利比里亚

利比里亚与联合国儿童基金会支持为科特迪瓦难民儿童提供保健和教育

伊娃.吉利厄姆报道

利比里亚宁巴县,2011年1月17号-8岁的巴西莱(Basile)站在河岸边抛鱼线,河水和他一样的平静。在过去的六周内,他每天都来到这个利比里亚东部边界附近的地方,这是他在逃离邻国科特迪瓦的混乱生活中可以暂时得以喘息的地方。如果他能抓到鱼,他和三个兄弟姐妹今天就有饭吃了。

视频: 2011年1月14日- 联合国儿童基金会的伊娃.吉利厄姆报道联合国儿童基金会和利比里亚政府为科特迪瓦难民儿童支持开展的保健和教育干预措施。 在Realplayer中播放

巴西莱和其他大约1.3万名科特迪瓦儿童目前正在利比里亚寻找庇护,他们中超过一半的人都还不到五岁。

自从科特迪瓦11月底举行了选举并随后发生了政治危机,2.5万人越过边境进入利比里亚。他们正住在寄宿社区的拥挤不堪的房子里,而且经常是住在学校里。在很多情况下,多达五个家庭,即25个人,必须共住一个房间。

免疫队

由于大量难民涌进这些村庄,食物短缺,健康风险上升。

为了应对健康威胁,利比里亚政府的免疫队在联合国儿童基金会及其他合作伙伴的支持下,逐村走访为儿童和母亲们接种脊髓灰质炎和黄热病的疫苗。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
利比里亚卫生部接种员爱德华.果诺(Edward Gono)为一名科特迪瓦难民儿童免疫。这是联合国儿童基金会和其他合作伙伴支持的村对村免疫活动的一部分。

宁巴县的接种员爱德华.果诺(Edward Gono)说:“卫生部不知道象牙海岸人口免疫的状况,所以他们必须要保护孕妇和儿童不感染任何疾病。”

教育中断

对于难民中的学龄儿童来说,课程已经完全中断了。当地的学校经常被用作庇护所,而不是学习空间。

自从来到了科特迪瓦,8岁的难民付根思(Fugence)和其他50人就一直住在一个两个房间的学校里。他迫切地想上课,但是在这个小寄宿村庄里,没有课可以上。所以,他每天替大人用水泵抽水,或者到田里工作换取一小把米。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
利比里亚寄宿社区的当地学校更被用作是收容所,而不是为科特迪瓦难民中的学龄儿童提供学习的空间。

同付根思一样,许多儿童不得不做所谓的“合同工”以挣取每天的口粮。有些人打扫房子,但是大多数人割稻子、清洗大米。

评估需求

联合国儿童基金会正在实地评估这些难民学龄儿童的教育需求。通过与难民教师的合作,每天当地学校的课程结束之后,在利比里亚的学校里继续开设科特迪瓦的课程。

联合国儿童基金会儿童保护专员马修.弗洛默(Matthew Flomo)解释说: “我们正在为那些应该在课堂里读书的儿童们制作一个名册。很快我们就可以提供教育工具包,这样他们才能获得学习用的工具。”

在宁巴县的多普雷村,100名难民儿童最近开始上写作课和数学课。开始正常的学校生活和娱乐活动将可以给这些儿童带来一种生活恢复正常的感觉,从而帮助他们减轻流离失所造成的创伤。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
一名难民女孩在上数学课。开设数学课的目的是在当地学校的课程结束后,在利比里亚的学校里继续教授科特迪瓦的课程。

弗洛默先生说:“首先,他们将可以彼此进行社交及学术互动。我们还会提供娱乐工具包,这样他们可以参与游戏和体育活动。”

教育是生命线

对于这些儿童来说,回学校上课已经成为了他们的生命线。

15岁的奥利弗(Olivier)逃离科特迪瓦的村庄时,他认为他的教育就此结束了。他说:“至少现在在利比里亚,联合国儿童基金会来帮助我们回归课堂。这真的让我高兴极了。”

对数千名科特迪瓦的难民儿童来说,一点点帮助都可以产生很长远的影响。一个笔记本和一支笔,甚至是一个足球都可以点燃生活恢复正常的希望。


 

 

回到正轨

搜索

At a glance: Liberia

Liberia and UNICEF support health and education for Ivorian refugee children

By Eva Gilliam

NIMBA COUNTY, Liberia, 17 January 2011 – The river is calm as Basile, 8, stands on its bank and casts his fishing line. He has come to this spot near the eastern border of Liberia every day for the last six weeks, a respite from the turmoil of his flight from neighbouring Côte d’Ivoire. And if he catches any fish, he knows that he and is three siblings will eat today.

VIDEO: 14 January 2011 - UNICEF's Eva Gilliam reports on health and education interventions supported by UNICEF and the Liberian Government for Ivorian refugee children.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Basile is one of an estimated 13,000 Ivoirian children currently seeking refuge in Liberia, more than half of whom are under the age of five.

A total of at least 25,000 people have crossed into the country since elections held in Côte d’Ivoire at the end November and the political crisis that ensued. They are living in over-crowded houses in host communities, and often in schools. In many cases, up to five families – or 25 people – must share a single room.

Immunization teams

Given the influx of refugees into these villages, food is scarce and health risks are high.

In response to the health threat, immunization teams from the Liberian Government are going from village to village to vaccinate children and mothers against polio and yellow fever, with support from UNICEF and other partners.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Vaccinator Edward Gono from the Liberian Ministry of Health immunizes an Ivorian refugee child as part of a village-to-village campaign supported by UNICEF and other partners.

“The Ministry of Health does not know the vaccination status of the people back in Ivory Coast,” says Edward Gono, a vaccinator in Nimba County. “So they have to make sure they protect the child-bearing mothers and children against all diseases.”

Learning disrupted

For school-age refugee children, classes have been completely disrupted. Local schools here serve more often as shelters rather than learning spaces.

Fugence, 8, has been living in a two-room school with 50 others since arriving from Côte d’Ivoire. He is eager to attend classes, but in his small host village there are none to be had. Instead, he spends his days pumping water for the adults or working in the fields for a small portion of rice.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Local schools in Liberian host communities serve more often as shelters than learning spaces for school-age Ivorian refugee children like those seen here.

Like Fugence, many children have to work what they call ‘contracts’ for their daily ration. Some clean houses, but most are cutting and cleaning rice.

Assessing needs

UNICEF is on the ground assessing the education needs of these school-age refugee children. In cooperation with teachers who are themselves refugees, classes are being set up to continue the Ivorian curriculum in Liberian schools after local school sessions end each day.

“We are creating a roster of all the children who should be in classes,” explains UNICEF Education Officer Matthew Flomo. “And soon we will be delivering education kits so that they have the tools they need to study.”

In the Nimba County village of Duoplay, 100 refugee children recently started attending classes in writing and mathematics. Starting a regular school and recreational routine will give these children a semblance of normal life – helping to reduce the trauma of their displacement.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A refugee girl takes part in a math class set up as part of an effort to continue the Ivorian curriculum in Liberian schools after local school sessions end each day.

“First they will get to interact socially and academically with one another,” says Mr. Flomo. “And we are also providing recreational kits so that they can participate in play and sport.”

Education as a lifeline

For these children, going back to school has become a lifeline.

Olivier, 15, thought his education was over when he fled his home village in Côte d’Ivoire. “At least here in Liberia today, UNICEF came to help us to return to class,” he says. “Truly, it makes me very happy.”

For thousands of Ivorian refugee children, a little goes a long way. With just a notebook and pen, or even a soccer ball, they can begin to hope for normal life.


 

 

New enhanced search