马来西亚

3R-联合国儿童基金会女子室内五人足球赛决赛力促女孩抗击艾滋病

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2007/Izwina Mohd Din
联合国儿童基金会马来西亚国家级亲善大使和‘3R’电视台节目主持人卡蒂尼.阿里费恩同来自新山市苏丹娜.阿米娜女子中学的学生们谈及艾滋病的预防。

阿扎.雅斯敏.尤素福和英迪拉.纳德查特兰姆报道

马来西亚吉隆坡,2008年3月4日。最近来自马来西亚全国各地的1000多名女孩和妇女本着姐妹友谊的精神来到一起,以携手抗击艾滋病。

在曼联足球俱乐部‘携手联合国儿童基金会’项目和马来西亚一档新颖的电视节目‘3R’的支持下,举行了3R-联合国儿童基金会第二届女子室内五人足球赛决赛,以此来帮助年轻女孩和妇女掌控自己的生活,保护自己免受艾滋病的侵害。

18岁的玛丽亚.卡玛从5岁起就开始踢室内五人足球(一种每队各派五名球员上场的足球比赛)。对她来说,这项运动更讲究团队配合,更具竞争性。

“我喜欢踢室内五人足球,因为它有助于我与他人交往,向认识我的男孩展示,我能做得比他们还好,或至少和他们一样,虽然我是个女孩,”玛丽亚说。

这种态度和学习的经历,正是联合国儿童基金会向马来西亚的女孩和年轻妇女所提倡的。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2007/ Nadchatram
柔佛州摄政王王后拉贾.札丽丝.索菲娅殿下,在新山市3R-联合国儿童基金会女子室内五人足球赛决赛时,在联合国儿童基金会的一个信息亭前了解更多有关艾滋病和年轻人的活动的信息。

妇女和女童,艾滋病的新面孔

在世界各地感染了艾滋病的人群中超过1/3的人是25岁以下的年轻人,其中将近2/3是女性。在马来西亚,过去10年左右的时间里,感染艾滋病的妇女和女孩的比例在急剧增加。

联合国儿童基金会东亚及太平洋地区艾滋病顾问郑咏诗认为,给女孩儿和妇女以信心,保护他们自己和他们的家人免遭艾滋病的侵害,是扭转艾滋病毒在马来西亚流行的关键。

“类似这些比赛都很重要的,”她说。“女孩玩得开心,享受一天的时光并参加比赛。他们有机会自由选择和决定什么对他们有好处。这是一个很好的使女孩和妇女建立信心的过程。”

20世纪30年代,乌拉圭发明了五人制足球赛,在室内或室外的一个篮球场大小的场地进行比赛。在马来西亚,大约有100支五人制足球队 — 包括31支学校的球队 — 参加了第二届3R-联合国儿童基金会妇女室内五人足球赛决赛。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2007/ Nadchatram
两名年轻的女孩在吉隆坡室内五人足球赛最后的决赛试球。

除了争夺奖杯和奖金,在比赛的休赛期间,运动员们还和‘3R’电视节目主持人,联合国儿童基金会马来西亚国家级大使等当地知名人士和啦啦队一起参加了艾滋病的知识有奖问答等娱乐活动。决赛在新山市,槟城和吉隆坡举行,以支持联合国儿童基金会于2005年10月在全球范围内发起的‘携手儿童青少年,携手抗击艾滋病’的活动。

艾滋病教育进校园

‘3R’电视节目主持人取得了决赛以外的更大的进步,在马来西亚各处的学校开展专门的艾滋病教育专题讨论会,帮助1000多名学生了解艾滋病以及如何抵御病毒。

柔佛州摄政王王后拉贾.札丽丝.索菲娅殿下在新山市发起了第一届女子室内五人足球比赛,她对3R-联合国儿童基金会的共同倡议表示了欢迎,这个倡议对帮助女童和青年妇女提高生活技能以应对艾滋病是一个宝贵的回应。

“艾滋病在马来西亚是一个大问题,但很多人却不想承认这一点,”王后说。“类似这样的项目意味着年轻人以及那些缺乏认识的人...将会对该病有一些认识。”

对于参加了比赛的学生来说,专题讨论会可能将是某天挽救他们生命的启蒙教育课。

“我有一幅有关艾滋病和如何处理我的社会生活的清晰的画面,”17岁的学生卡维沙.南达拉贾说。“现在,我至少知道如何防止自己被艾滋病毒感染。在马来西亚各处的学校里我们都应该有这样的专题讨论会,使学生们知道该做什么。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会马来西亚国家级亲善大使和‘3R’电视台节目主持人西莉娜.考尔对3R-联合国儿童基金会女子室内五人足球赛的决赛进行了报道。
 视频 高速 | 低速

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Malaysia

3R-UNICEF All Women’s Futsal Playoffs empower girls to fight AIDS

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2007/Izwina Mohd Din
UNICEF Malaysia National Ambassador and ‘3R’ TV host Kartini Ariffin talks about HIV prevention with students from the Sultanah Aminah Secondary Girls’ School in Johor Bahru.

By Azah Yasmin Yusoff and Indra Nadchatram

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia, 4 March 2008 – More than 1,000 girls and women from across Malaysia came together recently in a spirit of sisterhood and empowerment to unite against AIDS.

With support from the Manchester United Football Club’s ‘United for UNICEF’ programme and Malaysia’s innovative TV show ‘3R’, the 3R-UNICEF All Women’s Futsal Playoffs were held for the second time to help young girls and women take control of their lives and keep safe from HIV.

Maria Kamal, 18, has been playing futsal (a version of football with five players on each side) since she was 5. For her, the game is about more than just working in teams and being competitive.

“I like playing futsal because it has helped me socialize with people and to show the boys around my area, and those who know me, that even though I am a girl, I can be better than them or the same,” said Maria.

It is this attitude and learning experience that UNICEF wants to harness in girls and young women in Malaysia.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2007/ Nadchatram
Her Royal Highness Raja Zarith Sofiah, Consort to the Regent of Johor, learns more about the campaign on AIDS and young people at a UNICEF information booth during the 3R-UNICEF All Women’s Futsal Playoffs in Johor Bahru.

Women and girls, the new face of HIV

More than a third of all people living with HIV around the world are under the age of 25, and almost two-thirds of them are female. In Malaysia, the proportion of women and girls living with HIV has increased dramatically in the last decade or so.

UNICEF’s East Asia and Pacific Regional Advisor for HIV and AIDS, Wing-Sie Cheng, believes that equipping girls and women with confidence to protect themselves and their families from HIV is key to turning the tide against the epidemic in Malaysia.

“Tournaments like these are important,” she said. “Girls have fun, enjoy the day and participate in the games. And they get an opportunity to exercise free choice and exercise decisions in what is good for them. It is a very good confidence-building process for girls and women.”

Invented in Uruguay in the 1930s, futsal is played either indoors or outdoors on a basketball court-sized pitch. In Malaysia, some 100 teams – including 31 school teams – came together for the second 3R-UNICEF All Women’s Playoffs.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2007/ Nadchatram
Two young girls test their futsal action at the playoffs in Kuala Lumpur.

In addition to vying for the championship trophy and cash prizes, players were entertained by local celebrities and cheerleading teams during the intervals, while the ‘3R’ TV hosts, who are also UNICEF Malaysia National Ambassadors, quizzed them about HIV and AIDS. Playoffs held in Johor Bahru, Penang and Kuala Lumpur were all in support of the Unite for Children, Unite Against AIDS campaign launched globally by UNICEF in October 2005.

Taking HIV education into schools

The ‘3R’ hosts took the playoffs a step further with special HIV education workshops in schools around Malaysia, helping over 1,000 students learn about HIV and how to keep the virus at bay.

Her Royal Highness Raja Zarith Sofiah, consort to the Regent of Johor, who launched the first playoff in Johor Bahru, welcomed the joint 3R-UNICEF initiative as a valuable response to help girls and young women develop life skills to tackle HIV.

“HIV is a big problem in Malaysia, but not many people want to acknowledge it,” said Her Royal Highness. “A programme like this means the young people and those who have no knowledge ... will have some awareness about the disease.”

For the students who participated, the workshops were an illuminating introduction to lessons that may one day save their lives.

“I have a clearer picture about HIV and how to go about my social life,” said student  Kavitha Nandarajah, 17. “Now, at least I know how to prevent myself from getting infected by the HIV virus. We should have this workshop in all the schools around Malaysia so that the students know what to do.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF Malaysia National Ambassador and ‘3R’ TV host Celina Khor reports on the 3R-UNICEF All Women’s Futsal Playoffs.
 VIDEO  high | low

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search