马来西亚

教育为马来西亚偏远地区的孩子带来希望

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Nadchatram
在马来西亚教育部和联合国儿童基金会支持的课外阅读项目中,11岁的普南族儿童安迪(右) 正在与同学们利用电脑学习英文。

史蒂夫.内托顿报道

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会推出一系列文章,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

马来西亚龙鲁腾村 - 梅里亚姆.安雅出生在马来西亚婆罗洲热带雨林的深处。她是沙捞越州的游牧土著民族普南族的后裔,梅里亚姆与家人的大部分时间在丛林中度过,她的童年生活一直都是居无定所。

 点击此处观看视频

然而,今天沙捞越的一万名普南人几乎都放弃了他们祖先传下来的游牧生活方式,在城镇或乡村定居了下来。

龙鲁腾村坐落在绵延起伏的远古森林之巅,梅里亚姆和她的丈夫在这个小村庄抚养着他们的四个孩子。从这里乘船或坐汽车到最近的大城市美里(Miri)需要好几个小时。

对30多岁的梅里亚姆来说,这是她生平第一次上学。

接触原住民

尽管马来西亚已经成功地在全国范围内提高了学校的出勤率和教学质量,但偏远农村地区的入学率还是低于平均水平,儿童的教育机会往往让位于赚钱谋生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Nadchatram
三十多岁的梅里亚姆.安雅(左)是两个孩子的母亲。她参加了为马来西亚土著儿童的家长举办的成人识字班,这是她生平第一次上学。

梅里亚姆参加了一个名为“KEDAP”的成人扫盲班。 这个项目是马来西亚教育部为边远的奥朗阿斯里土著居民或马来西亚的“原住民”举办的试点项目。

KEDAP项目希望通过为家长提供基础教育,来帮助他们认识到学校教育对他们的孩子的重要意义。

梅里亚姆说:“现在我会字母了,我可以读、写,而且能数到10乃至20。我现在可以为孩子们的作业帮上一点忙。”

需要教育

龙鲁腾村小学所面临的挑战与那些位于交通便利地区的学校不同。这里的一些学生要步行几小时来学校上课。不过,龙鲁腾村对成人识字班的需求还很大,有许多家长排在等候名单上。

这个项目的成功是长期努力的结果。联合国儿童基金会一直致力于支持提高农村地区的入学率和教育成绩,尤其关注马来西亚半岛的奥朗阿斯里儿童和马来西亚婆罗洲的沙巴和沙捞越偏远地区的土著儿童的情况。

这项倡议遵循了《儿童权利公约》的原则。公约的第29条规定,每个儿童均享有接受教育的权利,这有助于培养他或她的个性、才智并发挥其最大的潜能。条约的第30条倡导保护少数民族和土著儿童的权利——包括学习和实践他们自己的文化、语言和宗教信仰的权利。

“我希望他们成功”

龙鲁腾村小学校长爱德华.努里.安宫自豪地说,学校的出勤率几乎是100%。根据政府鼓励为普南儿童提供教育机会的奖励方案,学校为学生提供义务教育,其中包括提供免费的课本和校服。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Nadchatram
梅里亚姆在成人教育项目中学到了识字技巧,她可以在11岁的安迪和9岁的辛迪做家庭作业时帮一些忙了。

安宫校长介绍他讲给学生的信息时说:“你只能通过教育来改变生活。因为有了良好的教育,你可以找到一个好工作;有了好的工作,你就可以过上更好的生活。”

随着越来越多的家长像梅里亚姆一样了解到教育的重要性,将会有更多的儿童去上学,开发他们的潜能。

梅里亚姆说:“我希望我的孩子们心怀理想,我期待着看到他们的成功。也许我的女儿能当上一名护士,我的儿子能成为一名教师……那我就太高兴了。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者史蒂夫.内托顿报道,联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴帮助马来西亚偏远地区的土著儿童获得受教育的机会。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Malaysia

Education brings promise to Malaysia’s remote interior

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Nadchatram
Penan mother Meriam Anyie's son Andi (right), 11, and his classmates use computers to learn English as part of the Supplementary Reading Programme supported by the Malaysian Ministry of Education and UNICEF.

By Steve Nettleton

In the run-up to 20 November 2009, the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about this landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – including progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

LONG LUTENG, Malaysia, 16 November 2009 – Meriam Anyie was born deep in the rainforest of Malaysian Borneo. As members of the Penan ethnic group, a nomadic indigenous people in the state of Sarawak, she and her family spent most of their life in the jungle, never living in a permanent home throughout her childhood.

VIDEO: Watch now

Today, however, nearly all of the 10,000 Penans in Sarawak have abandoned their ancestral nomadic ways to live in towns and villages.

Ms. Anyie and her husband are raising four children in Long Luteng, a small village situated on rolling hills of ancient forest. They are hours from the nearest major city, Miri, by boat or four-wheel-drive vehicle.

And for the first time in her life, Ms. Anyie, who is in her thirties, is going to school.

Reaching the ‘original people’
While Malaysia has succeeded in raising attendance and the quality of education nationwide, it is still tackling lower-than-average enrolment rates in remote rural areas, where children’s education is generally dismissed in favour of earning money by working. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Nadchatram
Meriam Anyie (left), a mother of two who is in her thirties, is attending school for the first time through an adult literacy programme for parents from indigenous groups in Malaysia.

Ms. Anyie has enrolled in an adult literacy programme called KEDAP. It is a pilot project of the Malaysian Ministry of Education to reach the remote Orang Asli, or ‘original people’, of Malaysia.

By providing a basic education for parents, KEDAP aims to help them understand the value of schooling for their children.

“Now I know the alphabet and I can read, write and count to 10, to 20. Now I can help my children a little bit with their school work,” says Ms. Anyie.

Education in demand
Long Luteng Primary School faces challenges unlike schools in many more accessible areas. Some students must travel hours on foot to attend class. Still, the adult literacy class is in such high demand in Long Luteng that many parents are on a waiting list.

Its success comes on the heels of a long-running effort, supported by UNICEF, to boost enrolment rates and educational achievement in rural areas – particularly among Orang Asli children in Peninsular Malaysia and indigenous children in distant areas of Malaysian Borneo’s Sabah and Sarawak States.

The initiative is in keeping with the principles of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC). Article 29 of the Convention establishes every child’s right to an education that helps to develop his or her personality, talents and abilities to their fullest potential. Article 30 of the CRC protects the rights of minority and indigenous children – including the right to learn about and practice their own culture, language and religion.

‘I want them to be successful'
Principal Edward Nullie Anggun boasts that the Long Luteng school has almost 100 per cent attendance. Under the government’s incentive programme to encourage educational opportunities for Penan children, the school provides its students with free education, including textbooks and school uniforms.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2009/Nadchatram
Now that she has gained literacy skills through adult education, Meriam Anyie can help her children Andi, 11, and Cindy, 9, with their homework.

Mr. Anggun describes his message to students: “You can only change through education, because with a good education you can get a better job. With a better job, then you can have a better life,” he says.

As more parents like Ms. Anyie learn the importance of education, more children will be able to study and increase their potential.

“My hope is for my children to have ambition in their hearts,” says Ms. Anyie. “I want them to be successful. Maybe my daughter can be a nurse… My son Andi can be a teacher,… I will be very happy.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton reports on programmes promoting education for indigenous populations in Malaysian Borneo.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search