约旦

流离失所的伊拉克儿童在约旦重返校园

UNICEF Photo: Jordan, Iraqi children, Back to School
© UNICEF Jordan/2007/ Al-Moughrabi
约旦政府同意流离失所的伊拉克儿童入学。

辛德-拉拉.曼果报道

约旦阿曼,2007年9月10日。 伊卡家自从2004年逃离战乱的伊拉克以来就住在约旦。作为难民他们全靠好心的邻居阿穆.茱玛才得以维持生活。若不是因为她,伊卡家就不会有食物、衣服或住所。

在伊拉克出生的阿麦施. 伊卡是五个孩子的父亲,他说:“我不能工作,否则会被驱逐出境。 我负担不起孩子们的书本费。 他们还上学,我们已经很幸运了。”

每名非约旦籍儿童入学需要缴70美金注册费和15美金书本费。 好心的阿穆.茱玛在邻居之间为她的房客筹集资金,这样伊卡家的孩子们可以交一些书本费。 但是伊卡家还是付不起全部的费用。

12岁的拉娜说:“他们拿走我的书,对我说等我能付钱的时候再还给我”。

孩子们早晨起得很早,步行45分钟去各自的学校。 茱玛女士说:“我们担心以后的几个月,孩子们得在暴雨和寒风中去上学。”

资助课本和学费 

最近,约旦政府同意流离失所的伊拉克儿童在这里的学校入学。 该国大约有75万伊拉克人,去年只有不到2万名伊拉克儿童就读于约旦的学校。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴一直支持约旦政府的决定,并且希望今年能够再让五万名伊拉克儿童入学。 目前,联合国儿童基金会正在与教育部合作,计划向困难的伊拉克家庭提供课本和学费的资助。

然而,约旦已经拥挤的教室容纳不下新入学的学生。 为此,联合国儿童基金会向教育部提供技术支持,以帮助学校实行双班制,并租用更多的教室接纳新学生。 教师也将接受培训,为伊拉克儿童提供心理辅导。

13岁的伊克拉斯在逃离伊拉克的家乡后失学了几年。 她说:“我们非常高兴能上学,但是因为买不起所有的教科书,在其他同学面前感觉很丢脸。”

现在,伊克拉斯和她的家人正在耐心等待,希望他们的困境能够得到改善。


 

 

搜索

Jordan

Displaced Iraqi children heading back to school in Jordan

UNICEF Image: Jordan, Iraqi children, Back to School
© UNICEF Jordan/2007/ Al-Moughrabi
The Government of Jordan has agreed to allow displaced Iraqi children to enrol in school.

By Hind-Lara Mango

AMMAN, Jordan, 10 September 2007 – The Ikzaz family has been living in Jordan since 2004, when they fled Iraq as a result of ongoing violence there. As refugees, they are sustained only by the goodwill of their neighbour, Um Jum’a. Without her help, the Ikzaz family would have no food, clothes or shelter.

“I can’t work, or I will be deported,” says Iraqi-born Armash Ikzaz, a father of five. “I can’t afford to buy my children school books. We are lucky that they are in school.”

It costs about $70 dollars to enrol each non-Jordanian child in school and an additional $15 dollars to purchase school books. The Ikzaz children received some books through the goodwill of Um Jum’a, who collects money from families to help her Iraqi tenants. Still, the family cannot afford all of them.

“They took the books away from me and told me when I could pay I would have them back,” says Rana, 12.

The children wake up in the early hours of the morning and walk for 45 minutes to reach school. “We dread the coming months when the kids will have to walk to school in the merciless rain and bone-wrenching cold,” says Ms. Jum’a.

Help with textbooks and school fees

Recently, the Government of Jordan agreed to allow displaced Iraqi children to enrol in school here. There are about 750,000 Iraqis in the country, and just under 20,000 of the children attended Jordanian schools last year.

UNICEF and its partners have been supporting the government’s decision and aim to get an additional 50,000 Iraqi children into school this year. UNICEF is currently working with the Ministry of Education on a plan to supply Iraqi children with textbooks and to pay the school fees of children whose families cannot afford to do so.

However, Jordan’s already overcrowded classrooms cannot accommodate a new influx of students. In response, UNICEF is providing the Ministry of Education with technical support in order to help implement double-shift schools and rent additional buildings to accommodate the students. Teachers will also be trained to provide Iraqi children with psychosocial support.

Ikhlas, 13, lost several years of education after fleeing her home in Iraq. “We are happy to be in school,” she says, “but I feel embarrassed in front of the other students because I can’t buy all the books.”

For now, Ikhlas and the rest of her family are waiting patiently, hoping that their plight will improve.

 


 

 

New enhanced search