吉尔吉斯斯坦

全球经济衰退影响吉尔吉斯斯坦民众生活

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
家庭和儿童正遭受全球经济衰退的影响,因为吉尔吉斯斯坦经济的支柱、即在国外(尤其是俄罗斯)工作的吉尔吉斯工人寄回家的汇款,正受到影响。

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》签署20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会汇编了一系列文章,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题,以下是其中的一篇报道。

彼得.乔治报道

吉尔吉斯斯坦比什凯克,2009年8月6日 – 每天,图尔干纳利.肯杰巴夫(Turganaly Kenjebaev)站在一条繁忙街道旁的桥上,希望有人能来雇他干活儿。如果他幸运的话,他能够挣到4美元。

 点击此处观看视频

通常情况下,桥上会有大约70名男人和女人同他一样等待工作。肯杰巴夫先生从事的工作是户外劳动:干农活、建筑和搬运工作。在下雨天,对这类工人的需求就没有那么多了。再过几个小时,他和他的几个同样迫切需要工作的同行将会全身湿透,而且仍然没有工作。

一个摆脱贫困的机会

肯杰巴夫先生住在距离吉尔吉斯斯坦首都比什凯克40公里远的一个热闹的小镇上。和那里大多数人一样,他一直都在全身心地寻找工作——尤其是,他一个人要养活四个孩子。

作为一名称职的父亲,肯杰巴夫先生要让孩子们吃饱穿暖,还要受教育,这样他们才能有机会摆脱贫困的循环。但是形势对他来说很不妙。吉尔吉斯斯坦正遭受着全球经济衰退的影响,而这个国家经济的支柱,即在国外(尤其是俄罗斯)工作的吉尔吉斯工人寄回家的汇款,正遭受破坏。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
今年晚些时候将出台的新法律规定所有在吉尔吉斯斯坦出售的面粉必须强化铁、维生素及其他重要微量营养素的含量,因为它们将有助于儿童身心的健康发展。

经济衰退波及

吉尔吉斯斯坦530万的人口中有大约50万人在国外打工。自从前苏联时代以来,这些工人送回家的钱已经成为经济的中流砥柱。

联合国儿童基金会驻吉尔吉斯斯坦代表蒂莫希.沙夫特(Timothy Schaffter)说:“汇款的数量正开始减少,而且我们预期明年汇款的数量还会更大幅减少。这将给各家各户带来非常大的影响,很多家庭都生活在贫困地区。”

他补充说:“我们所看到的一个很严重的影响就是自2007年以来食品价格惊人地上涨了50% 。这在一大部分人口当中造成了粮食不安全状况,而且zhe 是一个非常严重的问题。”

不堪基本生活需求的重负

肯杰巴夫先生过于忙着找工作和喂养孩子,以至于他现在已经两耳不闻天下事了。

他说:“我晚上很晚回家,没有时间读报纸。当然,现在生活越来越难了,因为没有工作。如果有工作的话,我肯定是在干活了。”

但是肯杰巴夫先生打算无论如何都要继续送孩子上学。他最关心的就是孩子们是不是能吃饱,和他们是否能从吃的食物里获取所需的营养。

他说:“大多数人家都发现他们买不起食物了,而且有些家的情况比我还糟。至少,我能借食物,比如一袋面粉,而且我能赚钱还债。但是有些人连这个都做不到 。”

确保儿童的健康

《儿童权利公约》规定儿童有获得有营养的食物的权利。

在《儿童权利公约》精神的指引下,联合国儿童基金会正与吉尔吉斯政府合作颁布立法,以帮助像肯杰巴夫先生这样的家长解决有关营养的担忧。

今年晚些时候,新的法律将规定所有在吉尔吉斯斯坦出售的面粉必须强化铁、维生素及其他重要微量营养素的含量,因为它们将有助于儿童身心健康发展。

正如联合国儿童基金会的沙夫特先生所说:“由于食品成本的上涨,人们在吃更多的面包。幸运的是,现在的面包增加了这些非常重要的营养成分的含量。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员彼得.乔治就全球经济衰退对吉尔吉斯斯坦家庭的影响进行了报道。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Kyrgyzstan

Families in Kyrgyzstan hit hard by global recession

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Families and children are suffering the effects of the global recession as the backbone of its economy in Kyrgyzstan – remittances sent from Kyrgyz workers in other countries, particularly Russia – takes a blow.

In the run-up to the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child – a landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about progress made and challenges that remain.

By Peter George

BISHKEK, Kyrgyzstan, 6 August 2009 – Every day, Turganaly Kenjebaev stands on a bridge beside a busy main road, hoping that someone will stop by and offer him a job for the day. If he’s lucky, he’ll earn $4.

VIDEO: Watch now

On most days, there are roughly 70 men and women waiting with him on this bridge, but in the rain there is not much demand for the sort of outdoor day labour Mr. Kenjebaev can offer: farm, construction or loading work. After a couple of hours, he and a  few other men equally desperate for work will be thoroughly damp – and still unemployed for the day.

A chance to break out of poverty

Mr. Kenjebaev lives in a bustling town about 40 km outside Bishkek, the capital of Kyrgyzstan. Like the majority of people who live there, he is constantly preoccupied with finding, especially as he is raising four children on his own.

As a dedicated father, Mr. Kenjebaev wants to feed, clothe and educate his offspring so that they have a chance  to break out of the cycle of poverty. But the odds are increasingly stacked against him. Kyrgyzstan is suffering the effects of the global recession, and the backbone of its economy – remittances sent from Kyrgyz workers in other countries, particularly Russia – has taken a blow.   

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Later this year, new laws will mandate that all bread flour sold in Kyrgyzstan must be fortified with iron, vitamins and other essential micro-nutrients, which will contribute towards the healthy development of children’s minds and bodies.

Recession hits home

Of Kyrgyzstan’s 5.3 million people, an estimated that half-million are working outside the country. The money that such workers send home has been a mainstay of the country’s economy since the days of the Soviet Union.

“The amounts are beginning to decrease, and we expect an even greater decline next year," said UNICEF Representative in Kyrgyzstan Timothy Schaffter. "This will have a very significant effect on families, many of whom live in the poorer areas.

“One very serious impact we see is an astronomical 50 per cent increase in the price of food from 2007. This is creating food insecurity among large sections of the population and is a very serious concern,” he added. 

Overwhelmed by basic needs

Mr. Kenjebaev is too busy trying to find work and feed his children to keep up with what is happening in the rest of the world.

“I come home late in the evening and I have no time to read newspapers. I only think about feeding the children,” he said. “Of course, it’s becoming harder and harder because there’s no work. If there was work, I’d be working.”

But Mr. Kenjebaev plans says to keep sending his children to school no matter what. His main concern is that they aren’t getting enough to eat or the right nutrients from what they do consume.

“Most families find it difficult to afford food, and there are families worse off than mine. At least I can borrow food, like a sack of flour, and work to repay the debt. But some families can’t even do this,” he said.

Keeping children healthy

The Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) states that all children have the right to nutritious food.

In the spirit of the CRC, UNICEF is working with the Kyrgyz Government to enact legislation that will help to address the nutritional concerns of parents like Mr. Kenjebaev. Later this year, new laws will mandate that all bread flour sold in Kyrgyzstan must be fortified with iron, vitamins and other essential micro-nutrients, which will contribute to the healthy development of children’s minds and bodies.

As UNICEF’s Mr. Schaffter noted: “Due to the rising costs of food, people are eating more bread, and fortunately now this bread will be fortified with these important micro-nutrients.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Peter George reports on the effects of the global recession on families in Kyrgyzstan.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search