马来西亚

马来西亚:当地儿童委员会提倡参与并赋予青少年权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011
左起:州代表纳西尔.哈西姆,八打灵再也市儿童委员会(PJCC)新成员艾什金.艾德拉,联合国儿童基金会驻马来西亚代表汉斯.奥尔森,八打灵再也市市长穆罕默德.罗斯兰.萨基曼,八打灵再也市儿童委员会主席努尔.艾玛丽娜.比达利及评议员韦斯利.乔恩.穆朗和穆罕德.西斯雅姆丁.侯赛因。

马来西亚八打灵再也市,2011年1月31日 – 住在马来西亚首都吉隆坡附近的八打灵再也市的儿童现在也能作为代表参与市议会了。八打灵再也市儿童委员会(PJCC)于1月15日成立,使来自各社区的儿童能够发表自己的意见并参与当地发展活动。

这是马来西亚第一个儿童委员会,成员有24名年龄在14到18岁的青少年,每人代表该市一个指定区域。八打灵再也市儿童委员会将作为市议会和该市约24万儿童和青少年交流的纽带和桥梁。

联合国儿童基金会驻马来西亚代表、驻文莱特别代表汉斯.奥尔森(Hans Olsen)说:“我希望更多的地方议会能让儿童积极参与到社区发展活动中来,这将对儿童和社会发展都大有裨益。”

为了支持该市赋予儿童权利的行动,联合国儿童基金会投资近两万美金,协助在八打灵再也市社区图书馆建立儿童委员会资源中心。该中心将成为儿童委员会及其活动的基地。儿基会所贡献的资金还将用于图书馆购买儿童图书和有关儿童权利的学习辅助用品。

儿童生活的安全场所

儿童议员的任期为两年,他们要组织建立工作小组,并建议全市、街区和学校开展一定的活动,响应市议会提倡在2011年底前将八打灵再也市建设成“儿童友好城市”的号召。为了方便儿童议员的工作,市议会将支持他们开展常规会议并为其提供会议场所等便利设施。

2009年在一次特别组织的年论坛中选出60名儿童作为八打灵再也市儿童委员会的议员候选人。这些候选人参加有关领导能力和增强自我能力的各种研讨会,并与联合国儿童基金会及雪兰莪社区支援网络和马来西亚儿童热线等非政府机构共同参与会议。

八打灵再也市儿童委员会主席——17岁的努尔.艾玛丽娜.比达利(Nur Emalina Bidari)说:“委员会的建立是作为八打灵再也市儿童和市议会及其它政府机关合作的渠道和桥梁,使八打灵再也市为儿童生活提供更有利、安全和友好的环境。”



 

 

青年之声

搜索

Malaysia

In Malaysia, a local child council empowers young people through participation

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011
From left: State representative Nasir Hashim, newly appointed Petaling Jaya Child Council (PJCC) member Aishikin Aidura, UNICEF Representative in Malaysia Hans Olsen, Petaling Jaya Mayor Mohamad Roslan Sakiman, PJCC President Nur Emalina Bidari and councillors Wesley Jon Murang and Muhd Hisyammuddin Hosaini.

PETALING JAYA, Malaysia, 31 January 2011 – Children living in Petaling Jaya, near Malaysia's capital, Kuala Lumpur, are now represented in the City Council. The Petaling Jaya Child Council (PJCC) was launched on 15 January, enabling children from the community to voice their opinions and participate in local development.

A first in Malaysia, the council consists of 24 adolescent girls and boys from 14 to 18 years of age, each of whom represents a designated zone in the city. PJCC will serve as a link and a mediator between the City Council and Petaling Jaya’s population of some 240,000 children and young people.

“I hope more local councils will get children actively involved in community development, as it will benefit both the children and the community,” said UNICEF Representative in Malaysia and Special Representative to Brunei Darussalam Hans Olsen.

In support of the city’s initiative to empower its children, UNICEF has contributed nearly $20,000 to help set up a PJCC Child Resource Centre in the Petaling Jaya Community Library. The centre will be the base for the council and its activities. The funds will also be used to purchase children's books and learning aids on child rights at the library.

A safer place for children

The child councillors, who will serve two-year terms, are required to form a working group and propose activities to be implemented at the school, neighbourhood and citywide levels – in line with the City Council’s plan to declare Petaling Jaya a ‘child-friendly city’ by the end of 2011. To facilitate the councillors’ work, the City Council will give them access to its regular board meetings and its facilities, including meeting rooms.

Efforts to find suitable PJCC candidates began in 2009 with the selection of 60 children during a specially organized youth forum. The candidates participated in various workshops on leadership skills and self-empowerment, as well as attending meetings with UNICEF and non-governmental agencies such as the Selangor Community Support Network and Childline Malaysia.

“The group was set up to be a channel for children in Petaling Jaya to work with the City Council and other authorities,” said PJCC President Nur Emalina Bidari, 17, “to make Petaling Jaya a conducive, safer and liveable place for children.”


 

 

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search