马达加斯加

马达加斯加持续干旱造成儿童营养不良

UNICEF Photo: Madagascar, child malnutrition
© UNICEF video
在马达加斯加南部受干旱严重影响的地区,一名儿童正在运庄稼。那里的儿童们正遭受营养不良的困扰。

盖伊.哈巴尔特报道

马达加斯加塔那那利佛,2009年7月24日 – 当世界正开始将注意力转向环境问题时,岛国马达加斯加已经感受到了气候变化带来的影响。

 点击此处观看视频

这个国家灰尘弥漫的南部地区一直以来都比较干燥,但是过去一年两次的降雨可以让农民们每年两次播种并收获庄稼——通常是红薯和玉米。即使是在旱季,这些庄稼也足够他们及家人维生。

但是过去的两年中完全没有下雨。曾经川流不息的河流已经干涸,庄稼也都枯死了。人们、尤其是儿童,开始挨饿。

“一点雨也没有”

莉艾提那和(Liatinahie)是一个农民,也是10个孩子的妈妈。年初的时候,她和丈夫种的庄稼颗粒无收,现在食物已经快吃光了。虽然一家人都在挨饿,他们最小的女儿遭受的痛苦最大。

莉艾提那和回忆说:“我有种子,种了红薯,但是由于滴雨不降,它们全干死了。我发现我的女儿越来越瘦,但是家里没有粮食。在她又瘦了之后, 我带她去了保健中心。”

在马达加斯加南部受干旱影响的三个地区,几乎所有的农民都没有收成。在过去的20年里,这里的年均降雨量已经从111毫升减少到27.5毫升。虽然过去旱灾发生的频率很低,大概每10年发生一次干旱,但是现在干旱已经成了家常便饭,受干旱影响地区的数千名儿童中营养不良的现象也很常见。

UNICEF Photo: Madagascar, child malnutrition
© UNICEF video
在马达加斯加南部的保健中心,一名小男孩正接受臂围的测量,以检查他是否患有营养不良。

减轻危机的影响

护士田纳森.松巴森.曼达纳依纳(Tianason Sombason Mandanaina)在提洪贝(Tsihombe)附近的农村保健中心工作。他在过去的几个月中已经医治了数百名营养不良的儿童。

他说:“这一地区大概80%的五岁以下儿童受营养不良的影响。其中70%患有急性重度营养不良, 10%患有中度营养不良。”

联合国儿童基金会正与世界粮食计划署和马达加斯加卫生部合作,努力减轻危机的影响。通过早期预警系统,并在逐家走访的社区志愿者的帮助下,受干旱影响地区的大约80%的营养不良儿童获得了援助。

有可能患有营养不良的儿童正在当地保健设施里测量体重和身高。每一位儿童随后都要接受检查,而且在必要的情况下,领取强化剂量的治疗性即食食品。

长期影响

在接受了六周的治疗后,莉艾提那和的女儿胖了起来而且更有精神了;即使这样,她还要再等一个半月才能完全恢复健康。

对于某些儿童来说,营养不良的影响将持续更久。

曼达纳依纳先生说:“还有一种更长期的影响,你可以从营养不良的学前班儿童身上看到。他们总是感到疲倦,等他们到了上学的年龄,他们学习起来也很吃力。”

为了确保营养不良的儿童能够恢复健康,而且他们所领取的强化剂量的治疗性即食食品不会分给营养状况更好的兄弟姐妹,营养不良儿童的家庭还能够得到大米、鹰嘴豆和棕榈油。

最近的几次降雨给农民们带来了喘息的机会,但是他们所剩不多的食品供给很难帮他们撑到6个月后的下一场降雨——如果真的有雨的话。由于气候变化,马达加斯加干旱和营养不良的危机正威胁着成为现状,而营养不良也正逐渐成为一种生活方式。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年7月27日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖伊.哈巴尔特就气候变化如何影响马达加斯加南部的家庭进行了报道。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

订阅邮件列表

加入我们最新推出的中文邮件列表服务,定期了解联合国儿童基金会的最新动态。 点击此处订阅

搜索

Madagascar

Failure of seasonal rains leads to hardship and malnutrition in Madagascar

UNICEF Image: Madagascar, child malnutrition
© UNICEF video
A child carries crops in a severely drought-affected region in southern Madagascar, where children are suffering from malnutrition.

By Guy Hubbard

ANTANANARIVO, Madagascar, 27 July 2009 – As world attention shifts towards environmental issues, the effects of climate change are being felt on the island nation of Madagascar.

VIDEO: Watch now

The dusty south of the country has always been dry, but biannual rains meant farmers could plant and harvest their crops – usually sweet potatoes and maize – twice a year. It was enough to see them and their families through the lean seasons.
But for the last two years those rains have failed, once mighty rivers have dried to a trickle and crops have died. People, especially children, have begun to starve.

‘There was no rain’

Liatinahie is a farmer and mother of 10. She and her husband lost their crops earlier this year and began to run out of food. Although the whole family was hungry, their youngest daughter suffered the most.

“I had seeds and planted sweet potatoes, but because there was no rain, they dried up,” recalled Liatinahie. “I noticed my daughter was getting thinner but there was no food and when she got even thinner I took her to the health centre.”

Almost every farmer in the three drought-affected regions of southern Madagascar has lost crops. In the last 20 years, the average annual rainfall here has fallen from 111 ml to a mere 27.5 ml. While droughts used to be the exception, occurring perhaps once every 10 years, now they’re the norm – and so is malnutrition among thousands of children throughout the drought affected area.

UNICEF Image: Madagascar, child malnutrition
© UNICEF video
At the health centre in southern Madagascar, a small child’s arm is measured to see if he is undernourished.

Alleviating the crisis

Nurse Tianason Sombason Mandanaina works at rural health centre near Tsihombe. He has personally treated hundreds of malnourished children in the last few months 

“Around 80 per cent  of children under five in this area are affected by malnutrition. Seventy per cent suffer from moderate malnutrition and 10 per cent from severe acute malnutrition,” he said.

UNICEF, in partnership with the World Food Programme and the Malagasy Ministry of Health, is attempting to alleviate the crisis. Through an early warning system – and with the help of community volunteers who go door to door – an estimated 80 per cent of malnourished children in the drought-affected regions have been reached.

Children at risk of malnutrition are weighed and measured at local health centres. Each child is then examined and, if necessary, given doses of fortified ready-to-use therapeutic food.

Long-lasting effects

After six weeks of treatment, Liatinahie’s daughter is chubbier and more energetic; even so, it will be another month and half before she is fully recovered.

For some children, the effects last far longer.

“There is a more long-term impact, and you can see it in pre-school children that have been malnourished. They are always tired, and when they reach school age they struggle to keep up,” said Mr. Mandanaina.

To ensure that malnourished children recover, and that their doses of ready-to-use therapeutic food is not shared with better-nourished siblings, families of malnourished children also receive given rice, chick peas and palm oil.

A few recent rains have provided some respite for farmers, but their beleaguered supplies won’t see them through the next six months when the next rains are due, if they come at all. Through climate change, the drought and malnutrition crisis in Madagascar is threatening to become the status quo, and malnutrition a way of life.


 

 

Video

27 July 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on how climate change is affecting families in southern Madagascar.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search