马拉维

社区项目扶持儿童为户主的贫困家庭

UNICEF Photo: Malawi, child-headed households
© UNICEF Malawi/2008/ Sevenier
联合国儿童基金会和马拉维政府正在努力帮助儿童户主家庭。

盖勒.塞维涅尔和迪帕尼.基纳达萨报道

马拉维利隆圭,2008年3月4日。在马拉维有许多孩子因父母过世或者遭父母遗弃而成了家庭的户主,其中有的孩子才13岁。他们面对着巨大的责任,不仅为自己,也要为自己的兄弟姐妹。为帮助他们面对挑战,马拉维政府已在社区成立了提瓦萨马勒托儿中心。中心里受过训练的社会工作者关注并发现社区在儿童权利和有害的传统习俗方面的问题。联合国儿童基金会支持该项目,同时也为儿童户主家庭提供了支持。

“按照马拉维的文化传统,当母亲在村里去世了,父亲便离开家并再婚,而不再照顾孩子,”联合国儿童基金会马拉维早期儿童发展官员齐利扎姆吉.马托拉解释说。“常常是,孩子们被孤独地留下。”

此外,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,马拉维政府已启动了一项所谓的‘社会现金转移’的试验项目,作为解决贫困问题的一种手段 — 包括儿童为户主的贫困家庭。参与该项目的家庭必须是从事劳动并符合处于极端贫困线的标准,例如每天无法获得一餐以上的食物或无法购买必要的非食物用品,诸如肥皂,衣服和学习用品等。

下面举例说明上述方案的实施情况。

以社区为基础的援助

大多数孩子的少年时期都是在学校学习和朋友玩耍中度过的。然而,一位布兰太尔区的马拉维男孩儿,13岁的莱尼斯的生活中却没有这样的机会。在2005年他的母亲被肺炎夺去了生命,他的父亲抛弃了家庭。莱尼斯就要独自面对照顾5个4至12岁弟妹的巨大责任。

提瓦萨马勒中心最近认定莱尼斯的家庭为需要立即获得援助的儿童户主家庭。该中心给他们带去了的毯子和月供食品,包括豆面粉,大米,麦片和食用油。

“你要知道我们有多困难,”莱尼斯说。“找活干对我来说是一个非常大的责任。这里的人都是穷人,极少有就业机会。我没时间和我的朋友玩,我要花时间干活或找点什么事情来赚钱。我想念我的朋友们。”

社会现金转移带来希望

16岁的莱吉娜有着比许多年龄两倍于她的成人更多的责任。她是一个五口之家的户主,完全靠她自己照顾4个妹妹。

莱吉娜的父亲2002年去世了。两年后,她的母亲在附近村庄找了一位新丈夫。然而,孩子们却被新的结合排除在外并被自己的母亲遗弃,所以莱吉娜承担起照顾她4个妹妹的责任。母亲改嫁后再未回来过。

在过去的一年里莱吉娜的生活已经有所改善。她的家庭成为社会现金转移项目的受益者,她能够使用现金转移基金购买成型砖,并且乡亲们将帮助她建一个新家。

此外,自从成了受益人,莱吉娜能正常地到姆布文伽小学上学。“莱吉娜现在可以自由与其他人交往,是个开朗的,幸福的孩子,”她的老师朱婉希鸥.埃娃拉妮说。

当问到他们未来的计划时,莱吉娜回答道,她想成为一名护士。“马拉维缺少护士,我想在这方面有所帮助,”她说。


 

 

相关链接

马拉维试点社会现金转移网站(英文)
(外部链接在新窗口内打开)

搜索

Malawi

Community programmes help support impoverished child-headed households

UNICEF Image: Malawi, child-headed households
© UNICEF Malawi/2008/ Sevenier
UNICEF and the Government of Malawi are working to assist child-headed households.

By Gaelle Sevenier and Deepani Jinadasa

LILONGWE, Malawi, 4 March 2008 – Many children in Malawi, some as young as 13, are the head of their households after their parents die or abandon them. They face enormous responsibilities, not only for themselves, but for their siblings as well.

To help meet his challenge, the Government of Malawi has set up the Tiwasamale Community-Based Child Care Centre. Trained social workers at the cente identify problems and sensitize the community to children’s rights and harmful traditional practices. UNICEF supports the project, which, in turn, supports households headed by children.

“It is a tradition in some cultures in Malawi that when the mother dies in a village, the father leaves the house and remarries, without taking care of the children,” explained UNICEF Malawi Early Childhood Development Officer Chilizamudzi Matola. “Very often, the children remain alone.”

Also with support from UNICEF, the Government of Malawi has launched a pilot programme called Social Cash Transfer as a means to tackle poverty  including poverty among child-headed households. To qualify, families must be labour-constrained and meet the criteria for being at the extreme poverty line, such as an inability to have more than one meal each day or purchase essential non-food items like soap, clothing and school supplies. 

Following are examples of both of these initiatives in action.

Community-based assistance 

Most children spend their early teenage years in school and playing with friends. However, Liness, a 13-year-old Malawian boy from the district of Blantyre, did not have this chance in life. When his mother died of pneumonia in 2005, his father abandoned the family. Liness was suddenly left alone with the enormous responsibility of caring for his five younger brothers and sisters, aged 4 to 12.

The Tiwasamale centre recently identified Liness’s family as a child-headed household in need of immediate assistance. The centre brings them blankets and monthly supplies of food, including soja flour, rice, porridge and cooking oil.

“You have to understand how hard it is for us,” said Liness. “It is a very big responsibility for me to find work. Here people are poor, there are so few jobs. And the time that I do not spend with my friends is the time I need to spend working or looking for something to earn money. I miss my friends.”

Social Cash Transfer brings hope

At 16, Regina has more responsibilities than many adults twice her age.  She is the head of a family of five, taking care of her four sisters all by herself.

Regina’s father died in 2002. Two years later, her mother found a new husband from a nearby village. The children, however, were excluded from the union and abandoned by their mother, so Regina assumed responsibility of taking care of her four sisters. Their mother has not returned since she remarried.

During the past year, though, Regina’s life has changed for the better. Her household became a beneficiary of the Social Cash Transfer programme, she was able to use cach-transfer funds to purchase moulded bricks, and her fellow villagers will assist in building a new home for her family.

In addition, ever since became a beneficiary, Regina has regularly attended Mbwinga Primary School. “Regina is now able to mix freely with others and is openly a happier child,” said her teacher, Juvencio Iwalani.

When asked about their plans for the future, Regina replied tha she wanted to become a nurse. “Malawi has a shortage of nurses, and I want to help,” she said.

 


 

 

New enhanced search