日本

日本对儿童色情说不

UNICEF Photo: Agnes Chan, Japan
© UNICEF Japan/2008
第三届世界大会的国家筹备会十月在东京联合国儿童基金会大楼召开,联合国儿童基金会日本委员会亲善大使陈美龄博士出席会议。

第三届反对针对儿童的性剥削世界大会将于2008年11月25日至28日在巴西举办,旨在促进国际合作以在制止性剥削方面采取更加有效的行动。以下是相关系列报道之一。

日本东京,2008年11月18日 —  秋叶原是东京最吸引旅游者前往的地方之一。 这一带以商店,尤其是以销售高科技电子产品和设备的商店而闻名。 但是,秋叶原也正因为DVD商店而闻名,其中许多都在出售色情影碟和杂志。

这些DVD商店所出售的绝大多数色情产品目前在日本都是合法的。 有些商店售卖的影片和杂志内容含有未成年儿童、尤其是女童做暗示性的动作或穿挑逗性的服装。 从技术上来说,这些被称为“少年偶像”的产品是合法的。 但是,这类产品的性剥削本质令政府感到不安,尤其是这些产品在互联网上还越来越多。

新科技带来新威胁

十月份,第三届反对针对儿童的性剥削世界大会的国家筹备会在东京联合国儿童基金会大楼召开,互联网热线中心副主任吉川诚司(Seiji Yoshikawa)先生讲述色情网站最近不断增长的情况。

吉川先生说:“尽管多数被举报的网站不能被判为非法,但是,如果我们找到涉及儿童色情的网站,我们绝不姑息。”

高科技的迅速发展和推广可能会在很多方面危及到儿童。 日本国家警察署青少年保护办公室主任衣笠诚(Makoto Kinugasa)先生指出,在2001年至2007年间,通过交友网站进行儿童卖淫而被逮捕的人数在增加。 他说,在这些性犯罪的受害人当中,70%是初中和高中的学生。

宫本纯子(Junko Miyamoto)女士是日本终止雏妓和人口贩卖组织(ECPAT/Stop Japan)的联席代表,她也讲到网络环境使儿童的行为更加复杂化。 宫本女士指有些孩子将自己的裸照放到网站上,或者通过手机网络发送,他们没有意识到这样做的危险性。

发起 “说不”运动

为了提高公众对这个问题的认识,并且呼吁政府及私营部门采取具体行动,联合国儿童基金会日本委员会与日本终止雏妓和人口贩卖组织、雅虎日本及微软日本合作,在今年三月发起了一个名为“对儿童色情说不”的运动。

这一倡议立即得到日本国会议员的响应,早些时候,他们在这个问题上已经与联合国儿童基金会日本委员会合作。 同时,这个运动也得到了媒体的极大关注。

执政党和在野党共同组成了一个专门委员会,开始研讨现行立法。 一些记者已经开始报道儿童色情问题。

十多万人响应

迄今为止,“说不”运动已经获得十万多名民众的签名支持。 基于这样热烈的支持,预计不久法律将被修订,使只要拥有儿童色情物品即构成犯罪行为。

作为对公众呼声的反应,最近四家主要互联网门户网站提供商关闭了使用他们服务的“少年偶像”网站。 并且,国家警察署与高科技代表也一起努力对儿童色情内容采取过滤和拦截措施。

在国家筹备会结束时,联合国儿童基金会日本委员会亲善大使陈美龄博士呼吁采取更进一步的行动。 她说:“让我们携手努力,进一步保护儿童,不仅是日本儿童,还包括那些生活在世界其它地方的小朋友”。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Japan

Saying ‘No’ to child pornography in Japan

UNICEF Image: Agnes Chan, Japan
© UNICEF Japan/2008
UNICEF Japan Goodwill Ambassador Dr. Agnes Chan Miling at the national preparatory meeting for the World Congress III, held at UNICEF House in Tokyo in October.

The World Congress III against the Sexual Exploitation of Children, set for 25-28 November 2008 in Brazil, aims to promote international cooperation for more effective action on sexual exploitation. Here is one in a series of related stories.

TOKYO, Japan, 18 November 2008 – Akihabara is one of Tokyo’s most popular tourist destinations. It is a neighbourhood known for its shops, specifically those that sell advanced electronic gadgets and appliances. But Akihabara is also becoming known for its DVD shops, many of which sell pornographic movies and magazines that depict the sexual exploitation of children.

Most, if not all of the pornography sold at these shops is currently legal in Japan. Some shops sell movies and magazines that depict underage children, mostly girls, in suggestive poses or outfits. Called 'junior idols', these materials are technically legal, but the exploitive nature of such products is troubling to authorities. Also troubling is the fact that these products are becoming more widely available on the Internet.

New technologies bring new threats

At the national preparatory meeting for the World Congress III, held at UNICEF House in Tokyo in October, Deputy Head of the Internet Hot Line Centre Seiji Yoshikawa spoke about the recent proliferation of child pornography websites.

“Although most of reported websites cannot be judged as illegal, we won’t tolerate any websites containing child pornography if we find them,” said Mr. Yoshikawa.

The rapid development and spread of new technology can endanger children in many ways. Director of the Youth Protection Office at the National Police Agency Makoto Kinugasa noted that the number of arrests related to child prostitution through dating-service websites has increased from 2001 to 2007. He noted that junior high and high school students accounted for 70 per cent of the victims of these sex crimes.

Co-representative Junko Miyamoto of ECPAT/Stop Japan – a network that aims to end child prostitution and trafficking – also reported that children’s behaviour in the online environment is complicating the situation. Ms. Miyamoto related that some children post their own naked pictures on the Internet or send them through mobile networks without realizing the risks.

Say ‘No’ campaign launched

To raise public awareness on the issue, and to call for concrete actions from both the public and private sectors, the Japan Committee for UNICEF, in partnership with ECPAT/Stop Japan, Yahoo! Japan and Microsoft Japan, launched the Say ‘No’ to Child Pornography campaign in March of this year.

The initiative was immediately echoed by the members of Parliament who had already been working with the UNICEF Japan on this issue. It also drew substantial media attention.

Both the ruling and opposition parties have formed special committees to begin reviewing the existing legislation, and a number of journalists have begun covering child pornography issue.

More than 100,000 respond

To date, the Say ‘NO’ campaign has collected more than 100,000 signatures of support from the general public. With such overwhelming support, laws are expected to be amended soon to criminalize simple possession of child pornography.

Four major Internet portal site providers recently responded to the public call by shutting down ‘junior idol’ sites from their services. Additionally, the National Police Agency is working with IT industry representatives on child-pornography filtering and blocking measures.

At the closing of the national preparatory meeting, UNICEF Japan Goodwill Ambassador Dr. Agnes Chan Miling called for further action. “Let us work together further to protect children – not only those in Japan, but also those who live abroad,” she said.


 

 

New enhanced search