UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

马达加斯加

在马达加斯加,凯蒂.佩里见证了儿童的教育、营养及环境卫生和个人卫生事业取得的巨大进展

伊娃.吉列姆(Eva Gilliam)报道

马达加斯加塔那那利佛(ANTANANARIVO),2013年4月8日 —— 在贫民窟中央一个光线昏暗的房间,来自美国的创作歌手凯蒂.佩里正在倾听一位年轻妇女腼腆地介绍自己的情况。

“他对我说,他爱我,想和我在一起。”17岁的玛丽安娜(Mariana)说,“但当我怀孕之后,一切都变了。”

© UNICEF VIDEO
联合国儿童基金会报道创作歌手凯蒂.佩里近期的马达加斯加之行,她访问了联合国儿童基金会的数个项目现场。视频由伊娃.吉列姆制作。  在Realplayer中播放

 

儿童保护中心提供支持

在联合国儿童基金会支持的伊莱库(laiko)儿童保护中心,佩里女士与一群妇女以及她们的孩子交谈了几个小时,她们中的大多数人都曾遭到过虐待、抛弃或忽视,现在只能勉强度日。儿童保护中心为她们提供法律、社会支持及基本技能培训,以便使像玛丽安娜这样的年轻妇女能够找到工作养活自己和孩子。

“最让我吃惊的是这样根本的问题竟然如此普遍。”佩里女士说,“无论在马达加斯加,还是在美国,有如此多的女性经历着同样的遭遇。”但在这里,显然要得到帮助更加不容易 —— 因此,在这里能有这样好的中心提供帮助,令我非常惊讶。

联合国儿童基金会支持全国范围内的儿童保护干预,并与国家当局、医疗、法律和心理服务机构密切合作。

佩里女士和孩子们的游戏时间

马达加斯加的人口逾2000万,其中68%的人口被视为贫困人口。

在佩里女士对这个热带岛国为期四天的访问之行中,她在联合国儿童基金会的项目现场与数百名马达加斯加儿童、教师、社区医疗工作者和政府社会工作者进行交流,话题主要围绕他们所面对的难题、需求和取得的成绩。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-0168/Holt
4月5日,联合国儿童基金会支持者凯蒂.佩里在安纳兰基洛佛地区亚姆匹好那那村的一所小学泵水。在马达加斯加,获得清洁、安全的饮用水是最大的难题之一。

在东海岸安纳兰基洛佛(Analanjirofo)的萨哈沃拉(Sahavola)幼儿园,50多个3至6岁的儿童用歌声欢迎这位歌星。

“We dance high!  We dance low!  We dance on this side, and we dance on that side!”

唱完歌之后,儿童们和佩里女士拿出蜡笔和画纸开始认真画画。

佩里女士用刚刚学会的马达加斯加语点评了他们的画:“Tara —— 非常漂亮!Tara!”

教育及个人卫生和环境卫生事业取得巨大进展

马达加斯加已经展示了为实现到2015年普及初等教育的目标所取得的进展,但挑战依然存在。佩里女士在萨哈沃拉访问的项目对于营造当地的教育文化氛围至关重要。

同时,学龄前儿童也被教导如何养成正确的个人卫生习惯。为促进培养正确的个人卫生和环境卫生意识,联合国儿童基金会已经在学校中安装了公厕和洗手池。

“我也想洗手!”佩里女士这样对儿童们说,然后耐心地排队。所有儿童都在手上涂上肥皂,然后在教室外面的水龙头下冲干净。

在马达加斯加,获得清洁、安全的饮用水是最大的难题之一。在农村地区,只有34%的家庭使用经改善的饮用水资源,只有12%的家庭使用经改善的环境卫生设施。随地大小便现象普遍,因而引发的健康问题导致马达加斯加学校的学生在校率大幅下降。“一定要记得洗手,洗完之后,就可以吃零食了。”佩里女士说,俏皮地眨了一下眼。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-0170/Holt
4月6日,走访安纳兰基洛佛地区安卓奥然加沃拉村的营养中心期间,佩里女士与一对孪生姐妹及其母亲交谈。营养中心由一位社区医疗工作者管理,致力于发现儿童营养不良病例,并与母亲们携手改善营养摄入情况。

学校能够抵御恶劣天气

佩里女士访问了亚姆匹好那那(Ampihaonana)的一所小学,这所学校在2011年被飓风摧毁,后由联合国儿童基金会重建。

2012年,联合国儿童基金会完成了配备相关公厕设施的240所小学和4所幼儿园教室的建设工作。逾40%的建筑材料采用压缩连锁砖,无需涂抹水泥,不像传统的烤砖还需要砍伐树木。除了减少对环境的影响之外,这种建筑结构还可以抵御最恶劣的天气。

“在我们国家,往往认为接受教育是理所当然的。”佩里女士说,“至少我知道我自己就是这样。当我来到这里,才发现这些儿童对于能够上学是多么地感恩 —— 因为在这里,不是所有儿童都有机会上学。”

“许多儿童不得不辍学,并在很小的年纪就帮助养家糊口,或者,由于其它原因而无法上学。”她继续说,“那些有机会上学的儿童要步行45分钟才能到达学校,早上6点就得从家里出发!就在这高山之上,我真的可以看到联合国儿童基金会任重而道远。”

抗击慢性营养不良

在安卓奥然加沃拉(Androranga Vola)村长宽各8英尺的社区医疗中心,挂着一幅用魔术贴贴着各种食物图片的海报,食物包括大米、菠菜和红肉等。

“贴上一张橘子的图片 —— 我们那天也可以吃些橘子。”坐在草席上的10名妇女中的一人大声喊道。这些妇女正在学习如何合理搭配食物,让自己和孩子们获得最佳营养。

在世界上五岁以下儿童的慢性营养不良患病率最高的这样一个国家中,这种学习至关重要。

“在这个国家,每两名儿童中就有一名患慢性营养不良。”联合国儿童基金会驻马达加斯加计项目调员兼副代表萨拉.博尔达斯.艾迪(Sara Bordas-Eddy)介绍说,“慢性营养不良导致发育迟缓、身体发育不健全,还会对儿童的智力发育造成影响。”

佩里女士访问了这家医疗中心。在那里,她了解了如何对儿童进行营养不良治疗,及如何教授妇女在婴儿出生前六个月内进行母乳喂养。

“我学会了这些妇女将维生素加入饮食的新方式。”她说,“而且,联合国儿童基金会提供补充剂,帮助儿童提高免疫力。”

“在这个小村庄,确实一直在宣传大量教育知识。”她补充道。

为遭虐待的受害者提供支持

佩里女士访问的最后一站是与遭受虐待的儿童受害者见面,这些儿童正在接受联合国儿童基金会协助的社会福利计划提供的心理支持。随后她访问了塔马塔夫(Tamatave)青年中心,青少年们为她准备了一场特殊表演。

一天的行程以马达加斯加式的“滑步舞”欢快地结束了。佩里女士也加入了跳舞的人群。

“在马达加斯加不足一周的时间中,我去了拥挤的城市贫民窟,也去了最偏远的山村 —— 我的眼界得到了拓展。”佩里女士说,“我在与马达加斯加人民的相处中感受到了真正的乐趣。”


 

 

搜索

Madagascar

Katy Perry sees strides in children's education, nutrition, sanitation and hygiene in Madagascar

By Eva Gilliam

ANTANANARIVO, Madagascar, 8 April 2013 – In a dimly lit room in the heart of a slum, American singer and songwriter Katy Perry listens to the young woman timidly explain her situation.

“He told me that he loved me and he wanted to be with me,” explains Mariana, 17. “But, when I got pregnant, all that changed.”

© UNICEF VIDEO
UNICEF reports on singer and songwriter Katy Perry's recent trip to Madagascar to visit sites of UNICEF programmes. Produced by Eva Gilliam.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Child protection centre provides support

Ms. Perry spent hours at the UNICEF-supported Ilaiko Child Protection centre speaking with a group of women and their children, most of whom had experienced abuse, abandonment or neglect, and were struggling to make ends meet. The centre provides legal and social support, as well as training in basic skills, so that a young woman like Mariana can find work to support herself and her baby.

“What strikes me is how universal so many of these core problems are,” said Ms. Perry. “Whether in Madagascar or in the USA, so many women experience the same thing. But here, clearly support can be hard to come by – that’s why it is amazing that centres like this one are here to help.”

UNICEF supports child protection interventions throughout the country, working with national authorities, medical, legal and psychological services.

Playtime for Ms. Perry and the kids

Madagascar has a population of over 20 million people, 68 per cent of whom are considered to be living in poverty.

Over her four-day visit to the tropical island country, Ms. Perry spoke with hundreds of Malagasy children, teachers, community health workers and government social workers at UNICEF programme sites about their challenges, needs and successes. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-0168/Holt
On 5 April, UNICEF supporter Katy Perry pumps water at a primary school in Ampihaonana village, Analanjirofo region. Access to clean and safe water is one of the biggest challenges in Madagascar.

At the Sahavola preschool, in Analanjirofo on the east coast, more than 50 children from age 3 to 6 greeted the singer with a song.

“We dance high!  We dance low!  We dance on this side, and we dance on that side!”

After the song, the children and Ms. Perry got down to serious business – with crayons and construction paper.

Ms. Perry commented on their drawings, using a little of the Malagasy language she had picked up: “Tara – that’s beautiful! Tara!”

Strides in education, and hygiene and sanitation

Madagascar has shown important steps toward reaching its goal of primary education for all by 2015 – but challenges remain. Programmes like the one Ms. Perry visited at Sahavola are essential in creating a culture of education.

The preschoolers are also encouraged to practice proper hygiene. To promote proper hygiene and sanitation, UNICEF has constructed latrines and sinks at the school.

“I wanna wash my hands, too!” Ms. Perry told the children, then patiently waited her turn while each child lathered up her or his hands and rinsed at the taps just outside of the classroom.

Access to clean and safe water is one of the biggest challenges in Madagascar.  In rural areas, only 34 per cent of families use improved drinking water sources, and only 12 per cent use improved sanitation facilities, with open defecation being the primary practice.  The resulting health problems are credited for dramatically reducing retention rates in Malagasy schools.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2013-0170/Holt
On 6 April, Ms. Perry speaks with twin girls and their mother during a visit to a nutrition centre in Androranga Vola village, Analanjirofo region. Run by a community health worker, the centre identifies child malnutrition and works with mothers to improve their nutritional intake.

“It’s pretty encouraging to wash your hands when you know that, afterward, it’s snack time,” said Ms. Perry, with a wink.

Weather-proof schools

Ms. Perry visited a primary school in Ampihaonana that had been rebuilt by UNICEF after a cyclone destroyed it in 2011.

In 2012, UNICEF completed 240 primary and four preschool classrooms with associated latrine blocks. Over 40 per cent of this construction used compressed interlocking earth bricks requiring no mortar, rather than traditional wood-fired bricks that require trees be felled. In addition to reducing impact on the environment, this construction is designed to withstand some of the worst weather.

“Back home, we often take our education for granted,” explained Ms. Perry. “At least, I know I did, until I came here and saw just how much these children appreciate being able to come to school – because not all of the children here are able to. 

“A lot of them have to leave school to help out their family at a young age, or they don’t get to go to school for other reasons,” she continued. “The ones that do get the opportunity to go walk 45 minutes to get here – leaving home at 6 am! Here, high up on this hill, I can really see that UNICEF is going the distance.”

Combating chronic malnutrition

In the 8 X 8 foot community health centre in Androranga Vola village hangs a poster dotted with Velcro-backed pictures of foods like rice, spinach and red meat.
 
“Put up a picture of the oranges – we could also eat oranges on that day,” calls out one of 10 women sitting on a grass mat.  These women are learning about food combining for the best nutrition for themselves and their children.
In a country with one of the highest rates of chronic malnutrition in the world for children under 5, this learning is essential.

“For every two children in the country, one is suffering from chronic malnutrition,” explains Programme Coordinator and Deputy Representative for UNICEF in Madagascar Sara Bordas-Eddy.  “Chronic malnutrition results in stunting, an underdevelopment of the body, and can also have an impact on the child’s cognitive development.”

Ms. Perry visited the centre, where she learned how children are treated for malnutrition and how women are educated on exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of the baby’s life. 

“I learned about new ways these women can include vitamins in their diet,” she said. “And UNICEF provides supplements to help with the child’s immunity.

“There’s really a lot of education going on in this small village,” she added.

Support for victims of abuse

Ms. Perry ended her visit by meeting with child victims of abuse who are receiving psychosocial support through a social welfare programme assisted by UNICEF, followed by a visit to the Tamatave Youth Centre, where teenagers had prepared special performances for her.

The day ended on a high note with a Malagasy version of the ‘electric slide’. Ms. Perry joined in.

“In less than one week here in Madagascar, I went from crowded city slums to the most remote villages – and my eyes were widely opened,” said Ms. Perry.  “And I also experienced a genuine joy from the Malagasy people.”


 

 

New enhanced search