肯尼亚

灾区日志:在非洲之角挽救每一个孩子的生命

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Gangale
在肯尼亚东北部瓦吉尔地区医院(Wajir District Hospital) 的联合国儿童基金会援助的安置中心,联合国儿童基金会传播官员西佛拉.莫尼埃 (Cifora.Monier) 搂着患有严重营养不良的、只有一岁大的宝宝泽顿 (Zeitun),一名护士正准备将喂食管插入宝宝的鼻孔。

蒂姆.莱威思报道

肯尼亚内罗毕,2011 年 10 月 18 日 —— 世界各地的联合国儿童基金会成员正通过各种方式从事拯救生命的工作。对于在健康、营养和保护等项目中直接与儿童和家庭打交道的相关人员来说,所取得的效果往往较为明显。比如,帮助一名婴儿接受麻疹免疫、一名母亲防治破伤风、一名腹泻儿童补充水分、或者另一名儿童在武装冲突中幸免于难。

而对于联合国儿童基金会对外联络的人员来说,情况就完全不同了。一般来说,我们无法直观地看到所前线工作对于拯救生命产生了何种影响。我们只能希望所传递的消息能在捐赠者中产生共鸣,让他们对该基金会的全球倡议给予大力支持。

不过,请不要告诉传播专员西佛拉.莫尼埃这些情况。

需求井喷

上周,在肯尼亚东北部一个偏僻的半干旱角落,莫尼埃正陪同三名联合国儿童基金会国家委员会的负责人参观瓦吉尔区医院。医院的一块铭牌显示,这所医院是二战期间由意大利战俘协助建造,现在已经显得比较陈旧。

在该医院的一个地面破烂不平的院子里,代表团会见了总护士长哈珊.阿巴斯 (Hassan Abass),她向联合国儿童基金会表示谢意,感谢该基金会提供了大量医用牛奶和用于治疗营养不良儿童的其他用品。然而,阿巴斯指出,尽管获得了这些援助,瓦吉尔医院以及整个地区仍非常缺乏安全饮用水。

阿巴斯还表示,瓦吉尔医院已无法满足受旱灾影响的瓦吉尔镇附近广大地区的游牧牧民日益增长的需求。他们中的很多人穿过约 100 公里外的边境线,逃离了索马里南部的饥荒和冲突。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Gangale
肯尼亚东北部迎来了连续数月干旱之后的首次降雨,但是干涸的地面无法吸收雨水,导致洪水泛滥,威胁着瓦吉尔区医院使用的浅水井的安全。

简短的会面之后,莫尼埃带领一行人来到了该医院的儿科安置中心。该安置中心医治的营养不良的儿童还患有疟疾、肺炎、腹泻甚至蛇咬伤等医学并发症。莫尼埃一行人穿过病房,停下来与坐在低架床边陪同孩子的母亲们交谈,她们的孩子都很虚弱,大多数都在进行静脉注射。

粗暴的爱

一位母亲哈利玛.奥玛 (Halima Omar) 戴着褐色头巾,她说自己有 20 岁了,但看上去要年轻些。她一岁的女儿泽顿身体瘦小,正在她旁边睡觉。

医院的营养学家露西.吉顿加 (Lucy Gittonga) 告诉代表团,泽顿患有疟疾和严重营养不良。吉顿加还说,奥玛已经同意在孩子身上使用抗疟药。虽然这位年轻母亲一开始表示同意,但现在却拒绝让护士通过喂食管给泽顿喂食——尽管泽顿由于过度虚弱,无法通过口服的方式饮用强化牛奶。这样一来,泽顿的生存机率就几乎为零了。

“这很常见,”吉顿加说,她注意到,该地区的某些传统信仰和行为经常会阻碍到所需的医疗和营养干预行动。

此时,沟通专员莫尼埃显得很沮丧。几秒钟内,她就从客观的观察者转变成了更为活跃的角色。她通过索马里翻译冲着奥玛问了一系列尖直率的问题,质疑她给予自己未成年女儿的爱可能过于粗暴。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Gangale
最近,联合国儿童基金会新西兰执行主任戴维.麦金利.(David McKinlay) 和另外两名国家委员会负责人访问了瓦吉尔区医院。他站在一个储藏室中,储藏室堆满了由联合国儿童基金会向当地安置中心提供的营养品。

“你是医生吗,”她问道,“你知道这条喂食管会救孩子的命吗?有没有人让你拒绝这么做?”

“正确抉择”

一开始奥玛还很固执。“如果我女儿死了,那是上帝的旨意,”她说道。不过,当莫尼埃和其他人一直坚持,并说明喂食管不会伤害泽顿时,奥玛羞怯地笑了。随后,她的态度有所软化,房间里聚集的一小群人终于松了一口气。

几乎与此同时,一位护士手里拿着透明塑料管过来了。奥玛的笑容退去了。看到她在插喂食管时由于过分小心而无法搂住孩子,莫尼埃主动要求帮他抱着孩子。在护士对喂食管进行润滑时,她将泽顿放入摇篮,将喂食管插入泽顿的鼻孔,并用胶布贴牢。婴儿哭了一会儿,不过在莫尼埃将她交给母亲时便不再哭了。

“你做出了正确的决定,”莫尼埃对奥玛说,奥玛又开始微笑了。

第二天,莫尼埃返回医院,发现喂食管依然好好地插着。如果奥玛从那之后不改变主意的话,现在泽顿应该开始康复了。

抓住时机

莫尼埃在瓦吉尔的自发行动一开始可能不符合其职位要求,但却完全符合联合国儿童基金会的以下使命,即利用一切手段为每位儿童争取最大利益。

上述使命正在肯尼亚东北部地区和非洲之角其他地区试行。这里长期干旱后的糟糕风暴、似乎难以化解的冲突、以及飙升的食品价格威胁的不仅是生命,还有延续了几个世纪的生活方式。然而,即使在如此复杂的危机中,也有可能(并且非常必要)抓住机会并进行尝试,至少可以拯救一条生命。

正如西佛拉.莫尼埃将会证明的那样,得先从某个地方着手行动再说。


 

 

搜索

Kenya

Field diary: Saving lives in the Horn of Africa, one child at a time

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Gangale
UNICEF Communication Specialist Cifora Monier holds a severely malnourished one-year-old, Zeitun, as a nurse prepares to insert a feeding tube in the baby’s nose in the UNICEF-supported stabilization centre at Wajir District Hospital, north-eastern Kenya.

By Tim Ledwith

NAIROBI, Kenya, 18 October 2011 – In one way or another, every UNICEF staff member around the world is in the business of saving lives. For those who work directly with children and families in health, nutrition and protection programmes, the results are often tangible: a baby immunized against measles, a mother protected from tetanus, one child rehydrated after a dangerous bout of diarrhoea, another rescued from the front lines of armed conflict.

It’s a different story for staff members involved in UNICEF’s external communications. We don’t generally see the life-saving impact of our work first-hand. We can only hope that the messages we convey will strike a chord with donors and lead to greater support for the agency’s worldwide initiatives.

But don’t tell that to Communication Specialist Cifora Monier.

Overwhelming needs

Last week in a remote, semi-arid corner of north-eastern Kenya, Monier was escorting the directors of three UNICEF national committees on a visit to Wajir District Hospital. According to a plaque at the hospital, it was built with the help of Italian POWs during World War II; today its age is showing.

In a courtyard on the run-down hospital grounds, the delegation met with head nursing officer Hassan Abass, who thanked UNICEF for providing robust stocks of therapeutic milk and other supplies used for the treatment of malnourished children. Despite this aid, however, Abass pointed out that Wajir’s hospital, like the entire district, still suffers from poor access to safe water.

What’s more, he said, the facility has been overwhelmed by the increasing needs of drought-stricken nomadic pastoralists from a wide area around Wajir town. Many of them have fled famine and conflict in southern Somalia, crossing the border about 100 kilometres away.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Gangale
Outside Wajir District Hospital after the first rains for many months in north-eastern Kenya. Because the dried-out ground cannot absorb the rain, local flooding threatens the safety of water in shallow wells used by the facility.

After the briefing, Monier led the group into the hospital’s paediatric stabilization centre. The centre treats malnourished children whose conditions are compounded by medical complications such as malaria, pneumonia, diarrhoea and even snakebite. The visitors made their way through the ward, stopping to talk with mothers who sat on low-slung beds with their weakened children, most of whom were hooked up to IV drips.

Tough love

One of the mothers, Halima Omar, wore a tan hijab and said she was 20 but looked younger. Dozing at her side was Zeitun, her tiny, year-old daughter.

Hospital nutritionist Lucy Gittonga informed the delegation that the little girl was suffering from both malaria and severe malnutrition. Gittonga added that Omar had agreed to antimalarial medication for her child. But after initially consenting, the young mother now refused to let nurses nourish Zeitun through a feeding tube – even though she was too weak to take fortified milk orally. As a result, Zeitun’s chances of survival were practically nil.

“This is very common,” Gittonga said, noting that certain traditional beliefs and practices in the region often stand in the way of needed medical and nutritional interventions.

At this point, Communication Specialist Monier became visibly upset. Within seconds, she switched gears from neutral observer to a more active role. Through a Somali translator, she directed a series of pointed questions to Omar, channelling the kind of tough love that she might give her own teenage daughter.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Gangale
UNICEF New Zealand Executive Director David McKinlay, one of three national committee directors who visited Wajir District Hospital recently, stands in a storeroom filled with nutrition supplies provided by UNICEF for the stabilization centre there.

“Are you a doctor?” she asked. “Do you know this feeding tube will save your child’s life? Has someone told you to refuse this?”

‘The right decision’

At first, Omar held firm. “If my daughter dies, it’s God’s will,” she said. But as Monier and others persisted, explaining that the feeding tube would not harm Zeitun, she smiled sheepishly. Then she relented, to a sigh of relief from the small crowd that had gathered in the room.

Almost immediately, a nurse arrived with the clear plastic tube in hand. Omar’s smile soured. Seeing that she was too squeamish to hold the child during the procedure, Monier volunteered to hold her instead. She cradled Zeitun in her lap as the nurse lubricated the tube, inserted it through Zeitun’s nostril and taped it firmly in place. The baby cried for a few moments but calmed down by the time Monier handed her back to her mother.

“You made the right decision,” Monier told Omar, who began smiling again.

The next day, Monier returned to the hospital and found the feeding tube intact. Assuming that Omar hasn’t changed her mind since then, Zeitun should be on the way to recovery by now.

Seizing the moment

Monier’s spontaneous decision to take action in Wajir may not have been consistent with her job description, but it was completely in line with UNICEF’s mandate: to use every tool at its disposal for the best interests of every child.

That mandate is being tested in north-eastern Kenya and the rest of the Horn of Africa. Here, a perfect storm of prolonged drought, seemingly intractable conflict and soaring food prices threatens not only lives but ways of life that have endured for centuries. Yet even in the midst of such a complex crisis, it’s possible – and necessary – to seize the moment and try, at least, to save one life.

As Cifora Monier will attest, you have to start somewhere.


 

 

New enhanced search