日本

联合国儿童基金会与日本一同庆祝建立合作六十年

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/1949
在这张于1949年拍摄的照片里,男孩和女孩们坐在联合国儿童基金会捐赠的奶粉桶上。这些奶粉是用来为战后的日本儿童提供营养支持的。

日本东京,2009年10月7日 – 联合国儿童基金会和日本政府正在共同庆祝从60年前的10月开始的合作关系。当时,装载着联合国儿童基金会捐赠的奶粉和其他救援物资的货船抵达了战后的日本。

送达的物资被用来援助脆弱的妇女和儿童。在那段时期,50名日本儿童中有三名死于五岁以下,主要死于腹泻造成的脱水、呼吸道感染和其他大多可以预防的疾病。

这个星期,部分当时曾受益于第一批援助物资的儿童参加了在东京举办的60周年庆祝仪式。共有约300个联合国儿童基金会的朋友参加了这个庆祝活动,其中包括日本宪仁亲王妃久子、外务省副大臣福山哲郎,以及政府领导人、人道主义领袖和青年领袖。

日本的关键作用

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼向日本人民、政府和联合国儿童基金会日本国家委员会表达了诚挚的谢意,感谢他们对世界儿童的大力支持。

她强调日本在推动实现千年发展目标方面起到关键的作用,同时表示全世界期待日本继续发挥领导作用。

三名2008年参加了在北海道举办的八国青少年峰会并向八国集团世界领导人发表儿童宣言的日本高中生将纪念横幅递给了维尼曼女士。横幅上写下了100条日本儿童们送给世界各地的同龄人和联合国儿童基金会的美好祝福。

降低五岁以下儿童死亡率

在她的讲话中,宪仁亲王妃久子分享了她过去与联合国儿童基金会一起开展的工作,主要是在全球范围内抗击对儿童的商业性剥削。她还表达了对环境可持续性的担忧并强调了个人参与对促进和平与稳定的重要性。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Japan/2009/Akifoto
在东京,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼以及联合国儿童基金会日本亲善大使陈美龄博士(分别为左起第二位和第四位)与八国青少年峰会的前与会者们共同举起写满祝福语的横幅。

外务省副大臣福山哲郎赞扬了联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴在降低五岁以下儿童死亡率方面所做的工作。在联合国儿童基金会的努力下,五岁以下儿童死亡人数已从1990年的1250万下降到2008年的880万。他强调说实现千年发展目标仍然存在挑战,尤其是实现有关环境和气候变化的目标。

福山哲郎先生说:“为了子孙后代,我们要继续与联合国儿童基金会合作,这样更多的儿童才能带着微笑和希望生活。”

参加周年庆祝仪式的还有联合国儿童基金会日本亲善大使陈美龄博士。她谈到了在过去十年中到实地考察项目实施的经验。

联合国儿童基金会最大的捐赠者之一

1949年喝着联合国儿童基金会提供的牛奶长大的孩子,后来在重建日本的过程中发挥了重要的作用。他们中至少有两人参加了纪念仪式:日本议会联盟副主席广中和歌子和山本香乃教授。

山本香乃教授生动地讲述了当学校午餐增添了牛奶后,四年级的老师如何向他们解释联合国儿童基金会所做的工作。这段回忆随后激励他为这个机构工作。他最后成为了联合国儿童基金会的主计长。
今天,日本成为联合国儿童基金会最大的捐赠者之一。2008年,日本政府捐款1.533亿美元,联合国儿童基金会36个国家委员会之一的日本委员会捐款1.557亿美元。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Japan

UNICEF and Japan celebrate a 60-year partnership

© UNICEF Japan/1949
In a photo taken in 1949, boys and girls sit on drums of powdered milk donated by UNICEF to provide nutritional support to children in post-war Japan.

TOKYO, Japan, 7 October 2009 – UNICEF and the Government of Japan are celebrating a partnership that began 60 years ago this month, when a ship laden with powdered milk and other relief supplies from UNICEF arrived in post-war Japan.

The supplies were sent to aid vulnerable children and women. At the time, 3 out of 50 Japanese children died before the age of five, mainly due to dehydration from diarrhoea, respiratory infections and other largely preventable causes.

Some of the children who benefitted from that first aid shipment attended a 60th anniversary ceremony in Tokyo this week. They were among some 300 friends of UNICEF who gathered to celebrate the partnership, including Her Imperial Highness Princess Takamado, State Secretary for Foreign Affairs Tetsuro Fukuyama, and government, humanitarian and youth leaders.

Japan’s key role
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman expressed warm gratitude to the Japanese people, the government and the Japan Committee for UNICEF for their generous support of the world’s children.

She noted the key role that Japan played in setting forth the Millennium Development Goals and said the world would look to Japan for its continued leadership.

Three Japanese high school students who participated in the 2008 ‘Junior 8’ youth summit in Hokkaido – and who delivered a children’s declaration to G8 world leaders that year – presented a commemorative banner to Veneman. The banner carried more than 100 messages from Japanese children to their global peers and to UNICEF.

Reducing under-five mortality
In her remarks, Princess Takamado shared personal memories of her involvement with UNICEF in its worldwide effort to counter the commercial sexual exploitation of children. She also expressed concerns about environmental sustainability and emphasized the importance of individual participation in promoting peace and stability.

© UNICEF Japan/2009/Akifoto
In Tokyo, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman and UNICEF Japan Goodwill Ambassador Dr. Agnes Chan (second and fourth from left, respectively) hold up a banner carrying messages from well-wishers, together with former ‘Junior 8’ youth summit participants.

State Secretary for Foreign Affairs Fukuyama recognized the work of UNICEF and its partners in helping to reduce deaths of children under the age of five, which dropped from 12.5 million in 1990 to 8.8 million in 2008. He highlighted the remaining challenges in achieving each of the MDGs, especially with regard to the environment and climate change.

“We would like to continue our cooperation with UNICEF for the future of children, so that more children can live smiling with hope,” said Mr. Fukuyama.

Also on hand for the anniversary celebration was UNICEF Japan Goodwill Ambassador Dr. Agnes Chan, who spoke about some of her experiences visiting programmes in the field over the past decade.

One of UNICEF's largest donors
Many of the children who grew up drinking the milk provided by UNICEF in 1949 went on to play an important part in rebuilding Japan. At least two of them were at the ceremony: Vice President of the Japan Parliamentary League for UNICEF Wakako Hironaka and Prof. Kano Yamamoto.

Prof. Yamamoto vividly recalled his fourth-grade teacher’s explanation of UNICEF’s work when the milk was added to school lunches. This memory later inspired him to work for the agency. He ultimately became UNICEF’s Comptroller.

Today, Japan is one of the largest donors to UNICEF. In 2008, a total of $153.3 million was received from the Government of Japan and $155.7 million from the Japan Committee for UNICEF, one of UNICEF’s 36 National Committees.



New enhanced search