利比里亚

利比里亚总统帮助联合国儿童基金会发布“世界儿童状况报告2008”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在联合国儿童基金会旗舰报告“世界儿童状况报告2008”发布期间,利比里亚总统埃伦.约翰逊-瑟利夫在性别与发展部发表讲话。

联合国儿童基金会的年度旗舰报告,2008年1月22日发表的世界儿童状况报告,呼吁为了儿童的生存团结起来。这是这个相关问题的系列报道之一。

利比里亚蒙罗维亚,2008年2月5日。利比里亚冲突后寻求越来越多的改变机会。

上个月,联合国儿童基金会在利比里亚发布了其年度旗舰报告“世界儿童状况报告2008”。这个活动是提出加强妇女和女童安全的强烈讯息的机会,同时也鼓励那些在儿童生存问题上能起作用的人做出承诺。

联合国儿童基金会西非和中非区域主任艾斯德.古鲁马博士在利比里亚参加了发行仪式。

“战争前,战争期间以及冲突后的现在我都在这里,”古鲁马博士说。“我感觉利比里亚就是我的家。利比里亚的儿童是利比里亚的未来。所以,我们对儿童进行投资是很重要的。我们要不断努力,如果国家拥有和平,我们就能成功。”

“使之成为一份工作文件”

利比里亚最有影响力和号召力的领导人参加了“世界儿童状况报告2008”的发布。

总统埃伦.约翰逊-瑟利夫提醒与会者说:“儿童生存是每个人的事情。”她要求大家参与对报告的成果进行研究和分析,以确定为降低利比里亚儿童死亡率要做的事情。

 “我们提请我们的立法者领会这个报告,并在会议上进行讨论,立法机关适时地提出政策和法律,制定一份工作文件,给政府部门支持,”瑟利夫女士说。

建设得比以前更好

出席发行仪式的有联合国秘书长特别代表艾伦.洛伊,以及黎巴嫩、塞拉利昂和瑞典驻利比里亚的大使们。当然,儿童也出席了发行仪式,音乐、歌曲和舞蹈贯穿了这个欢快和令人鼓舞的活动中。

发言的每个人都强调加强降低儿童死亡率工作的紧迫感。有的发言者再次呼吁要确保利比里亚女孩和所有儿童的安全。发行仪式的最后,青年议会的代表赠送了一份用蓝色和白色缎带装饰的报告。

“现在战争已经结束,我们不应该错过重建国家和学校的机会。”古鲁马博士说。

“联合国儿童基金会将和你们站在一起。我们将在‘建设得比以前更好’方面给你们提供帮助!”


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年1月:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾米.贝内特就联合国儿童基金会旗舰报告“世界儿童状况报告2008”在利比里亚的发布进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

At a glance: Liberia

Liberia's President helps UNICEF launch 'The State of the World’s Children 2008'

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, speaks during the launch of the UNICEF flagship report, 'The State of the World’s Children 2008', at the Ministry of Gender and Development.

UNICEF’s yearly flagship report, 'The State of the World’s Children', which launched on 22 January 2008, makes a call to unite for child survival. Here is one in a series of related stories.

MONROVIA, Liberia, 5 February 2008 – More and more, post-conflict Liberia is finding opportunities for change.

Last month, the country launched UNICEF’s annual flagship report, 'The State of the World’s Children 2008'. The event was an opportunity to hammer home messages of increasing safety for women and girls, as well as to encourage commitment by those who can make a difference on the issue of child survival.

UNICEF's Regional Director for West and Central Africa, Dr. Esther Guluma, was in Liberia for the launch.

“I have been here prior to the war, during the war and now, again, post-conflict,” Dr. Guluma said. “I consider Liberia as my home. The children of Liberia are the future of Liberia. Therefore, it is important that we invest in children. We have to continue our efforts and we can only succeed if there is peace in the country.”

‘Make this a working document'

The launch of 'The State of the World’s Children 2008' gathered together some of Liberia’s most influential and inspirational leaders.

President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf reminded the audience that “child survival is everybody's business.” She asked those in attendance to study and analyze the findings of the report in order to determine what must be done to reduce child mortality in Liberia. 

“We call upon our legislators to take this report and discuss it in their meetings and begin to pinpoint where the legislature, in support of the administration, can come up with policies and laws and make this a working document,” said Ms. Sirleaf.

Building back better

Among those present at the launch event were Ellen Loj, Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General, along with ambassadors from Lebanon, Sierra Leone and Sweden. Of course, children were also in attendance, and the lively and inspiring programme was interspersed with music, song and dance.

Everyone who spoke emphasized the urgency of intensifying efforts to reduce child mortality. Several of the speakers picked up the call to make Liberia safe for girls and fit for all children. The launch ended with the presentation of a copy of the report, decorated with blue and white ribbons, by the Youth Parliament representative. 

“Now that the war is over, we should not miss the opportunity to rebuild the country and the schools,” said Dr. Guluma. “UNICEF will remain by your side. We will help you to ‘build back better’!”


 

 

Video

January 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the launch in Liberia of UNICEF’s flagship report, 'The State of the World’s Children 2008'.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search