利比亚

利比亚战争之后,联合国儿童基金会为受创伤的儿童提供支持

盖.哈巴德报道

利比亚班加西,2011 年 10 月 24 日 —— 四岁大的奥马尔.萨勒姆躺在医院的病床上,瘦小的身体上布满伤疤。一道刚愈合的伤疤延伸至整个躯干,永远提醒着那个几乎使他丧生的日子。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖.哈巴德(Guy Hubbard) 报道联合国儿童基金会为帮助在利比亚战争中受影响的儿童而做出的努力。 在Realplayer中播放
“事情发生在那天下午三点,”奥马尔的阿姨菲特玛回忆道。是菲特玛将他从锡尔特带到了这里。“反对派开始发射火箭弹时,全家人都在家里,包括奥马尔、他的父亲以及两个姐姐伊斯拉和萨基达。北约直升机盘旋的时候,他们向另一所房子跑去。然后,当他们到达另一所房子的时候,直升机用两颗火箭弹击中了他们。他的两个姐姐和父亲被炸成了碎片——还未到达医院就过世了。”

菲特玛在描述这一悲剧时,脸上的肌肉因悲痛而抽搐。战乱初期,她在锡尔特当护士。源源不断的受伤士兵、以及更多的受伤平民被送入医院救治,使得她一连好几个星期都不能休息。

“在我的家人还没有被送到医院之前,我已经在那里连续工作九天了—— 医院收治的伤亡人员实在太多。在那之后,我又连着工作了16 天。”她解释说。

直到医院成为了被袭击的目标,一位同事已经牺牲的时候,菲特玛才不得不离开锡尔特,带着受伤的侄子来到班加西的阿尔.杰拉 (Al Jalaa) 医院。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会正在努力重建学校,提高公众对受战争影响的儿童所面临的心理问题的认识。

联合国儿童基金会提供支持

自从二月份战乱爆发以来,阿尔.杰拉一直处于高度警戒状态。艾玛德.穆罕默德医生目睹了数百人从他的急诊室穿过。“医院接收了很多受伤的平民,大部分是腹部和大腿受伤。”他解释说,“他们大部分人还未到达医院就已经死亡。”

还有一些流离失所的家庭来到了班加西市郊 —— 他们因为与前政权的关系而不得不逃离家园。他们把所有能装进汽车和卡车的家什都带上了路。有整整好几个星期,他们都是在一个废弃工业场所的帐篷和仓库中安营扎寨熬过的。

目前,联合国儿童基金会与其合作伙伴正在班加西附近的一个过度场所,为这些背井离乡的人提供水和卫生设施。在通过卡车和囊袋提供清洁用水的同时,他们也在为该营地安装永久性供水系统。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
联合国儿童基金会一直在与救助儿童会合作,已在班加西建立 14 所儿童友好中心,其中五所位于内部流离失所者营地。在那里,儿童们能够重拾正常生活状态。

重新开放学校

另外,联合国儿童基金会一直在与救助儿童会合作,已在班加西建立 14 所儿童友好中心,其中五所位于内部流离失所者营地。在那里,儿童们能够基本重拾正常生活状态。在这些地方,他们可以玩耍、画画、能够回归儿童的生活——远离战争的喧嚣纷扰。

联合国儿童基金会驻利比亚的儿童保护官员阿曼达.迈尔威利强调了战争对儿童带来的巨大的心灵伤害。“儿童正在经历着一系列不同的问题。大部分儿童都感到害怕,”她说,“所以,我们首先试着将他们带到一个安全的地方,确保他们能够有一个安全的环境,然后尽最大努力,帮他们回归常态。”

一直以来,联合国儿童基金会在这方面的第一目标就是重新开放学校,增强那些照顾儿童的人(如父母和老师)对儿童面临的心理问题的认识。他们也在试图为那些在战争中受到极为严重的影响、需要特殊帮助的儿童建立一个识别和转诊系统。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Libya

In the wake of the Libyan conflict, UNICEF provides support to traumatized children

By Guy Hubbard

BENGHAZI, Libya, 24 OCTOBER 2011 – Four-year-old Omar Salem lies in a hospital bed, his tiny body covered in scars. One freshly healed wound traces its way down the full length of his torso, serving as a permanent reminder of the day he almost died.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on the organization's effort to assist children affected by the conflict in Libya.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“It was three o'clock in the afternoon,” recalls Omar's aunt Fteima, who brought him here from Sirte. “The whole family was at home, including Omar, his father and his two sisters, Isra and Sajida, when the rebels started firing rockets. They ran to another house while NATO helicopters circled. And then, when they got to the other house, the helicopter hit them with two rockets. The two sisters and their father were blown to pieces – they died before they reached the hospital.”

As she describes the tragic event, Fteima’s face contorts in anguish. She was a nurse in Sirte during the early stages of the fighting and worked weeks without a break as injured fighters and, more often, injured civilians, overwhelmed the hospital.

“Before my family was brought to me at the hospital, I had already been there nine days because of the amount of casualties we were receiving. And after that, I worked another 16 days,” she explains.

It was only when the hospital itself became a target and a colleague was killed that Fteima left Sirte and brought her injured nephew to Benghazi's Al Jalaa hospital.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF is making efforts to re-establish schools and raise awareness about the psychological issues facing children affected by the war.

UNICEF provides support

Al Jalaa has been on high alert since the start of the uprising in February. Dr. Emad Mohammed has seen hundreds of people coming through his emergency room. “We have a lot of civilian injuries, mostly to the abdomen and thigh,” he explained. “Most of them die before reaching the hospital.”

Also arriving on the outskirts of Benghazi are displaced families who have been chased from their homes for their association with the past regime. They've come with whatever they could fit in their cars and trucks, and for weeks they've camped out in tents and warehouses at an abandoned industrial site.

UNICEF is currently working with partners at a transitional site closer to town to support the water and sanitation needs of the displaced. Providing clean water through the temporary use of trucks and bladders, they are also installing a permanent water system for the camp.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF has been working with Save the Children to set up 14 child-friendly spaces in Benghazi, five of them in IDP camps, where children can return to a semblance of normality.

Reopening schools

In addition, UNICEF has been working with Save the Children to set up 14 child-friendly spaces in Benghazi, five of them in Internally Displaced Persons (IDP) camps, where children can return to a semblance of normality. In these spaces, they get to play, to draw and to be children again – away from the sights and sounds of fighting.

Amanda Melville, a Child Protection Officer for UNICEF Libya, highlighted the tremendous emotional toll war takes on a child. “Children are experiencing a range of different problems. I mean, most of them are related to feeling afraid,” she said. “So what we try to do, the first step is to get them somewhere safe, make sure they're somewhere safe, and then try as much as possible to return them to normalcy.”

One of UNICEF's first goals in this regard has been to reopen and re-establish schools and to raise awareness of the psychological issues facing children among those people who care for children, such as parents and teachers. They are also trying to set up an identification and referral system for children who have been so severely affected by the conflict that they will need specialized help.


 

 

New enhanced search