肯尼亚

联合国儿童基金会与欧洲委员会人道主义援助部抗击肯尼亚北部干旱

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1464/Bonn
在肯尼亚北部洛基乔基奥,来自图尔卡纳少数民族的楠格勒.艾司空带她11个月大的女儿纳鲁童回家。她的女儿刚刚接受了营养不良治疗。

克里斯.尼尔斯报道 

肯尼亚洛基乔基奥,2009年4月17日–对肯尼亚北部的图尔卡纳游牧民族来说,生活就是不断地挣扎。近些年,这个偏远、广阔并且贫困的地区深受干旱之苦。

点击此处观看视频

作为回应,联合国儿童基金会正与欧洲委员会人道主义援助部(ECHO)合作以减轻干旱对本已脆弱不堪的人口带来的重创。

“他们在挨饿”

楠格勒.艾司空(Nagolol Esekon)带她的女儿纳鲁童(Narutom)来到联合国儿童基金会在洛基乔基奥资助的非洲内陆教堂保健设施,该地区距苏丹边境30 公里。该诊所受惠于图尔卡纳地区的撒玛利亚人的钱包营养项目。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1459/Bonn
在肯尼亚洛基乔基奥的非洲内陆教堂保健设施外,刚刚因中度营养不良接受了治疗的纳鲁童. 艾司空坐在妈妈的腿上。

纳鲁童一直呕吐并伴有腹泻。医疗人员诊断出她患有营养不良症和疟疾。医生为她接种了疫苗,给了她维生素A药片,还让她加入到一个旨在帮助五岁以下中度营养不良儿童的补充营养餐项目。

自2006年开办以来,该中心治疗了超过3万名儿童和妇女,纳鲁童仅仅是他们其中的一个。

临床营养学家维基.杰罗普.柏诺特(Vicki Jerop Binott)说:“我们治疗患有中度或重度营养不良并伴有严重并发症的儿童,如贫血和低血糖,还有那些没有胃口和有水肿的儿童。他们食物短缺。他们有并发症。他们很多人都在挨饿。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1456/Bonn
在肯尼亚洛基乔基奥的非洲内陆教堂保健设施里,卫生工作者用悬带秤为5个月大的艾可诺.艾科达测量体重。艾可诺刚刚接受了重度营养不良的治疗。

治疗营养不良带来的影响

欧洲委员会人道主义援助部的支持确保联合国儿童基金会能够掌握最需要帮助地区的最新信息,并在新危机出现时能够快速有效地进行回应——例如2008年的严重旱灾。

快速行动是关键,因为如果儿童无法及时获得治疗,那么他今后整个发育阶段都可能受到伤害。

但是婴儿纳鲁童将不会受到营养不良的长期影响。她在诊所恢复的很好,现在她已经可以和妈妈回家了。看到纳鲁童在几天之内就转危为安,她的母亲非常高兴。

母亲一直按照说明书准备食疗粥并喂给纳鲁童吃。虽然她担心用卖木柴的微薄收入可能无法继续养活家人,但是她知道纳鲁童将能不断地得到保健设施门诊项目的帮助。

柏诺特女士说:“我们会好好照顾她的。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.奈尔斯报道联合国儿童基金会与欧洲委员会人道主义援助部在肯尼亚图尔卡纳地区喂养儿童的合作项目。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Kenya

UNICEF and ECHO combat effects of drought in northern Kenya

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1464/Bonn
Nangolol Esekon from the Turkana ethnic group carries home her 11-month-old daughter, Narutom, after the girl received treatment for malnutrition in Lokichoggio, northern Kenya.

By Chris Niles

LOKICHOGGIO, Kenya, 17 April 2009 – Life is a constant struggle for the nomadic Turkana people of northern Kenya. This remote, vast and impoverished region has suffered severely from drought in recent years.

VIDEO: Watch now

In response, UNICEF is working with the European Commission Humanitarian Aid Department, also known as ECHO, to alleviate the toll that drought takes on an already fragile people.

‘They are starving’

Nagolol Esekon has brought her daughter Narutom to the UNICEF-supported African Inland Church Health Facility in Lokichoggio, about 30 km from the Sudanese border. The clinic operates under the auspices of the Samaritan’s Purse Nutrition Programme in Turkana district.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1459/Bonn
Narutom Esekon sits on her mother’s lap outside the African Inland Church Health Facility in Lokichoggio, Kenya, after being treated for moderate malnutrition.

Narutom has been vomiting and suffering from diarrhoea. Medical staff diagnose her with malnutrition and malaria. She is vaccinated, given vitamin A tablets and put on a supplementary feeding programme designed for children under the age of five who suffer from moderate malnutrition.

Narutom is just one of the more than 30,000 children and women the centre has treated since opening in 2006.

“We admit babies who are moderately or severely malnourished with severe medical conditions like anaemia and hypoglycaemia, those who do not have appetite and those with oedema,” says clinic nutritionist Vicki Jerop Binott. “They have a problem with food shortages. They have medical conditions. They are starving, most of them.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1456/Bonn
Health workers weight five-month-old Ekeno Echoda in a sling scale at the African Inland Church Health Facility in Lokichoggio, Kenya, after Ekeno’s treatment for severe malnutrition.

Treating effects of malnutrition

ECHO support ensures that UNICEF has the most up-to-date information about the areas of greatest need in the region and can respond quickly and effectively when new crises arise – such as the severe drought of 2008.

Prompt response is critical because a child’s entire developmental future can suffer if he or she does not get help in time.

But baby Narutom will not suffer the long-term effects of malnutrition. After making good progress at the clinic, she is able to come home with her mother, who is delighted by the tremendous change she has seen in just a few days.

Her mother has been given therapeutic porridge for Narutom, along with instructions on how to prepare it. Although she is worried about how she will continue to provide for her family from the small amount she makes selling firewood, she knows that Narutom will continue to receive help from the health facility’s outpatient programme.

“We are going to be taking care of her,” pledges Ms. Binott.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a UNICEF-ECHO partnership that is feeding children in northern Kenya’s Turkana region.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search