing transportation for me to go for training in Shah Alam,” he said. “It was difficult at first, but playing sports helped me focus on something besides drugs. The sport trainings are helping me work out my frustrations, helping me respect my body. I am off drugs for three months now and I am determined to make it last, for myself and the staff of the Pad, who believe in me.”

Like Hafiz, Linda, 17, is an avid champion of sports – particularly indoor football. “I love playing futsal because it challenges the stereotype that girls are weaker than boys. I learn discipline, teamwork and, most importantly, to feel confident about being a girl,” she said.

Both Hafiz and Linda lamented the lack of safe spaces for teens and young people to play sport. “There is really nowhere in Chow Kit where we can play sport like futsal with our friends. It’s not safe to play on the streets. Many of us cannot afford to rent futsal courts to train and play,” said Linda.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
'KL Krash Pad' regular Linda, 17, discusses indoor football tips with Manchester United Foundation Chief Executive John Shiels (left) and football legend Bryan Robson.

Falling through the net

“Invisible and ‘hidden’ adolescents, in particular, are being neglected, such as those engaged in illegal behaviour like drug use and sex work or those without legal status or birth registration,” said UNICEF Deputy Representative in Malaysia Victor Karunan. “Accessing safe spaces to connect with peers, to learn, play and adopt positive lifestyles becomes almost impossible when they live on streets shadowed with crime, violence, drug abuse and HIV.”

According to Malaysia’s 2010 report to the United Nations General Assembly Special Session on HIV and AIDS, some 2,000 adolescents in Malaysia have tested HIV-positive since the first reported case in 1986. Last year, one in four Malaysians newly diagnosed with HIV were between the ages of 13 and 29.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Nadchatram
A teen from 'KL Krash Pad' in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia challenges Manchester United legend Bryan Robson to a Wii football match.
The problems underlying HIV infection in young people include sexual and physical violence, sex work and human trafficking, as well as underage and unprotected sex.

Healing scars with sport

“It is never too late to help marginalized and vulnerable adolescents escape their difficult and challenging childhood. The time is now,” said Mr. Karunan. “Sport is both an excellent entry point and a powerful tool to mobilize adolescents for positive behaviour change.”

Added Mr. Shiels of the Manchester United Foundation: “Through sport, vulnerable inner-city teens such as those who visit the KL Krash Pad get to express their feelings, build their self-esteem and confidence and develop trust in adults. For victimized teens, this opportunity becomes even more valuable, as sport can heal emotional scars.”

* The names of adolescents mentioned in this story have been changed to protect their privacy.


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search