马来西亚

向马来西亚偏远地区的土著学前儿童提供援助

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在马来西亚半岛偏远的原著民居住地康彭皮塔村,土著儿童参加联合国儿童基金会支持的学前班。

史蒂夫.内特尔顿报道

马来西亚康彭皮塔,2008年7月2日。位于马来西亚半岛深处的音岛-罗榀国家公园的原始森林是珍稀鸟类、蝴蝶和犀牛以及各种各样植物的家园。这里也是马来西亚本土的土著居民奥郎阿什利或‘原住民’的传统家庭。

康彭皮塔村是柔佛州南部最偏远的奥朗阿什利的居住地。然而,绝大部分贾昆部族的居民的生活并非与外界完全隔离。那里常有游客来访,政府也为村民提供了一个社区中心、一个大型小学和一个图书馆。

渴望学习
缇娜.玢缇.贾拉在皮塔村长大,现在是村中唯一的学前班的教师。她说,身体和文化上的距离感是很多贾昆儿童入学的阻碍。

“对我来说,这是由于距离遥远和缺乏榜样的原因,”缇娜指出。“所以,孩子们只想玩,而不去上学。但这里的教育情形与过去有了很大的不同,人们更关注受教育。” 

在过去的15年里,奥朗阿什利部族的辍学率已明显地下降了;但是,大约80%的土著儿童仍然不能完成中学的学业。很多人开始在小学阶段学习马来语和英语,但成绩却落后于其他同龄学生。

扩大机会
联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴荷兰ING公司,马来西亚农村和区域发展部共同致力于从学前阶段开始改善马来西亚儿童受教育的机会。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
缇娜.玢缇.贾拉是康彭皮塔村唯一的学前班的教师。她利用‘阅读推广’计划教学生们语言技能。

‘阅读推广’计划的目标是帮助儿童掌握六个关键的学习要素:语言和沟通,认知发展,士气和精神,社会情绪的发展和创造。其中,特别重视语言技能的训练,因为它能使儿童发展他们的思维能力、理解力、想象力和有效沟通的能力。

阅读推广计划目前已经为全马来西亚农村和偏远地区的大约2400名无学习能力的儿童提供了教育服务,并为约300名学前班的教师提供了特别培训。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者史蒂夫.内特尔顿对马来西亚改善土著儿童的教育机会所做的努力进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Malaysia

Reaching out to indigenous pre-schoolers in remote regions of Malaysia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Indigenous children attend a UNICEF-supported pre-school in the village of Kampung Peta, a remote Orang Asli settlement in Peninsular Malaysia.

By Steve Nettleton

KAMPUNG PETA, Malaysia, 2 July 2008 – The ancient jungle of Endau-Rompin National Park, deep in Peninsular Malaysia, is home to rare species of birds, butterflies and rhinoceros, as well as a diverse range of plant life. It is also the traditional home of the Orang Asli, or ‘original people’, the indigenous inhabitants of Malaysia.

The village of Kampung Peta is the most remote Orang Asli settlement in the southern state of Johor. Its residents, however, mostly ethnic Jakun, do not live in complete isolation. Tourists regularly visit, and the government has helped provide the villagers with a community centre, a large primary school and a library.

A desire to learn
Tinah binti Jala grew up in Peta and now works as a teacher in the only village pre-school. She says that a sense of distance – both physical and cultural – has kept many Jakun children from attending school.

“To me, it’s because of the remote environment and that there are no role models,” notes Tinah. “So the kids just want to play and not go to school. But the education situation here now is very different from what it was.  People are more concerned about getting an education.”

Dropout rates for Orang Asli have dramatically fallen in the last 15 years; however, about 80 per cent of indigenous children still don’t complete secondary school. Many of them begin to study Malay and English in primary school but fall behind other students of the same age.

Expanding opportunities
Together with UNICEF and its corporate partner ING, Malaysia’s Ministry of Rural and Regional Development is working to improve Malaysian children’s opportunities for education, starting in pre-school.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Tinah binti Jalah is a teacher in the only village pre-school in Kampung Peta. She uses the ‘Reach Out and Read’ programme to teach her students language skills

The ‘Reach Out and Read’ programme aims to help children master six key learning components: language and communication, cognitive development, morale and spirituality, social-emotional development and creativity. Language skills are given particular emphasis, as it enables children to develop their ability to think, understand concepts, imagine and communicate effectively.

Reach Out and Read currently serves some 2,400 children with learning disabilities in rural and remote areas across Malaysia, and provides special training to about 300 pre-school teachers.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton reports on efforts to improve educational opportunities for indigenous children in Malaysia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search