老挝人民民主共和国

联合国儿童基金会支持老挝“优质学校”计划 推行全民教育

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2010
老挝人民民主共和国北部靠近中国边境的銮南省塔米村的孩子和老师们在当地的一所小学里。

老挝人民民主共和国塔米村,2010年2月1日 – 塔米村小学主任办公室的墙上挂着一幅简单的地图。那并不是老挝的地图,甚至也不是塔米所在的这个偏远的、靠近中国边境的北方銮南省的地图。那幅地图上用墨水清楚地画着村里的66座木棚屋。

 点击此处观看视频

在地图上,塔米村的主要街道标成了红色,而周围的树林和田地标上了绿色。学校位于地图的右下角,还标有旗杆这样的细节。

但是学校主任朱利亚.彤盛(Julia Thongseng)很想解释的是每座房子上标有的圆圈和三角记号。它们代表每座房子里学龄儿童的数量。这些符号中绝大多数都是实心的,代表按时上学的儿童。空心的符号代表目前没有上学的儿童。对董升先生来说,每个空心的符号都代表了一个挑战。

策略奏效

彤盛解释说:“每个学年开始的时候,我们都收集数据来查看有多少儿童在上学。 然后,我们与教育局、家长教师协会和社区领导人见面,向他们解释学校的重要性。他们再具体跟那些没有上学的孩子们的家长谈话。”

确保每一位儿童获得至少五年的小学教育是老挝“优质学校”策略的关键内容。这项策略是老挝教育部在联合国儿童基金会的支持下实施的。这项儿童友好型教学策略的其他内容还包括参与式的学习环境、相关的课程和健康的环境,这一策略目前正显示出喜人的成果。

随着在九个省建立了优质学校,全国的入学率有所上升。最新的数字显示,将近九成的学龄男童和几乎同样多的学龄女童已经入学。

“优质学校”策略在偏远的省份面临最大的考验,那里的少数民族有自己的语言和文化;49个这样的少数民族已经被老挝政府正式承认。

贫困和其他障碍

塔米村有331人,这些人口主要来自阿卡族。这里的儿童在家里说他们自己的语言,所以主要用老挝语授课的课程可能会给他们造成困难。但是另外一个问题是贫困。对很多家庭来说,让孩子们在稻田里干活比送他们去上学更有意义,尤其是在收获的季节。

但是,彤盛绝不放弃。在发现了一户人家的孩子最近辍学后,他派佐野(Sano)老师前去把这两个年龄分别为6岁和9岁的女孩带回学校。

在走过不远的一段路后,佐野女士来到了村里一座较小的棚屋里。在和女孩父亲的短暂交谈中,她又听到了家庭破裂和贫困的类似遭遇。

佐野说:“那位父亲说他需要女孩们帮他照看婴儿,因为家里没有母亲或者外婆来照顾婴儿。遗憾的是这两个女孩现在辍学了,而且不会读也不会写。”

需要时间和努力

在回学校的路上,佐野认出了一个11岁的男孩。他正在帮一个男人把木柴运到车上。当被问道为什么这个男孩没在学校上学时,彼赫(Behea)先生显得很尴尬。

他说:“我有一个儿子和一个女儿。女孩已经在上学了,但是男孩帮我在田里干农活和家务活。明年,我想我会送男孩去上学。”

彤盛意识到像这样的个别家庭情况意味着在塔米村实现100%的入学率将需要时间和努力。

他说:“我们尽可能地跟家长们解释优质学校所提供的教育的价值。绝大多数的家庭都被说服了。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会支持老挝“优质学校”计划,推行全民教育。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

‘Schools of Quality’: UNICEF supports education for all in Lao PDR

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2010
Children of Tamy village in Lao PDR’s northern Luang Nam Province, close to the border with China, gather with teachers at the local primary school.
By Simon Ingram

TAMY VILLAGE, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, 1 February 2010 – The director’s office at the Tamy village primary school is adorned by a simple map. It’s not a map of Lao PDR, or even of the remote, northern Luang Nam Province where Tamy is situated, close to the border with China. Instead, it shows the village’s 66 wooden stilt houses, neatly depicted in black ink.

VIDEO: Watch now

The dusty track that serves as Tamy’s main street is marked in red, while the surrounding woods and fields are a green scrawl. In the bottom right-hand corner is the school itself, with the flagpole added as a thoughtful detail.

But it’s the little circles and triangles marked on each of the houses that school director Julia Thongseng is keen to explain. They represent the number of school-age boys or girls living in each house. The vast majority of the symbols are filled in, signifying children who regularly attend school. The circles and triangles that are drawn only in outline indicate children who are currently not in class. For Mr. Thonseng, each one represents a challenge.

Strategy shows results
“At the start of each academic year, we collect the numbers and see how many boys and girls are in school,” Mr. Thonseng explains. “Then we meet with the education authorities, the parent-teacher association and community leaders to explain how important school is. And they talk specifically to parents whose kids are not in school.”

Ensuring that every single child receives a minimum five years of primary schooling is a key element of Lao PDR’s ‘Schools of Quality’ approach, which is being implemented by the Ministry of Education with support from UNICEF. A participatory learning environment, relevant curriculum and a healthy environment are other features of a child-friendly schooling strategy that is now showing promising results.

With Schools of Quality set up in nine provinces, enrolment has risen nationally. Latest figures show that nearly 90 per cent of boys and almost as many girls of primary-school age are currently enrolled.

The Schools of Quality approach faces its biggest test in the remote provinces, where ethnic groups with their own language and culture are strongly represented; 49 such groups are officially recognized in Lao PDR.

Poverty and other obstacles
Tamy village has a population of 331, predominantly from the Akha ethnic group. Children here speak their own language at home and can face difficulties with a curriculum delivered mainly in Lao. But another problematic factor is poverty. For many families, there is a stronger logic in having the children help out in the rice fields, especially at harvest time, than sending them to school.

Mr. Thongseng is not giving up, however. Having identified a family whose children have recently dropped out of class, he dispatches one of his teachers, Ms. Sano, to try and bring the two girls, aged 6 and 9, back to school.

A short walk takes her to one of the smaller huts in the village, where a brief chat with the girls’ father uncovers a familiar story of family breakdown and poverty.

“The father says he needs the girls to help him look after his baby because there’s no mother or grandmother to do the job,” says Ms. Sano. “What’s sad is that the girls are now out of school and can’t even read or write.”

Time and effort required
On her way back to the school, Ms. Sano recognizes an 11-year old boy who is helping an older man load wood onto a cart. Asked why the boy is not in school, Mr. Behea seems embarrassed.

“I have one son and one daughter,” he says. “The girl goes to school already, but this boy helps me in the fields and with household chores. Next year, I think I will send this boy to school.”

Back in his office, Mr. Thongseng acknowledges that individual family situations like these mean that achieving 100 per cent school enrolment in Tamy will require time and effort.

“We explain to the parents the best we can about the value of education that a School of Quality delivers,” he says. “The vast majority of families are convinced.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF's Simon Ingram reports on support for education programmes serving children in a village in northern Lao PDR.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search