肯尼亚

非洲之角预计降暴雨 将加剧当地粮食和营养匮乏问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0644/Kamber
在索马里加尔古杜德州中部地区的阿达多镇郊区,一名牧民男孩提着水罐,朝着水井旁的骆驼走去。这个地区的大部分水井都因旱灾而干枯或者已被污染了。

李昆报道 

肯尼亚伊西奥洛,2009年10月16日 – 烈日之下,20岁的牧民埃克瓦姆.约瑟夫正与他11岁的弟弟埃凯. 弗朗西斯,赶着他们的牛群,走过一片寸草不生的土地。

 点击此处观看视频

 点击此处收听音频

埃克瓦姆说:“我原来有161头牛,死了155头。现在只剩下这六头牛,我不知如何是好,是看着他们死呢,还是到别的地方去?”

干旱的影响

由于连续四个雨季缺乏降水,不仅是肯尼亚,非洲之角各国都受到了干旱、饥饿和疾病的影响。非洲之角的吉布提、埃塞俄比亚、厄立特里亚、肯尼亚、索马里和乌干达部分地区需要人道主义援助的人数,从今年早些时候的2000万人增加到现在的约2400万人。 而其中,近500万人是年龄在五岁以下的儿童。

联合国儿童基金会东非和南部非洲区域主任埃尔哈吉.阿斯.斯伊(Elhadj As Sy)说“在这样的危机当中,数字和图表永远无法告诉我们危机对最弱势的儿童和家庭的真实影响。这个地区多达50%的五岁以下儿童长期营养不良,而八分之一的儿童五岁以前就已经夭折。如果我们不设法降低对易受伤害儿童和家庭的影响程度,这种情况将会周而复始地反复出现。”

近来形势紧迫,有近1850万人需要立即获得紧急援助,有更多的人依靠粮食援助生活。估计该地区有25万名急性营养不良患者,他们需要在年底之前得到治疗。

联合国儿童基金会区域紧急事务顾问罗伯特.麦卡锡(Robert McCarthy)表示,这里的情况是需求大于援助资金的增加。”

麦卡锡说:“联合国儿童基金会希望做的不只是再次敲响警钟说:‘非洲之角发生了一场重大危机,我们需要这么多钱。’当然,我们需要这么做,但更重要的是要找到能长期有助于我们的更持久的和更具有意义的解决方案。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2009/Li
在肯尼亚东部,20岁的牧民埃克瓦姆.约瑟夫正与他11岁的弟弟埃凯. 弗朗西斯赶着牛群,寻找草场。 由于这个地区持续干旱,他们的大部分牲畜已经死了,致使他们家的经济状况极为窘迫。

霍乱爆发

五岁的努里亚和三岁的索菲亚都患了腹泻。他们住在巴萨村,这是肯尼亚东部一个非常干旱的地区,生活用水要靠救济卡车每周一次地运送到这里。最近,这个游牧社区有五人死亡,80多名儿童因腹泻和呕吐接受治疗。

后来,这个村庄确认爆发了霍乱疫情。

巴萨村一位40岁的居民法图玛说:“因为缺水、食物匮乏和没有足够的厕所,我们的孩子们生病了。妇女们也受着煎熬,她们每天清晨四点就起床出去干活,晚上六点太阳落山时才回家,回来看到的是孩子们又渴又饿的情景。”

资金短缺

尽管非洲之角的人道主义需求日益增加,但是像联合国儿童基金会这样的救援机构却面临着资金短缺的问题。联合国儿童基金会呼吁募集189万美元,用于紧急援助行动。但截至到9月底,只在六个国家募集到所需资金的三分之一。

联合国儿童节基金会及其合作伙伴正在采取措施,通过联合营养、卫生和微量营养素等项目,加强应对紧急情况的能力。同时,也在进行应急部署,以应对预期发生的厄尔尼诺现象洪水泛滥、霍乱疫情爆发和日益严重的甲型H1N1流感发病率。

联合国儿童基金会的埃尔哈吉.阿斯.斯伊说:“我们迫切呼吁慈善捐助界增加支持力度,帮助我们加强非洲之角各国政府和人道主义行动者的能力,援助那些有需要的儿童和家庭。我们也迫切需要汲取过去的经验教训——防范和积极应对是问题的关键。 如果我们等到危机来时再行动,那么即使我们可以随时响应,应对的效果可能也不如事先做好准备的效果好。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月9日: 联合国儿童基金会通讯员李昆报道肯尼亚东部的旱情恶化问题。 
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

音频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会东非和南部非洲区域紧急事务顾问罗伯特.麦卡锡呼吁为现在的粮食匮乏问题寻求“持久的解决方案”。
 音频 播放

搜索

Kenya

Food and nutrition insecurity deepens in the Horn of Africa as heavy rains are predicted

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0644/Kamber
A nomadic boy carries a water container towards his camels at a watering hole on the outskirts of the town of Adado, in the central region of Galguduud in Somalia. Most watering holes in the region have dried up due to drought or have become contaminated.

By Kun Li

ISIOLO, Kenya, 16 October 2009 – Underneath the blazing sun, pastoralists Ekwam Joseph, 20, and his younger brother, Ekai Francis, 11, herd their cattle through a land that is covered with anything but green pasture.

VIDEO: Watch now

AUDIO: Listen now

“I had 161 cows and bulls, 155 of them have died,” said Ekwam. “With only six remaining, I don’t know what to do – to die or to move somewhere else.”

Impact of drought

With the failure of four consecutive rainy seasons, the impact of drought, hunger and disease is not only felt in Kenya, but throughout the Horn of Africa. Across the region, some 24 million people in Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia and parts of Uganda are now in need of humanitarian aid, up from 20 million earlier this year. Among them nearly five million are children under five years of age.

“In times of crises like this, numbers and figures will never tell us the true impact these crises have on the most vulnerable children and families,” said UNICEF Regional Director for Eastern and Southern Africa Elhadj As Sy. “We are talking about a region where up to 50 per cent of children under five are chronically malnourished and one in eight children die before reaching their fifth birthday. If we don’t manage to reduce the severe vulnerability of children and their families we will see situations like this occurring over and over again.”

The short-term situation is urgent. Nearly 18.5 million people are in need of immediate emergency assistance and more are dependent on food aid. An estimated 250,000 cases of acute malnutrition in the region will require treatment before the end of the year.

It is a situation that demands more than an increase in funding, says UNICEF’s Regional Emergency Adviser, Robert McCarthy.

“What UNICEF does not want to do is just to ring the bell once again and say ‘we have a major emergency in the Horn of Africa and we need this much money.’ Of course we have to do that, but it has to be part of a much more forthright emphasis on the need to look for more durable solutions, for more meaningful approaches that are going to help us toward the longer term,” Mr. McCarthy said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2009/Li
Pastoralists Ekwam Joseph, 20, and his younger brother, Ekai Francis, 11, herd their cattle in search of pasture in eastern Kenya. The family faces extreme hardship because most of their herd has died due to on-going drought in the region.

Cholera outbreak

Nuria, age five, and Sophia, three, are both suffering from diarrhoea. Their village of Basa in Eastern Kenya resides on a very arid land, where water has to be brought in by relief trucks once a week. Just recently, five have died in this pastoralist community and more than 80 children have been treated for diarrhoea and vomiting.

It was later confirmed that the village is having a cholera outbreak.

“Our school is closed because of shortage of water, food, and toilets. Our children are sick.” said a 40-year old resident of Basa named Fatuma. “Women are also suffering. They wake up at four in the morning and come back at six when the sun has set, finding their children thirsty and hungry.”

Funding shortages

Despite increasing humanitarian needs in the Horn of Africa, aid agencies like UNICEF are faced with funding shortages. By the end of September, UNICEF had only received a third of the 189 million US dollars the agency appealed for its emergency operations in the six countries.

UNICEF and its partners are taking steps to strengthen emergency response by linking nutrition, hygiene and micronutrient programming. Contingency planning for expected El Niño flooding, cholera outbreaks, and worsening HINI pandemic incidences are also underway.

“We appeal to the donor community to urgently increase their support and to help us strengthen the capacity of governments and humanitarian actors in the Horn to assist children and families in need,” said UNICEF’s Elhadj As Sy. “It is also urgent that we draw lessons from the past – preparedness and proactive response are key. If we wait until the emergency hits – of course we can always respond – but the response may not be as adequate as if it was prepared well in advance.”


 

 

Video

9 October 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Kun Li reports on the worsening drought in eastern Kenya. 
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Audio

UNICEF Regional Emergency Advisor for Eastern and Southern Africa Robert McCarthy calls for 'durable solutions' to ongoing food insecurity.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search