肯尼亚

肯尼亚学童面临洪灾过后的挑战

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2007/Mwabe
13岁的尼克松•本瓦尔和他的同学们摆姿势,炫耀他刚从附近河里捕获的大鱼。

茱莉.穆瓦伯报道

肯尼亚内罗毕2007年2月1日报道 - 13岁的尼克松.本瓦尔笑着向他在河边扔石子玩的朋友们跑过来,自从洪水袭击后,这条小河就从学校里贯穿流过。  尼克松展示他在附近河里捕到令朋友们吃惊的大鱼。

尼克松是肯尼亚塔纳河区加穆巴小学的学生,全国大部分地区从十月份开始降暴雨,引发大规模的洪水泛滥。 尼克松也是全国数千个受洪灾影响的学童之一。

尼克松说:“我们的房子被洪水冲毁,我们一无所有了,没有母牛可卖,我父母甚至不能负担我姐姐们的学费,我要卖了这条鱼,把钱给我父亲,可能可以帮他付我姐姐们的学费。”

对学校灾难性的影响

这场暴雨已经远远超过十年来最严重的水灾,据报道有20人丧生,15万人流离失所。

水灾对学校造成灾难性的破坏,多达350所学校和15万学生受到影响。洪水严重损坏了学校的饮水和卫生设施,留下难闻的气味,并有爆发痢疾(包括霍乱)的风险。

在12月份学校放假期间,数百个因洪灾而流离失所的家庭到附近的学校暂时居住。一月初学校重新开学时,因一些家庭还是无家可归,有些学校的教学被迫中断两星期。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kenya/2007/Mwabe
肯尼亚儿童在遭受洪水袭击的学校上课。

塔纳河区教育官员卡塔塔先生说:“年初学校开学以来,孩子们不得不在非常艰苦的条件下学习。 大风暴雨掀掉一些学校的房顶,也摧毁了教室。虽然学生们开始上课,由于有些受洪水破坏的学校情况还不稳定,我们要注意孩子们的安全。”

快速教育评估

11月以来,联合国儿童基金会已经派送包括1600个教育箱在内的应急物资到所有受洪水影响的灾区。在目前的清理阶段,工作重点是安置受灾家庭,并帮助学校重新开课。

最近,由肯尼亚政府、各非政府组织和联合国机构共同发起应急快速教育评估,衡量洪水对教育造成的影响,并采取快速有效的行动,尽快使学校修复开课。

联合国儿童基金会正与合作伙伴一起协作努力修建学校的教室和厕所。到目前为止,联合国儿童基金会此项工作已经收到20万美金的捐款,但是为确保所有的受灾学校都能正常运作,还进一步需要20万美金。


 

 

搜索

Kenya

Kenyan schoolchildren face challenges left by recent floods

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2007/Mwabe
Nixon Bwire, 13, and his schoolmates pose for a picture as he shows off the large fish he just caught from a nearby river.

By Julie Mwabe

NAIROBI, Kenya, 1 February 2007 – Nixon Bwire, 13, grins as he runs towards his friends, who are throwing stones across a stream that has been running through their school ever since floods struck the area. Nixon shows his amazed friends the large fish he just caught from a nearby river.

A student at Gamba Primary School in Kenya’s Tana River District, Nixon is one of thousands of schoolchildren who were affected by the heavy rains that pounded most parts of the country beginning last October, causing massive floods.

“Our home was destroyed by the floods and we have nothing left. My parents cannot even afford to pay my older siblings’ school fees since we have no cows left to sell,” says Nixon. “I will sell this fish so I can give my father the money. Maybe this money will assist him to pay for my older sisters’ school fees.”

Devastating impact on schools

The rains have been by far the worst in a decade, reportedly claiming 20 lives and displacing 150,000 people.

The impact on schools has also been devastating, with as many as 350 schools and a student population of about 150,000 affected. Floods severely damaged many schools’ water and sanitation facilities, leaving behind a pungent smell and the risk of diarrhoeal diseases – including cholera.

During the school break in December, hundreds of families who had been displaced by the floods took shelter in nearby schools. When classes were to resume in early January, up to two weeks of learning was disrupted in some schools because displaced families were not yet able to return home.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kenya/2007/Mwabe
Kenyan children attending class at a flood-stricken school.

“Children have had to learn in very difficult conditions since schools reopened at the beginning of the year,” said the Tana River District Education Officer, Mr. Katata. “The strong winds that accompanied the rains blew off the roofs in some schools and also destroyed the classrooms.

“Although the children have resumed learning, there is a concern for their safety as some flood-damaged schools are in very unstable condition,” he added.

Rapid education assessment

UNICEF has been dispatching emergency supplies – including 1,600 education kits – to all the flood-affected districts since November. In the current ‘mopping up’ phase, the emphasis is on helping families get resettled and schools up and running.

An emergency rapid education assessment was recently undertaken by the Government of Kenya, various non-governmental organizations and UN agencies to evaluate the floods’ impact on education and take quick, effective action to rehabilitate schools.

Along with its partners, UNICEF is contributing to a coordinated effort on the construction of school toilets and classrooms. To date, UNICEF has received $200,000 from donors towards this effort, but a further $200,000 is still required to ensure that all the flood-affected schools can function normally.


 

 

New enhanced search