约旦

社区中心所提供的课程赋予住在约旦的巴勒斯坦妇女权力

UNICEF Photo: Jordan, community development
© UNICEF Jordan/2007/Noorani
在亚喀巴省沙拉区,联合国儿童基金会支持的社会发展社区中心里,乌恩.塔玛抱着她的孩子与义工见面。

辛德-拉拉.曼果报道

2007年8月20日,约旦亚喀巴省。32岁的乌恩.塔玛住在亚喀巴省的沙拉区,那里也是六千名巴勒斯坦难民的家。 乌恩是六个孩子的母亲,她曾经患有严重的忧郁症。 但是四年前,自从社会发展社区中心的义工敲开她的大门以后,她的情况开始好转起来。

塔玛女士说:“义工们一个接一个地来我家,问我们是否愿意去社区中心或到某家聚集去参加知识介绍课程。”

她同意去上课,自此她感觉生活有了好转。  在所有课程当中,她觉得那些与育儿技巧、个人地位法(包括婚姻、离婚和子女抚养权等家庭问题),以及创收项目有关的课程最有帮助。

这些课程也使家长们知道他们的青少年子女可能会遇到的问题:如吸毒、家庭暴力、辍学和吸烟等。 由于沙拉区的高贫困率和失业率,以及因过度拥挤而造成的环境、社会和卫生问题,这里的青少年尤其面临着威胁。

儿童的成长阶段

联合国儿童基金会驻约旦办事处已经支持社会发展社区中心长达五年多的时间。 作为社区发展项目的一部分,社区中心专注于弱势妇女和儿童的需要。

UNICEF Photo: Jordan, refugees
© UNICEF Jordan/2007/Noorani
六千名巴勒斯坦难民居住在沙拉区,那里正在经受着高贫困率和失业率,以及因过度拥挤引起的社会和卫生问题。

社区中心一位名为哈南.海玛特的义工说:“乌恩.塔玛现在非常积极。 她走出了忧郁症,并且让她的丈夫意识到了这些课程的重要性。”

塔玛女士一只手调整着头巾,另一只手抱着她的小孩,说道:“现在,我在孩子哭的时候做记录,寻找原因,不忽视发烧情况。”  她发现其中一个很有帮助的事情是,她现在知道孩子成长的各个阶段会是什么样子。

获取新知识

塔玛女士说她的丈夫阿布 - 一位在旅游区工作的司机,需要长时间的离家 - 也参与了课程的学习。 她说:“他现在知道他不仅需要专心工作,还要关心孩子,与孩子谈话,问他们要去什么地方,他们的朋友是谁。”

塔玛女士的家现在已经成为小区妇女每周开会的场所。她们按照社区中心课程上所学到的新知识,就她们所关心的问题畅所欲言。

塔玛女士说她人生的使命是:教育她的孩子们,看着他们大学毕业。 她要将梦想变成现实,她贷款创办了一个家庭生意。


 

 

搜索

Jordan

Courses on offer at community centre empower Palestinian women in Jordan

UNICEF Image: Jordan, community development
© UNICEF Jordan/2007/Noorani
Holding her toddler, Un Tamer meets with a volunteer at the UNICEF-supported Community Centre for Social Development in the Shallah district of Aqaba.

By Hind-Lara Mango

AQABA, Jordan, 20 August 2007 – Um Tamer, 32, lives in the Shallah district of Aqaba, which is home to some 6,000 Palestinian refugees. A mother of six, she used to suffer from severe depression. That began to change four years ago, when volunteers from the Community Centre for Social Development came knocking at her door.

“The volunteers came to our homes one by one and asked us if we wished to go to the centre or to gather ourselves in one house for information sessions,” says Ms. Tamer.

She agreed to take the courses and feels that her life has since changed for the better. Among the classes she has found most useful are those dealing with parenting skills, the Personal Status Law (which covers family matters such as marriage, divorce and custody of children) and income-generating projects.

The courses also make parents aware of the harm that could come to their teenage children: drug abuse, domestic violence, dropping out of school and smoking, to name just a few. Adolescents are especially at risk in Shallah, which suffers from high rates of poverty and unemployment as well as many environmental, social and health problems stemming from overcrowding.

Stages of child development

UNICEF Jordan has been supporting the Community Centre for Social Development for over five years. As part of a community development project, the centre focuses on the needs of underprivileged women and children.

UNICEF Image: Jordan, refugees
© UNICEF Jordan/2007/Noorani
Home to 6,000 Palestinian refugees, Shallah suffers from high rates of poverty and unemployment, as well as social and health problems stemming from overcrowding.

“Um Tamer is very energetic now. She has come out of her depression and  convinced her husband that these courses are important,” says Hanan Dghaimat, a volunteer at the centre.

“I now take note of when my children cry. I look for the reason and do not ignore fever,” Ms. Tamer says, adjusting her headscarf with one hand and holding her toddler with the other. One of the many things she has found helpful, she explains, is knowing now what to expect at each stage of her children’s development.

Newly acquired knowledge

Ms. Tamer adds that her husband Abu – a driver in the tourism sector whose work demands that he be away for long hours and sometimes days – has participated in the courses as well. “He knows that he has to concentrate not only on his job, but also to ask about the kids, talk to them, ask them where they are going and who their friends are,” she says.

Meanwhile, Ms. Tamer’s home has become a weekly meeting place for women in the neighbourhood who speak openly of issues that concern them, guided by the new knowledge they acquired from the information sessions at the centre.

Ms. Tamer says she has one mission in life: to educate her children and see them through university. She has just taken a loan and started a home-based business to make that dream come true.


 

 

New enhanced search