老挝人民民主共和国

联合国儿童基金会执行委员会结束对老挝人民民主共和国的实地考察

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008
联合国儿童基金会执行委员会主任安德斯.利登和副主任哈米顿.阿里在老挝人民民主共和国琅勃拉邦省霍埃诺村对卫生项目进行考察时受到当地人民的热烈欢迎。

西蒙.英格莱姆报道

老挝人民民主共和国万象,2008年2月20日。联合国儿童基金会执行委员会的成员结束了为期一周的对老挝人民民主共和国的访问,此次访问使他们对联合国儿童基金会在东南亚最贫穷的国家之一的发展所作出的贡献有了一个大致的了解。

此次访问的代表团成员来自联合国儿童基金会执行委员会 — 它是联合国儿童基金会的管理机构 — 他们访问了偏远的北部省份乌多姆赛省的一些社区,以及群山环绕的著名的世界文化遗产地琅勃拉邦省。

由执行局主任,瑞典常驻联合国代表安德斯.利登率领的执行委员会成员同常务副总理宋萨瓦.凌沙瓦阁下、卫生部长潘默.达拉罗博士等政府高层官员进行了会谈。

爱幼学校项目

一个全面的实地考察计划从老挝首都万象开始,代表团观看了僧侣们给中学生提供的艾滋病方面的佛教生活技能的课程。该课程是旨在减少疾病对年轻人的危害并禁止歧视艾滋病毒携带者和感染者项目的一部分。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008
在老挝人民民主共和国北部的拉区,执行委员会主任安德斯.利登参观了农布阿小学的一间教室。

经过短暂的飞行到琅勃拉邦后,代表们沿山路驱车长达4个小时,到达接近中国边界的北部省份乌多姆赛。在那里他们参观了农布阿小学,这是450多所受益于儿童友好学校计划中的一所 — 该计划的目标是为了让孩子在受到保护的环境中接受素质教育。该策略是在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,由教育部在整个老挝人民民主共和国贯彻落实的。

农布阿学校是老挝享有获得基础教育权利的受益者,它是由联合儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署(WFP)倡议,由澳大利亚政府通过澳大利亚国际/海外发展署出资共同发起的。执行委员会的成员们参观了该校教室,及其改进的水系统和卫生设施 — 这是在爱幼学校推广的卫生教育的一个关键部分。

“这是很有趣的概念,它是在联合国儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署的帮助下形成的综合方案,”执行委员会副主任米赫尼.伊欧.默多克指出。“我看到孩子们很高兴,太好了,给我留下很深的印象,此外还有就是社会的参与意识。

满足偏远地区儿童的需要

在出席了世界粮食计划署和联合国儿童基金会在乌多姆赛的新的共同房产项目开幕典礼后,代表团向南前往琅勃拉邦省拉区,在这个偏远的,由不同族裔组成的区域,少年儿童的健康需求尤其受到了挑战。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008
乌多姆赛省副省长坎萍.奇塔翁为世界粮食计划署-联合国儿童基金会在乌多姆赛省共同承诺的项目正式开放进行了剪彩,联合国儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署官员见证了这一时刻。

在霍埃诺村(人口683),代表团观看了来自区卫生部门的外展组为母亲和少年儿童提供有关疾病预防、营养卫生、以及诸如母乳喂养等问题的信息和指导。

在观看了儿童接受预防麻疹和其他疾病的免疫接种(并亲自为婴儿喂了一剂维生素A补充剂),利登先生表示,向这样偏远的社区提供高质量的卫生保健,其中的挑战是显而易见的。

“像这样的山区,确保儿童得到他们所需要的一揽子基本保健服务难度是很大的,”他指出。“那些参与卫生工作者的奉献,对于我来说是如此的不平凡 — 无论是护士,医疗人员或志愿者 — 他们正在帮助确保人们认识到免疫接种和其他服务的重要性。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年2月19日:
联合国儿童基金会的西蒙.英格莱姆对执行委员会在老挝人民民主共和国儿童项目的考察进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

UNICEF Executive Board wraps up field visit to Lao PDR

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008
UNICEF Executive Board President Anders Lidén and Vice-President Hamidon Ali receive a warm welcome from the people of Houay No village in Luang Prabang Province, Lao PDR, where they toured health programmes.

By Simon Ingram

VIENTIANE, Lao PDR, 20 February 2008 – Members of UNICEF’s Executive Board have ended a week-long visit to Lao PDR that gave them an overview of UNICEF’s contribution to development work in one of Southeast Asia’s poorest nations.

The visit took a delegation from the board – which acts as UNICEF’s governing body – to communities in the remote northern province of Oudomxay and to the mountains surrounding the renowned World Heritage Site of Luang Prabang.

Led by Executive Board President Anders Lidén, the Permanent Representative of Sweden to the UN, the board members held discussions with top government officials, including the Standing Deputy Prime Minister, H.E. Somsavath Lengsavath, and the Health Minister, Dr. Ponemek Dalaloy.

Child-friendly school programmes

A full programme of field visits began in the Lao capital, Vientiane, where the delegation watched monks deliver a Buddhist life-skills session on HIV/AIDS to a class of secondary school students. The session was part of a project designed to reduce the vulnerability of young people to the disease, and to curb discrimination against people living with HIV and AIDS.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008
Executive Board President Anders Lidén visits a classroom at Nong Bua Primary School in La District, northern Lao PDR.

After a short flight to Luang Prabang, the delegates drove on mountain roads for four hours to reach the northern province of Oudomxay, close to the border with China. There they visited Nong Bua Primary School, one of over 450 schools that have benefited from the child-friendly school strategy – so-called because it aims to give children a quality education in a protective environment. The strategy is being implemented across Lao PDR by the Ministry of Education, with UNICEF’s support.

The Nong Bua school is a beneficiary of Access to Basic Education in Laos, a joint UNICEF-World Food Programme (WFP) initiative funded by the Australian Government through AusAID. Board members toured classrooms the school’s and its improved water and sanitation facilities – a key part of the hygiene education that child-friendly schools promote.

“It’s a very interesting concept based on a comprehensive approach with the help of UNICEF and World Food Programme,” commented Executive Board Vice-President Mihnea Ioan Motoc. “I saw kids that are happy, and that’s great, and what impressed me a lot, in addition, was the sense of community participation.”

Meeting children’s needs in remote areas

After attending an opening ceremony at the new WFP-UNICEF common premises in Oudomxay, the delegation travelled south to La District in Luang Prabang Province, a remote, ethnically diverse region where meeting the health needs of young children is particularly challenging.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008
Oudomxay Province Deputy Governor Khampheng Chittavong cuts the ribbon to officially open the World Food Programme-UNICEF common premises in Oudomxay as UNICEF and WFP officials look on.

In the village of Houay No (population 683), the delegation watched an outreach team from the District Health Office give an audience of mothers and young children information and guidance on disease prevention, nutrition and hygiene, as well as issues such as breast- and infant feeding.

After watching children receive immunization against measles and other diseases (and administering a dose of vitamin A supplement himself), Mr. Lidén said the challenges involved in providing quality health care to such remote communities were plain to see.

“In mountainous areas like this, it’s far harder to make sure children receive the basic health package that they need,” he noted. “What’s remarkable to me is the dedication of the health staff involved – whether they are nurses, health staff or volunteers – who are helping ensure people recognize the importance of immunization and other services.”

An indelible impression

In the nearby community of Nambor, the delegation was briefed on an innovative project – undertaken by UNICEF in collaboration with Glaxo Smith Kline and the Asian Development Bank – to promote community awareness and demand for immunization and other health services. The project targets underserved ethnic communities, in particular.

On their return to Vientiane, the board members visited a drop-in centre for street children. Operated by the NGO Friends International, the centre is the only one of its kind in the country.

Children at the centre put on an energetic display of break-dancing for the visitors before taking part in a spirited dialogue with them. The views of these young people, perhaps more than anything else on their visit, left an indelible impression on the board delegates as they prepared to leave Lao PDR. Thirty-five years after its first projects were launched here, UNICEF’s commitment to Lao children remains as strong as ever.


 

 

Video

19 February 2007:
UNICEF’s Simon Ingram reports on the Executive Board’s visit to programmes for children in Lao PDR.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search