老挝人民民主共和国

老挝人民民主共和国近八年来首次爆发霍乱疫情

UNICEF Photo: Lao PDR, cholera
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008/ Leuanvilay
老挝人民民主共和国卫生部的水质专家布阿乔.苏万宋博士(左二),在色贡省霍乱爆发后,给村民演示了使用氯气给水消毒的技术。

汤姆.格林伍德报道

老挝人民民主共和国万象,2008年1月30日。老挝人民民主共和国南部地区近8年来首次爆发霍乱疫情,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴已做出了积极的回应。

确保安全饮用水和足够的卫生设施是解决霍乱,水传染的疾病的实质。因此,紧急支援措施包括在水源中加入氯气,修复被破坏的水井钻孔和对村民进行卫生方面的教育等。

联合国儿童基金会同老挝卫生部、世界卫生组织和亚洲开发银行共同采取紧急措施。

12月下旬疫情在色贡省的偏远地区首先被证实。到1月中旬,疫情已蔓延至塔泰恩和拉曼地区约30个村庄,362个严重腹泻病例报告,其中3例死亡。

“如今我们已经确保人们能够获得安全的饮用水,厕所及煮沸的水,这不仅限于色贡省两个受影响的地区,还涉及所有周边地区,”联合国儿童基金会驻老挝人民民主共和国负责水、环境卫生和个人卫生部门的科长阿普杜莱.凯凯说。

UNICEF Photo: Lao PDR, cholera
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008/ Leuanvilay
一名霍乱患者在疫区村庄附近的临时医疗中心接受治疗。

快速反应

联合国儿童基金会首次派往该地区的联合评估团的代表凯凯先生,赞扬了政府在处理危机中的快速反应。1月11日,老挝人民民主共和国总理布阿索内.布帕万视察了色贡,协调各方全力处理疫情,并慰问了霍乱病人。

“政府对疫情的反应非常好,”凯凯先生说。“来自高层领导人的关注,有助于遏制疫情。”

确保人们能够获得安全饮用水一直是联合国儿童基金会的首要问题,作为志愿者,主要任务是在色贡省卫生部门的帮助下,抢修受损手动泵,和分发净水药片。

未来充满希望

同时,联合国儿童基金会正同当地的卫生官员一起开展宣传活动,通过海报、广播和电视、公共广播、社区外展计划等向人们传达有关安全卫生习惯的讯息。

卫生专家正寄望于疫情已经得到控制。自1月3日以来,已经没有霍乱死亡病例。

“新发病的数目已大幅下降,”联合国儿童基金会驻老挝人民民主共和国负责行政少年儿童生存和发展部门的科长博士阿卜杜.卡里姆.安德尔说。“这意味着人们已经知道如何避免感染。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

Lao PDR suffers first cholera outbreak in nearly eight years

UNICEF Image: Lao PDR, cholera
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008/ Leuanvilay
A water quality expert from the Lao PDR Ministry of Health, Dr. Bouakeo Suvanthong (second from left), demonstrates water disinfection techniques using chlorine to villagers after an outbreak of cholera in the Sekong Province.

By Tom Greenwood

VIENTIANE, Lao PDR, 30 January 2008 – The first outbreak of cholera in southern Lao People's Democratic Republic in nearly eight years has prompted a vigorous response from UNICEF and its partners.

Securing safe water and adequate sanitation is essential in tackling cholera, a water-borne disease. As such, immediate support has included chlorinating water sources, repairing damaged bore holes and educating villagers on hygiene.

UNICEF's response is in close coordination with the Lao Ministry of Health, the World Health Organization and the Asian Development Bank.

The epidemic was first recognized in the remote Sekong Province in late December. By mid-January, it had spread to some 30 villages in the Thataeng and Lamam Districts, where 362 cases of severe diarrhoea were reported, including three deaths.

“Now we are ensuring that people have access to safe drinking water, latrines and boiled water, not just in the two affected districts of Sekong Province but in all surrounding areas,” said UNICEF’s Chief of Water, Sanitation and Hygiene for Lao PDR, Abdulai Kaikai.

UNICEF Image: Lao PDR, cholera
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2008/ Leuanvilay
Cholera patients at a temporary medical centre near the affected villages.

Swift response

Mr. Kaikai, who represented UNICEF on the initial joint assessment mission to the area, commended the swift reaction of the government in dealing with the crisis. On 11 January, Lao PDR Prime Minister Bouasone Bouphavanh visited Sekong to coordinate efforts to deal with the outbreak and meet cholera patients.

“The government responded very, very well,” Mr. Kaikai said. “There was concern right from the top leadership. That helps with containment.”

Ensuring that people have access to safe drinking water has been one of UNICEF’s top priorities, as volunteers work to repair broken handpumps and distribute water-purification tablets with the assistance of the Sekong Provincial Health Department.

Hopeful for the future

Meanwhile, UNICEF is working with local health officials on a communication campaign to inform people about safe sanitation practices through poster billboards, radio and television messages, announcements from loudspeakers and community outreach programmes.

Health experts are now hopeful that the outbreak has been contained. No deaths have been reported since 3 January.

“The number of new cases has dramatically dropped,” said UNICEF’s Chief of Young Child Survival and Development for Lao PDR, Dr. Aboudou Karimou Andele. “This means people have understood what to do to avoid infection.”


 

 

New enhanced search