莱索托

在莱索托,向所有孕妇提供卫生保健服务,旨在根除艾滋病毒母婴传播

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lesotho/2011/Mohale
在莱索托,孕妇参与“妈福”计划('Mafao' programme)的启动仪式。“妈福”亦称“母婴包”,是保持母婴健康所需的抗生素和其他卫生保健用品包。

玛露米. 莫黑尔报道

莱索托佩林达巴(PHELINDABA),2012年5月30日——萨图(Thato)和她的丈夫萨帮.佩里(Thabang Peli)都是艾滋病毒携带者。他们定期接受抗逆转录病毒治疗,现在身体健康。同时,借助一些预防性疗法,他们分别5岁和9个月大的两个儿子在出生时都没有感染艾滋病毒。

给予携带艾滋病毒孕妇的支持

当萨图怀第一个孩子时,她的婆婆马萨帮.佩里(Mathabang Peli)坚持让她进行产前保健。正是做产前咨询时,萨图得知自己是一名艾滋病毒携带者,当时她的婆婆在其身旁。

“我一直陪儿媳去诊所,陪她一起听护士讲母婴相关知识,”佩里女士说。

萨图开始接受旨在预防艾滋病毒母婴传播(PMTCT)的一系列药物治疗和服务。佩里女士对萨图给予支持,确保她按时接受药物治疗。“我知道,如果她能够生育健康的婴儿,我们的家族血脉就能得以延续。”佩里女士说。

在迈特罗亨.奎贝拉(Matlohang Qhobela)的指导下,萨图轻松渡过孕期。迈特罗亨.奎贝拉是“母亲对母亲”(Mothers2Mothers)组织的一名社区医疗工作者。该组织是一个非政府组织(NGO),旨在帮助艾滋病毒检测呈阳性的母亲。奎贝拉女士负责组织支持团体,向携带艾滋病毒的孕妇传授重要的生活技能,如:孕妇是否应该向伴侣及家人告知自己的艾滋病毒携带者身份以及如何告知实情。

“有时,女性被迫向伴侣及家人隐瞒携带艾滋病毒和接受治疗的事实,她们担心被另眼相看。”奎贝拉女士说。

降低母婴传播概率

在莱索托,艾滋病毒母婴传播仅次于异性性传播,是第二大常见的艾滋病毒传播方式。莱索托2009年的一次定点调查显示,接受产前保健的孕妇中,预计有27.7%的孕妇已是艾滋病毒携带者。卫生与社会福利部(Health and Social Welfare)称,在莱索托,每年有55000名婴儿出生,其中,15235名婴儿母亲的艾滋病毒检测结果为阳性;并且,由于缺乏预防艾滋病毒母婴传播的干预措施,预计每年有6094名新生婴儿感染艾滋病毒。

在莱索托,很多女性都是在孕期发现自己携带艾滋病毒,萨图只是其中之一,这反映了孕妇缺乏有关艾滋病毒的综合知识,很少有人接受艾滋病毒检测服务。为改变这一现状,莱索托各项公共医疗战略着重改善艾滋病毒抗体呈阳性的妇女的健康状况,降低在孕产期、哺乳期艾滋病毒母婴传播的几率。这些服务也为艾滋病毒/艾滋病的防治提供了一个很好的时机,这种集成的、优质的、以家庭为中心的治疗方式不仅关注母亲,也关注婴儿和整个家庭成员。

关爱所有孕妇

其中一种方式称为“妈福”,亦称为“母婴包”,是艾滋病毒检测呈阳性的母亲及其婴儿保持健康所需的抗逆转录病毒治疗和抗生素包。获得“母婴包”的女性会在离开诊所前得到有关服用何种药物、何时服用、婴幼儿出生后应该服用何种药物的明确指导。正是有了“母婴包”,像萨图这样的妈妈们得以让她们的孩子不被艾滋病毒感染。

在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,“母婴包”最近得到改进,以帮助所有孕妇(不论她们是否是艾滋病毒携带者)。现在,“母婴包”药物分类装在三个不同颜色的盒子里,在全国范围内向所有接受产前保健的孕妇发放。艾滋病毒抗体呈阳性的孕妇获得装有抗逆转录病毒治疗药物的“母婴包”;艾滋病毒抗体呈阴性的孕妇获得装有微量营养物和维生素A药片的“母婴包”。自2011年1月起,提供预防艾滋病毒母婴传播服务的公共医疗机构已经发放了约4万个母婴包。

联合国儿童基金会卫生主任布兰迪娜.莫唐(Blandinah Motaung)称,“母婴包”包对于那些很难再次前往诊所接受产前保健的妇女而言,尤其重要。“首次就诊最为重要,可以采取适当的艾滋病毒母婴传播干预。91.8%的女性至少接受一次产前保健,71%的女性接受四次产前保健。“母婴包”战略旨在向更多母亲——甚至向那些居住在地势险要或难以到达地区的女性提供药品,帮助预防艾滋病毒母婴传播,”莫唐女士说。

*为保护当事人身份,文中人名系化名


 

 
搜索

Lesotho

In Lesotho, reaching all pregnant women with health services to eliminate paediatric HIV infections

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lesotho/2011/Mohale
Pregnant women participate in the launch of the 'Mafao' programme in Lesotho. 'Mofao', also known as 'Mother-Baby Packs', are packages of antibiotics and other health supplies needed to keep mothers and their babies healthy.

By Malume Mohale

PHELINDABA, Lesotho, 30 May 2012 – Thato* and her husband Thabang Peli* are both living with HIV. They are healthy, thanks to the antiretroviral therapy that they take regularly. And thanks to preventative therapies, both of their sons, ages 5 years and 9 months, were born free from the virus.

Support for pregnant women living with HIV

When Thato was pregnant with her first child, her mother-in-law Mathabang Peli* insisted that she visit the antenatal clinic. It was during an antenatal consultation, with her mother-in-law by her side, that Thato learned her HIV status.

“I always accompany my daughter-in-law to the clinic and sit with her when nurses give mother-and-child talks,” said Ms. Peli.

Thato began a course of medications and services designed to prevent the mother-to-child transmission of HIV (PMTCT). Ms. Peli supported her, ensuring that she took her medications on time. “I know that if they deliver healthy babies, our family lineage will be kept alive,” Ms. Peli said.

Thato’s pregnancies were also made easy by Matlohang Qhobela, a community health worker with Mothers2Mothers, an NGO that assists HIV-positive mothers. Ms. Qhobela is responsible for organizing support groups to teach HIV pregnant women important life skills, such as whether and how to disclose one’s HIV status to partners and families.

“There are cases where women sometimes have to hide their HIV status and medication from partners and family for fear of being perceived negatively,” Ms. Qhobela said.

Reducing mother-to-child transmission

In Lesotho, HIV transmission from mother to child is the second most common mode of transmission, after heterosexual sex. A 2009 Lesotho Sentinel survey reveals that an estimated 27.7 per cent of pregnant women attending antenatal clinics are already infected with HIV. According to the Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, of the 55,000 infants born in Lesotho each year, 15,235 are born to HIV-positive mothers, and, in the absence of any interventions to prevent mother-to-child transmission, an estimated 6,094 new paediatric HIV infections would occur each year.

Like Thato, many women in Lesotho first find out about their HIV status during pregnancy,¬ reflecting a lack of comprehensive knowledge about HIV and low usage of testing services. To address this, public health strategies in Lesotho are focusing on improving the health of HIV-positive mothers and reducing transmission of the virus to their children during pregnancy, labour, delivery and breastfeeding. These services also provide an opportunity to implement integrated, high-quality, family-centred approaches to HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment, which focus not only on the mother but also on the infant and the entire family.

Care for all pregnant women

One such approach is ‘Mofao’, also known as ‘Mother-Baby Packs’, which are packages of antiretroviral treatments and antibiotics that keep HIV-positive mothers and their babies healthy. Women receiving this package leave the clinic with clear instruction on which drugs to take, when to take them, and which ones to give to their babies after birth. It is with ‘Mofao’ that mothers like Thato have been able to keep their babies HIV-free.

With support from UNICEF, the package has recently been improved to aid all pregnant women, regardless of HIV status. The contents are now packaged in three colour-coded boxes, and are distributed to all pregnant women attending antenatal care clinics in the country. HIV-positive pregnant women receive the package containing antiretroviral treatments, while HIV-negative pregnant women receive the package containing micronutrients and vitamin A tablets. Since January 2011, about 40,000 ‘Mofao’ kits have been distributed in public health facilities that provide PMTCT services.

According to UNICEF Health Officer Blandinah Motaung, the ‘Mofao’ packages are particularly critical for women who have difficulty returning to the antenatal clinics. “The first visit is the most important period for appropriate PMTCT interventions. With 91.8 per cent of women attending ANC at least once, while 71 per cent attend four times, ‘Mofao’ is a strategy to avail PMTCT medications to a greater proportion of mothers – even to those disadvantaged by difficult terrain or living in hard-to-reach areas,” Ms. Motaung said.

*Names changed to protect identities


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search