日本

儿童权利倡导者在日本寻求加强打击儿童色情制品的立法

UNICEF Photo
© Japan Committee for UNICEF/2010
联合国儿童基金会日本委员会执行主任早见肯(左起第二个)、联合国儿童基金会日本亲善大使陈美龄博士(左起第三个),与委员会非政府合作伙伴的代表共同提交了一份加强打击儿童色情制品立法的请愿书。

日本东京,2010年3月31日 – 联合国儿童基金会日本委员会近期大力开展“对儿童色情说不”活动,旨在改革日本的法律,不仅把出售和制作儿童色情制品定罪,同时也能把拥有和传播儿童色情制品定为犯罪行为。

自从1996年第一次打击儿童商业性剥削世界大会在瑞典斯德哥尔摩召开以来,联合国儿童基金会一直致力于在日本解决儿童色情问题。那次世界大会帮助日本代表检查了日本国内对儿童色情的态度,并尽量限制当时对儿童色情制品的法律宽容度。

联合国儿童基金会日本委员会执行主任早见肯说,斯德哥尔摩会议过后,日本的儿童权利倡导者们努力改变他们国家的立法和态度。他强调说:“我们成功地倡导国会议员确定了一项反对儿童商业性剥削的新法律,这项法律在1999年正式生效实施。”

 “对儿童色情说不”

“对儿童色情制品说不”活动是由联合国儿童基金会日本委员会及其非政府伙伴组织在2008年启动的,共有11.5万人签名表示支持。

早见先生说,现在应该进一步推进这项活动,并采取行动制止儿童色情制品的扩散。他指出,新技术使这类制品在英特网上传播的速度比以往快很多,从而使这种暴力和虐待行为以惊人的速度蔓延。

酝酿中的新的法律规定,拥有儿童色情制品即是违法行为,即使违法者并没有出售或传播儿童色情制品的企图。

关于禁忌

很久以来,日本社会由于忌讳谈这个问题而一直保持沉默。对这部分人,儿童倡导者采取明确表达自己主张的办法。

支持这项活动的众多倡导者中有歌手和活动家陈美龄博士。作为联合国儿童基金会日本亲善大使,陈博士多年来一直致力于解决儿童色情制品问题 ,并将其视为日本核心的儿童权利事业之一。

陈博士说:“日本是儿童色情制品最大的出口国和购入国,法律制度也不够完善。日本需要改变立法。”她还补充说如果法律允许拥有或购买色情图片,那么仅仅阻止儿童色情制品的生产和销售还是不够的。
 
她说:“如果你让人们这么做,儿童色情制品将永远不会被根除”。

与反对者辩论

陈博士希望倡导者们能够在本届国会(日本国家立法机关)的执政期间,推动新法律的落实。但是日本还有些人反对这项被提议的法律,理由是它可能会限制自由表达的权利,或者给警察赋予过多的权力。

陈博士和其他人正努力向反对者们解释儿童色情制品对年轻人的成长会产生多大的破坏性。


 

 

音频(英文)

2010年3月12日:联合国儿童基金会日本大使陈美龄博士探讨改变日本立法,将拥有儿童色情制品定为犯罪行为。
 音频 播放

2010年3月15日:联合国儿童基金会日本委员会执行主任早见肯讨论加强管制儿童色情制品的宣传活动。
 音频 播放

搜索

At a glance: Japan

Child rights advocates seek to strengthen laws against child pornography in Japan

UNICEF Image
© Japan Committee for UNICEF/2010
Japan Committee for UNICEF Executive Director Ken Hayami (second from left) and UNICEF Japan Ambassador Dr. Agnes Chan (third from left), with representatives of the committee’s non-governmental partners, submitted a petition to strengthen laws against child pornography.

TOKYO, JAPAN, 31 March 2010 – In recent months, the Japan Committee for UNICEF has been building momentum with its ‘Say “No” to Child Pornography’ campaign. The campaign seeks to reform Japanese law and criminalize not only the sale and manufacture of child pornography, but also its possession and purchase.

 AUDIO: Listen now

UNICEF has been tackling the issue of child pornography in Japan since 1996, when the first World Congress against Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children was held in Stockholm, Sweden. The World Congress helped Japanese delegates examine their own country’s attitudes and try to restrict what was then seen as legal tolerance toward child pornography. 

Japan Committee for UNICEF Executive Director Ken Hayami said Japanese child rights advocates worked hard to change their country’s laws and attitudes after the Stockholm conference. “We have been successful in advocating the parliamentarians to establish a new law against the commercial sexual exploitation of children, which was formalized in 1999,” he noted.

‘Say “No” to Child Pornography’

Now, Mr. Hayami said, it’s time to take that campaign a step further and act against the proliferation of child pornography. He pointed out that new technology makes Internet distribution of such material easier than ever, allowing for phenomenal expansion of this kind of violence and abuse against unless action is taken to stop its spread.

Launched in 2008 by the Japan Committee for UNICEF and its non-governmental partner organizations, ‘Say “No” to Child Pornography’ has collected about 115,000 signatures from the public in an attempt to change Japanese law.

Under the proposed new legislation, possession would be illegal even if the offender has no intention of selling or for distributing child pornography.

Talking about the taboo

For a long time, Japanese society has been quiet about this issue, which is generally seen as taboo. Children’s advocates have been vocal in countering those who would prefer to keep subjects like child pornography hidden.

Among the advocates adding their voices to the campaign is singer and activist Dr. Agnes Chan. As a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador for Japan, Dr. Chan has been working on the issue of child pornography for many years; she sees it as one of the central children’s rights causes in the country.

“Japan is known to be one of the largest exporters and buyers of child pornography, and the law is insufficient. It needs to be changed,” Dr. Chan said, adding that preventing the production and sale of child pornography isn’t enough if it’s still permissible to possess or buy the images.
 
“If you let people do that, child pornography will not go away,” she argued.

Debate with opponents

Dr. Chan is hopeful that advocates can push the new law through during the current session of the Diet, Japan’s national legislature. But there are still some in Japan who oppose the proposed law on the grounds that it would limit the right of free expression or give too much power to the police.

In response, Dr. Chan and others are working to explain to opponents how devastating child pornography is for the young people involved.


 

 

Audio

12 March 2010: UNICEF Japan Ambassador Dr. Agnes Chan talks about changing Japanese law to criminalize the possession of child pornography
 AUDIO listen

15 March 2010: Japan Committee for UNICEF Executive Director Ken Hayami discusses the campaign to strengthen regulations against child pornography.
 AUDIO listen

New enhanced search