肯尼亚

免疫接种运动惠及肯尼亚-索马里边境的弱势儿童

西格弗莱德.莫多拉报道

肯尼亚利波伊,2011年7月29日 —— 一眼望去,利波伊是肯尼亚-索马里边境一个尘土飞扬的小镇,似乎没有什么希望可言。但仔细看你会发现,由社区卫生工作者和村里的长者组成的接种队正在全力以赴地为五岁以下的儿童接种挽救生命的疫苗。

视频: 2011年7月28日 —— 联合国儿童基金会报道了免疫接种活动惠及利波伊五岁以下的儿童,利波伊是位于肯尼亚边境的小镇,是索马里饱受干旱和战争之苦的难民逃难要经过的地方。 在Realplayer中播放
这些儿童非常脆弱,因为肯尼亚东北部达达阿布附近的利波伊和其他社区正在经受三种打击,包括干旱、粮食价格飞涨和索马里难民的涌入。

干旱袭击了非洲之角的所有地区,曾经盛产牛、羊等家畜的利波伊如今不再有繁荣的景象。目前,这里的人们希望能保证孩子们不感染干旱期间最易蔓延的麻疹和脊灰等疾病。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Modola
在肯尼亚东北部利波伊镇开展的挨户接种活动中,社区卫生工作者为五岁以下的儿童接种脊灰和麻疹疫苗,并为其提供维生素 A 片剂和驱虫药。

免疫接种的重要性

联合国儿童基金会正在应对非洲之角发生的危机,为利波伊等遭受旱灾的地区提供挽救生命的疫苗。 该区域的常规免疫总体覆盖率仍然很低,疾病爆发的风险很高。

来自索马里的难民大量涌入,而索马里的免疫覆盖率也很低,这意味着当地儿童面临着感染致命疾病(尤其是麻疹)的风险。

经社区长者的动员,利波伊的父母们带孩子来到接种处,请参加免疫接种活动的卫生队为孩子接种疫苗。

哈瓦.阿布杜拉是十个孩子的母亲,她带着最小的儿子 —— 三岁的阿尤布来接种麻疹和脊灰疫苗,并领取维生素 A 片剂和驱虫药。她太了解免疫的重要性了,因为她有两个孩子感染麻疹,病情非常严重。

“我们确实需要接种疫苗来保护自己的孩子。”阿布杜拉女士说。她担心阿尤布也会染病,希望通过免疫接种让他拥有健康的未来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Modola
一名索马里逃难儿童从骆驼鞍上自己栖身的小窝里向外张望,他和家人穿过索马里,经过肯尼亚边境利波伊镇,赶往达达阿布难民营。

挨户接种

此次疫苗接种活动的地区协调人穆罕默德对接种满怀希望。他自己就是脊灰的幸存者,目前正在致力于确保所有五岁以下的儿童都能接受免疫接种。他加入了社区卫生队,挨户接种,确保不遗漏任何一名儿童。

炎热干燥的气候使得工作异常艰难;徒步从一家走到另一家着实辛苦。

“我全身心地投入到这个活动中,为的是确保所有的儿童都能接受免疫接种,”穆罕默德说,“我了解儿童感染脊灰后的经历,他们要面对很多困难…… 我自己就亲身经历过。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Modola
在肯尼亚东北部的利波伊,在针对五岁以下儿童的免疫接种活动中,一个小男孩正在口服脊灰疫苗。

儿童生存危机

利波伊的疫苗接种活动是整个接种活动的一部分,该活动的目标是,在肯尼亚东北部的索马里难民大规模定居点达达阿布,以及周围的难民收容区内,为 215000 名五岁以下的儿童接种疫苗。该国公共健康与卫生部、联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织于本周开展了这项活动。

这一举措也是区域行动的一部分,旨在确保受干旱影响区域的所有儿童都接种致命疾病疫苗,尤其是那些营养不良的儿童。

利波伊等社区的儿童正面临着生存危机。儿童的死亡不仅仅是因为食物不足。处于营养不良症各阶段的儿童更容易罹患普通疾病和传染病。营养不良是一个严重的问题,它使儿童面临的危险进一步增大。利波伊以及其他地区的疫苗接种活动是增强儿童免疫力并保证儿童生存的契机。


 

 

搜索

Kenya

Immunization campaign reaches vulnerable children at Kenya-Somalia border

By Melissa Corkum

LIBOI, Kenya, 29 July 2011 – At first glance, Liboi, a dusty town on the Kenya-Somalia border, provides little cause for hope. Look more closely, however, and you find vaccination teams, including community health workers and village elders, working at full force to deliver life-saving immunization to children under the age of five.

VIDEO: 28 July 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on an immunization campaign reaching children under the age of five in Liboi, a Kenyan border town where refugees from drought and conflict are crossing over from Somalia.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

These children are vulnerable because Liboi and other communities around Dadaab, in north-eastern Kenya, are suffering from a triple shock comprising drought, soaring food prices and a refugee influx from Somalia.

The cattle, goats and other livestock that used to abound in Liboi have been lost to the drought, which has hit the entire Horn of Africa region. Now, the people here want to ensure that their children don’t fall victim to diseases such as measles and polio, which often run rampant during times of drought.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Modola
Community health workers immunize children under the age of five against polio and measles, and give them vitamin A and de-worming tablets, in a house-to-house campaign in the town of Liboi, north-eastern Kenya.

Importance of immunization

UNICEF is responding to the crisis in the Horn of Africa, in part, by providing life-saving vaccines to drought-affected communities such as Liboi. Overall routine immunization coverage in this area remains low, and the risk of disease outbreaks is high.

The large influx of refugees from Somalia, where immunization coverage is also low, means that local children are at risk of killer diseases – particularly measles.

Mobilized by their community elder, the mothers and fathers of Liboi bring their children to meet the health teams taking part in the immunization campaign.

Hawa Abdulla, a mother of 10, has brought her youngest son, Ayub, 3, to receive measles and polio vaccines, vitamin A and de-worming tablets. She knows only too well the importance of immunization. Two of her children have been seriously ill with measles.

“We really need vaccination to protect our children,” says Ms. Abdulla. She’s afraid that Ayub, too, will fall victim to disease, and she hopes immunization will provide him with a future.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Modola
A Somali refugee child looks out from his perch on the saddle of a camel as he and his family make their way to the Dadaab refugee settlement, after crossing from Somalia into Kenya at the border town of Liboi.

Going house-to-house

Mohammed, the district coordinator of the vaccination campaign, remains hopeful. A polio survivor himself, he is committed to ensuring that every child under five is immunized. He joins the community health team, travelling from house to house to ensure they haven’t missed any child along the way.

The work is tough in the heat and the dust; the distances between houses are far for walking.

“I’m so much committed to this exercise with all my heart and strength, to make sure all children here are immunized,” says Mohammed. “I know what a child goes through with polio, the challenges they face…. I’ve gone through it myself.’

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2011/Modola
In Liboi, north-eastern Kenya, a boy receives oral polio vaccine during an immunization campaign for children under the age of five.

A child survival crisis

The effort in Liboi is part of an integrated vaccination campaign targeting 215,000 children under five in host communities in and around Dadaab, a large settlement for Somali refugees in north-eastern Kenya. The country’s Ministry of Public Health and Sanitation, UNICEF and the World Health Organization launched the campaign this week.

This initiative, in turn, is part of a regional push to ensure that all children in drought-affected areas are vaccinated against diseases that can be deadly, especially for those who are malnourished.

Communities such as Liboi are facing a child survival crisis. Children don’t die just because they don’t have enough food. In various stages of malnutrition, they are more prone to sickness and disease. As big a challenge as malnutrition poses, the danger for children extends even further. The vaccination campaign, in Liboi and beyond, is an opportunity to boost their immunity and ensure their survival.


 

 

New enhanced search