日本

联合国儿童基金会在日本为受地震影响的儿童搭建儿童友好中心

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/2011/Goto
日本宫城仙台市一处庇护所,一个小女孩正在玩早期儿童开发工具包。

仲川美穂子报道

日本东京,2011年4月5日 - 在日本东北部一个震后庇护所里,当联合国儿童基金会日本委员会的工作人员打开装有早期儿童开发工具包的包裹,拿出五颜六色的玩具和娃娃时,孩子们的眼睛里闪烁着兴奋的光芒。

该计划效果很显著。该庇护所里的一位妇女说:“自从三个星期前发生大地震以来,这些孩子整日用一个毛毯把自己从头到脚藏起来。但是,他们现在都出去玩了,看起来也高兴多了”。

安全、有趣

联合国儿童基金会日本委员会收到了来自联合国儿童基金会位于哥本哈根仓库的早期儿童开发和娱乐工具包,开始在庇护所、托儿所和幼儿园搭建儿童友好中心。

从那时起,他们就一直致力于为在震中和震后有过创伤经历的孩子提供安全、免费且有趣的关爱中心。很多孩子不能再与昔日的玩伴在一起。有些甚至还失去了亲人和父母。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/2011/ Kikugawa
这次地震和海啸给日本东北部造成了毁坏性打击,也吞噬了孩子们的玩具。在日本岩手县大辻镇,地震过后,这幢楼剩下的只有一个玩具娃娃。

联合国儿童基金会日本委员会执行主任全速水(Ken Hayami) 表示:“这正是孩子们所需要的。当我看到他们玩玩具或用蜡笔随意画画时,切实感受到了这一点。这个玩具包中凝聚了联合国儿童基金会对全球孩子的关爱”。

扩展计划

胡桃泽美和是该委员会的一名志愿者,她每天在好几个庇护所组织儿童友好中心,她说:“孩子天真的笑容激励着我要更多地付出。”甚至还有一些自身也受到地震影响的高中生和大学生也在帮助支持这些中心。

向幼儿园老师、托儿所员工以及父母提供的有利于孩子身心恢复的培训也开始陆陆续续展开。一位参与该培训的老师说:“通过与同行们分享遇到过的困难,我觉得压力被释放了很多。现在,我可以也有信心更有效地响应孩子们的需求。”

普通公众也通过“儿童迷你图书馆计划”积极参与。目前,捐赠的儿童书籍数量已经超 8 万册,这些书籍也将投放到受影响地区的儿童友好中心。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/2011/Saito
两个小女孩来到联合国儿童基金会位于东京高轮的工作地,为“儿童迷你图书馆计划”捐献了书籍。该计划已为日本震后幸存者捐献了超过8万册儿童书籍。

联合国儿童基金会的全球合作伙伴们也发挥了重要的作用。日本航空公司负责确保为儿童快速运送开发工具包以及其他物资。宜家捐赠的游戏毯成为了这些儿童场地的标志。当游戏毯开始在庇护所角落大面积铺开时,孩子们就围聚在一起,等待着儿童友好活动的开始。

重返校园

随着儿童友好中心不断在稳步向前发展,联合国儿童基金会日本委员会也开始与当地政府合作,开展一项“重返校园”计划。

全速水先生说:“孩子们应该享受他们的学生时代,重返校园。我们正在尽一切力量去实现孩子们的这些权利。”

由于四月份历来是新学年的开学时间,随着孩子们热切地盼望能够有机会重返校园,这也将催生更多的需求。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Japan

UNICEF sets up child-friendly spaces in quake-affected areas of Japan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Japan/2011/Goto
A girl plays with an early childhood development kit at a shelter in the city of Sendai in Miyagi Prefecture, Japan.

By Mihoko Nakagawa

TOKYO, Japan, 5 April 2011 – The children’s eyes sparkled with excitement when the Japan Committee for UNICEF staff opened a box of early childhood development kits to reveal colourful toys and dolls at a shelter in earthquake-hit north-eastern Japan.

The difference is remarkable. “These children had been hiding themselves from head to toe with a blanket since the earthquake hit us three weeks ago,” said one woman staying at the shelter. “But now they are out playing and looking so happy.”

Safe and fun

The Japan Committee for UNICEF received the early childhood development and recreation kits from UNICEF’s warehouse in Copenhagen in order to set up and maintain child-friendly spaces at shelters, nurseries and kindergartens.

Since then, they have been providing safe, free and fun places for children who have had traumatic experiences during and after the earthquake. Many children have been separated from friends. Some have even lost one or both parents.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Japan/2011/ Kikugawa
The earthquake and tsunami has devastated north-eastern Japan, leaving children with little to play with. Here, a toy doll is all that remains outside a building in the town of Otsuji in Iwate Prefecture.

“This is exactly what the children needed,” said Ken Hayami, Executive Director of the Japan Committee for UNICEF. “I was convinced when I saw them playing with toys and drawing freely with crayons. UNICEF’s experience with children around the world is all packed in the kits.”

Expanding programmes

“The smile of these children motivates me to deliver more,” said Miwa Kurumisawa, one of the Committee’s volunteers, who organizes child-friendly spaces every day at several shelters. Even local high school and university students, themselves affected by the earthquake, are helping run the spaces.

Child-friendly training for kindergarten teachers, nursery workers and parents is also being scaled-up. “I felt relieved by sharing the difficult experience with peers,” says a teacher who participated in the training.  “I am now empowered and determined to better respond to the needs of children.”

The general public is taking an active part through the ‘Children’s Mini-library Project’. More than 80,000 children’s books have already been donated and will be placed in child-friendly spaces in affected areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Japan/2011/Saito
Two girls visit UNICEF house in Takwanawa, Tokyo, to deliver books for the ‘Children’s Mini-library Project’. More than 80,000 children’s books have already been donated to survivors of the earthquake in Japan.

UNICEF’s global alliance partners are also playing important roles. Japan Airlines ensured a fast delivery of kits and other items for children. Play mats donated by IKEA serve as symbol of child-friendly spaces. Children gather and wait for child-friendly activities to start when the mats are spread widely at the corner of the shelters.

‘Back-to-School’

While the child-friendly spaces initiative is moving forward and making steady progress on the ground, the Japan Committee for UNICEF is also working with local governments on a ‘Back-to-School’ programme.

“Children should be able to enjoy their childhood and go to school,” said Mr. Hayami. “We are doing all we can here to realize the children’s rights.”

As April is the traditional starting time for a new school year, there will be many more needs as children anxiously wait for the opportunity to return to school.


 

 

New enhanced search