利比里亚

1.5万余科特迪瓦民众逃离国内政治危机,到利比里亚寻求庇护

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2756/Diggs
3岁的丹.伍利是目前登记的逃到利比里亚南部地区年龄最小、无人看护的儿童,他现在和另一户难民家庭住在一起,等待在边境找到他的家人。

米拉.帕拉函及比尔.迪格斯报道

利比里亚,宁巴县,2010年12月28日 – 12岁的温雅.巴斯描述他们一家的苦难经历——上个月科特迪瓦总统决选后发生暴力冲突,他们一家在灌木丛里跋涉了三天越过国境来到利比里亚。

自选举开始后,数千名科特迪瓦民众逃离本国,其中大部分是妇女和儿童,温雅就是其中之一。她说:“有很多人跟我们一起逃走,我们之所以这样是因为怕叛乱分子来打我们。”

近三周以来,联合国难民事务高级专员和利比里亚难民遣送和安置委员会已经登记了1.5万余科特迪万难民。难民暂时住在利比里亚寄宿家庭,但很多寄宿家庭已经人满为患。

人道主义援助

面对难民的涌入,基于数月前制订的应急计划,难民署和政府正在协调多部门的人道主义援助方案。他们同非政府组织合作,确保及时迅速地为有需要的民众提供服务和物资。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2758/Diggs
联合国儿童基金会水和卫生项目官员科蒂玛.瓦塔库同利比里亚宁巴县的合作伙伴一起工作,儿基会在受科特迪瓦难民涌入影响的该地区促进公共和环境卫生。

为难民和寄宿家庭发放的基本物资包括炊具、毯子、肥皂、蚊帐和垫子等。与此同时,世界粮食计划署正在加快对受影响地区食物的发放,世界卫生组织也在同卫生部合作,为难民提供医疗服务。

联合国儿童基金会同政府相关部门、拯救儿童组织和其它民间团体伙伴合作,在营养、水和卫生、儿童保护以及教育领域协调危机援助措施。

联合国儿童基金会水和卫生专家山姆.特里格勒恩(Sam Treglown)说;“这里为难民安置了22个居住点,由于路况很差,要为所有社区提供安全饮用水、卫生设施和其它服务是相当大的挑战。我们正在尽力尽快为所有社区提供必要物资。”

恶化的环境

住在利比里亚北部和科特迪瓦南部边境地区的很多社区民众属于同一个民族,方言也很相似。宁巴县基斯布莱镇镇长维克特.G.瓦尔勒(Victor G. Warleh)说,实际上很多科特迪瓦家庭与利比里亚家庭因为通婚而有亲缘关系。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2753/Diggs
利比里亚移民局官员对来自科特迪瓦的寻求庇护者进行登记,其中大部分是妇女和儿童。

他说:“他们就像我们本民族的人一样,我们说同样的语言,也很高兴接待他们。他们应该和我们一起种田,这样就能为所有人生产出足够的食物了。”

尽管利比里亚当地人很友好,但是寄宿社区的生活条件依然很恶劣。一间小屋子里要容纳多达20人睡觉——包括男子、妇女和儿童,很多难民儿童患有营养不良,还有一些患上了疟疾和腹泻疾病,难民中还有很多孕妇和哺乳期妇女。

希望和平

据联合国难民署统计,60%以上的科特迪瓦难民都在18岁以下,其中很多都没有家人的陪伴。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2754/Diggs
宁巴县都布莱镇,一位100岁的利比里亚老奶奶戈姆.诺莎为一些科特迪瓦难民提供住所。

3岁的丹.伍利对联合国儿童基金会的评估小组说:“当时我正在玩,看到有很多人一起走过去,我就跟上了他们。”丹是目前登记的最小的无家人陪伴的儿童。在边境附近找到他的家人之前,由一个难民家庭负责照顾他。

虽然距利比里亚14年的内战结束已经七年之久,但邻国科特迪瓦的冲突又让利比里亚民众开始忧心忡忡。尽管如此,住在利比里亚边境宁巴县都布莱镇的百岁老人戈姆.诺莎还是很高兴让一个年轻的科特迪瓦家庭在她家寄宿。
 
这位百岁老人说:“我们尽力和客人们分享我们拥有的一切,但我们的食物不多,不能维持很长时间,我一生经历过很多事情,现在我所祈祷和希望的就是国家和平。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Liberia

Thousands of Ivorians flee political crisis, seeking refuge in Liberia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2756/Diggs
Dan Woulie, 3, the youngest unaccompanied child registered so far among the Ivorian refugees in northern Liberia, is staying with another refugee family until his family is traced from across the border.

By Miraj Pradhan and Bill Diggs

NIMBA COUNTY, Liberia, 28 December 2010 – Wonyen Basee, 12, describes her family’s ordeal – a three-day walk through the bush and across the border into Liberia – in wake of violence that has followed the presidential run-off in her native Côte d’Ivoire last month.

Wonyen is among the thousands of Ivorians – most of them children and women – who have fled since the elections took place. “There were many people walking with us. We ran away because we were afraid that the rebels would come to beat us,” she says.

The UN High Commissioner for Refugees and the Liberia Refugee Repatriation and Resettlement Commission have registered more than 15,000 Ivorians in Liberia during the past three weeks. The refugees are living with Liberian host families, but many of the host communities are already overburdened.

Humanitarian response

The refugee agency and the government are coordinating a multi-sectoral humanitarian response to the influx, based on a contingency plan that was developed months ago. Along with non-governmental organizations, they are working to ensure that services and supplies quickly reach those in need.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2758/Diggs
UNICEF Water and Sanitation Officer Kortima Wataku works with partners in Nimba County, Liberia, where UNICEF is promoting safe hygiene and sanitation in areas affected by an influx of refugees from Côte d’Ivoire.

Essential items being distributed to refugees and host families include cooking pots, blankets, soap, mosquito nets and mats. Meanwhile, the World Food Programme is expediting food distribution in affected areas, and the World Health Organization is working with the Ministry of Health to increase health-care services.

UNICEF is coordinating the crisis response for nutrition, water and sanitation, child protection and education, in partnership with relevant government ministries, Save the Children and other civil society partners.

“There are more than 22 settlements hosting refugees, and it is quite a challenge to provide all communities with safe drinking water and sanitation facilities and other services due to bad road conditions,” notes UNICEF Water and Sanitation Specialist Sam Treglown. “We’re trying our best to reach the communities as early as possible.”

Deteriorating conditions

Most people in the communities along the border of northern Liberia and southern Côte d’Ivoire belong to the same ethnic group and speak a similar dialect. In fact, many of the Ivorian families are related to their Liberian counterparts through marriage, explains Victor G. Warleh, chief of Kissiplay town in Nimba County.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2753/Diggs
Officials at Liberia's Bureau of Immigration register asylum seekers from Côte d'Ivoire. most of them women and children.

“They are like our own people,” he says. “We speak the same language and we are happy to host them, but they should work with us in the farms so that we produce enough food for everyone.”

Notwithstanding the hospitality of local Liberians, living conditions in the host communities are deteriorating. As many as 20 people – including men, women and children – must sleep together in small rooms, and a substantial number of refugee children are malnourished. Others are suffering from malaria and diarrhoea. Many pregnant women and lactating mothers are among the refugees, as well.

Hope for peace

More than 60 per cent of the Ivorian refugees are under the age of 18, according to the UN refugee agency. Many of them are unaccompanied.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-2754/Diggs
Gomou Notia, a 100-year-old Liberian woman, is providing shelter for some of the Ivorian refugees in Douplay, Nimba County.

“I was playing and I saw many people in line walking by, so I followed them,” Dan Woulie, 3, told a UNICEF assessment team. Dan is the youngest unaccompanied child registered so far. A refugee family is looking after him until his family can be traced from across the border.

Seven years have passed since the end of the 14-year civil conflict in Liberia, and news of the violence in neighbouring Côte d’Ivoire is a cause of concern for many people here. Still, Gomou Notia, 100, is happy to host a young Ivorian family in Douplay, on the Liberian side of the border.

“We are trying our best to share what we have with our guests, but we do not have enough food to last for long,” says the centenarian. “I have seen a lot in my days. All I hope and pray now is for peace in our land.”


 

 

New enhanced search