马达加斯加

灾难性的飓风之后,马达加斯加重建遭破坏的学校

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Madagascar/2007/Sethi
自12月以来两次飓风和四次热带风暴引起的暴雨和洪水令数千名学童陷入危险境地。

维克特.钦亚玛报道

马达加斯加塔那那利佛2007年4月23日 - 8岁的佛罗琳住在位于马达加斯加北部阿姆班扎的一个村庄。她家部分被飓风摧毁,但直到她爬上屋顶,才知道他们村被破坏得有多严重。

站在高处,放眼望去,她被眼前的满目苍夷惊得说不出话来。“我看见房屋和树木都淹没在水中。”

她很难过地看到她的学校也没能幸免,只剩连根拔起的大树和浸泡了的地板还在它们那个曾经骄傲的站立的地方。 佛罗琳不知道她还能否再回到学校。

重返学校的供给物资

3月15日,名为因德拉拉的飓风以每小时220公里的速度登陆这个印度洋岛国,这是该国近年所遭受的最严重的暴风雨袭击,造成生命和财产的惨重损失。 还没来得及恢复,马达加斯加在4月3日又遭到飓风扎亚的袭击,使该国东部和北部沿海地区在最炎热的四个月内至少遭到两次飓风和四次热带风暴的袭击。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Madagascar/2007/Sethi
整个马达加斯加,特别是北部地区,突如其来的洪水损坏或摧毁道路,阻断通往许多社区的交通。

教育部估计,自去年12月第一次热带风暴扫荡以来,有591所学校遭到部分损坏,而136所学校被完全摧毁,造成大约14.5万学生不能上学。

联合国儿童基金会驻马达加斯加代表布鲁诺.麦斯表示,本月期中假期之后学校恢复上课,这将保证灾区的至少5.4万名儿童能回到学校。 他说:“我们同时还在受灾最严重的戴安纳、索非亚和马朗特赛卓地区派发防水帆布、帐篷、学习用品和学校用具箱等。”

另外,联合国儿童基金会提供90个防白蚁的铝制房屋架构,以帮助政府在重灾区搭建教室。

动员分散的学生 

重建受损学校将会是一个慢长而艰巨的工作,但是各个社区已经显示出他们要将损失的学校找回来的决心。 教堂和社区会议厅被变成教室,学校的桌椅板凳由当地木匠制作,泥瓦匠背送建筑材料 - 往往要用几天才能到达他们的目的地。

与此同时,动员居住分散的学生的工作也加紧进行。 联合国儿童基金会已经在培训668名教师,以加强动员工作。 他们的工作将由学生家长、社区以及马朗特赛卓地区教育活动领导协助共同完成。

对佛罗琳来说,这种努力还需要一些时间。 她说:“我想要重建我们的学校,我们的村子也需要修缮。 我想一直住在这个村,不想离开。 我要重新回到学校上课。”


 

 

视频

2007年4月18日:
联合国儿童基金会地方办事人员与被飓风影响学习的马达加斯加儿童一起讲述他们的经历。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Madagascar

After devastating cyclones, Madagascar rebuilds its shattered schools

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Madagascar/2007/Sethi
Torrential rains and flooding caused by two cyclones and four tropical storms since December have left thousands of school-age children vulnerable.

By Victor Chinyama

ANTANANARIVO, Madagascar, 23 April 2007 – Florine, 8, was unaware of the extent of cyclone damage to her village in Ambanja, northeastern Madagascar, until she climbed to the roof of her partially destroyed house.

From that vantage point she surveyed the damage, gasping in shock at the scale of devastation. “I saw houses submerged in water, including trees.”

She was greatly distressed to see that her school had not been spared. Only uprooted trees and a sodden floor lay where it once proudly stood. Florine wondered whether she would ever attend school again.

Back-to-school supplies

Cyclone Indlala, the worst storm to hit this Indian Ocean island nation in recent years, arrived on 15 March packing wind speeds of up to 220 km per hour and leaving death and destruction in its wake. With scarcely any time to recover, Madagascar was hit by Cyclone Jaya on 3 April, capping a torrid four-month period in which the country’s eastern and northern seaboards had been inundated by no fewer than two cyclones and four tropical storms.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Madagascar/2007/Sethi
Across Madagascar, but particularly in the north, flash flooding has damaged or destroyed roads, cutting off access to many communities.

The Ministry of Education estimates that 591 schools have been partially destroyed and 136 completely destroyed since 24 December, when the first tropical storm struck. An estimated 145,000 pupils have been unable to attend school.

UNICEF Representative in Madagascar Bruno Maes said the resumption of classes after the mid-term break this month was an opportunity to ensure that at least 54,000 children could return to school in the affected areas. “We are also distributing tarpaulins, tents, school supplies and School-in-a-Box kits in the north in Diana, Sofia and Maroantsetra, which are some of the hardest hit areas,” he added.

In addition, UNICEF is providing 90 aluminium, anti-termite classroom frames and helping the government set them up in hard-hit areas.

Mobilizing scattered pupils

Rebuilding the damaged schools will be a slow and arduous process, but communities have demonstrated their resolve to reclaim what has been lost. Churches and community halls have been turned into classrooms, school benches and tables are being made by local carpenters, and masons are transporting construction materials on their backs – often taking days to reach their destinations.

Efforts have been stepped up as well to mobilize the scattered pupil population. UNICEF has trained 668 teachers in Maroantsetra to help with the mobilization efforts. Their work will be complemented by that of parents, communities and heads of education activity zones.

For Florine, such efforts couldn’t come sooner. “I want my school to be rebuilt,” she said. “The village also needs to be rehabilitated. I have always wanted to stay in my village and I will not leave. I want to return to school.”


 

 

Videos

18 April 2007:
UNICEF field staff, along with children whose education was interrupted by the cyclones in Madagascar, speak about their experiences.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search