日本

日本新任第一夫人访问联合国儿童基金会总部

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1421/Toutounji
联合国儿童基金会副执行主任茜尔德.约翰逊与日本第一夫人鸠山幸在儿基会总部。鸠山夫人陪同首相鸠山由纪夫来纽约参加第64届联合国大会。

美国纽约,2009年9月23日 – 日本第一夫人鸠山幸(Miyuki Hatoyam)今日前往联合国儿童基金会总部访问,这是她在鸠山由纪夫本月初当选首相之后的首次公众活动。

联合国儿童基金会副执行主任茜尔德.约翰逊(Hilde F. Johnson)迎接了鸠山夫人的到访,她说:“我们非常非常高兴您能抽出时间来联合国儿童基金会访问,对于贵国的长期密切合作,我们深表感谢。”

联合国儿童基金会与日本长达60年的合作关系是儿基会历史上最重要的合作关系之一。1949年,联合国儿童基金会首次向日本儿童提供了奶粉;一年之后,日本开始向联合国儿童基金会提供捐助。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任维尼曼将于下月访问日本,参加庆祝双方合作关系的周年纪念活动。

广泛的支持

在访问中,鸠山夫人参观了联合国儿童基金会的紧急行动中心,并听取了有关日本对儿童生存问题和构建和平问题的支持,以及日本艺人陈美龄和黑柳彻子的工作情况。这两位艺人都是联合国儿童基金会的亲善大使。

此外,鸠山夫人还观看了由一家日本公司——住友化学工业株式会社提供的欧力赛特(Olyset)驱虫蚊帐的样品。联合国儿童基金会是全球最大的防疟疾蚊帐购买者,在过去的五年中,儿基会一直在购买欧力赛特蚊帐。

约翰逊副主任简要介绍了联合国儿童基金会与日本政府、日本人民以及日本私营部门之间的合作关系,并特别提到联合国儿童基金会日本国家委员会成功的筹款。

她说:“日本大众对联合国儿童基金会有着广泛的支持。”

博爱精神

最后,鸠山夫人在联合国儿童基金会的礼品店购买了一只玩具熊,并结束了访问。她代表自己和鸠山首相表示,日本应该继续发扬博爱精神,支持发展中国家。

2008年,日本政府向联合国儿童基金会项目的捐助超过了1.53亿美元,日本是儿基会的第六大捐助国。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Japan

Japan’s new First Lady visits UNICEF for first public engagement

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1421/Toutounji
At UNICEF House in New York, Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson stands with First Lady of Japan Miyuki Hatoyama, wife of Prime Minister of Japan Yukio Hatoyama, who is attending the 64th session of the United Nations General Assembly.

NEW YORK, USA, 23 September 2009 – First Lady of Japan Miyuki Hatoyama chose to visit UNICEF headquarters today as the site of her first public appearance since her husband, Yukio Hatoyama, was elected Prime Minister earlier this month.

Deputy Executive Director Hilde F. Johnson welcomed Ms. Hatoyama to UNICEF House. “We are very, very happy that you were able to take the time to visit UNICEF,” said Ms. Johnson. “We are thankful for the close and long-standing cooperation with your country.”

UNICEF’s 60-year collaboration with Japan is one of the most significant in its history. UNICEF first provided powdered milk to Japanese children in 1949; Japan made its first contribution to the organization a year later.

Next month, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman will visit Japan to mark the anniversary of the partnership.

Broad support
During her visit, Ms. Hatoyama toured UNICEF’s Emergency Operations Centre. She was also briefed on Japan’s support for child survival and peace building, and on the work of Japanese performers Agnes Chan Miling and Tetsuko Kuroyanagi, both of whom are UNICEF Goodwill Ambassadors.

In addition, Ms. Hatoyama saw a sample Olyset insecticide-treated bed net, which is produced by a Japanese company, Sumitomo Chemical. UNICEF – the world’s largest purchaser of anti-malarial bed nets – has been buying Olyset nets for the past five years.

Ms. Johnson took time to outline UNICEF’s partnership with the Japanese Government, its people and its private sector, and noted the fundraising successes of UNICEF Japan’s National Committee for UNICEF.

“There is a broad ownership amongst the Japanese public relating to UNICEF,” she said.

A spirit of fraternity
Ms. Hatoyama concluded her visit by buying a teddy bear at the UNICEF gift shop. She expressed her agreement – and her husband’s – that Japan should continue to support developing countries with a spirit of fraternity.

In 2008, the Government of Japan contributed more than $153 million to UNICEF’s programmes, making it the agency’s sixth-largest government donor.


 

 

New enhanced search