日本

东亚领导人承诺改善厕所和卫生设施的状况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
来自东亚14个国家的代表齐聚日本,出席了由联合国儿童基金会,世界银行,国际卫生组织共同举办的,首届东亚国家环境卫生和个人卫生的部长级会议。

斯蒂夫.内特敦报道

日本别府市,2007年12月3日。上周末,来自东亚14个国家的170多位代表齐聚日本九州岛南部城市别府,出席了首届东亚国家环境卫生和个人卫生部长级会议。
本次会议由联合国儿童基金会,世界银行饮水和卫生方案,世界卫生组织共同主办,这是该地区有史以来举办过的此类会议中最高级别的会议。

部长和决策者们承诺为改善整个东亚国家的环境卫生和个人卫生状况而努力,以使还没有常规厕所和洗浴设施的亿万民众的利益得以保证。代表们签署了一项宣言,呼吁加大环境卫生和个人卫生方面的投资 — 尤其是在惠及贫困及弱势群体方面 — 加强区域间合作以加快这些方面的转变。

八亿人受到影响

近年来,虽然东亚的许多国家已经取得了长足的发展,但估计还有8亿人,约占该地区人口近一半,生活中仍然缺乏安全饮用水和公共卫生设施。

根据这次首脑峰会提供的资料显示,有四分之三的人口生活在缺乏公共卫生设施的农村地区,那里的婴儿死亡率和营养不良的比例明显高于城市,估计每年有19万人死于与腹泻相关的疾病。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
对于东亚的教育和全面发展而言,改善环境卫生设施是关键。

联合国儿童基金会东亚和太平洋地区主任饶辛格说:“妇女们必须应对缺少卫生设施带来的后果,无论是因为她们的孩子长期健康状况不佳,或是她们担心个人隐私问题,亦或是支付经常患病的孩子的医疗费用等问题的困扰。”

“每天都在奋斗”

在本次峰会处理的问题中,有这样一个例子,拉姬米,来自印度尼西亚的两个孩子的母亲,她责备由于恶劣的公共设施和个人卫生状况,导致她孩子们身上起了不明红疹子。

对于拉姬米来说,卫生用水有的时候是一种奢望。在山边挖个坑,就是她家唯一的厕所了。和家蓄同用的一个池塘,就是她们塞罗帕妙若村的唯一水源了。到了旱季,她和邻居们只能从下面的城里买水用卡车运回来。

 “为了既能有水又能照料孩子,我们每天都在奋斗。” 她说:“我期望政府能为我们解决自来水和公共厕所,或有其他捐助者可以帮助我们。”

承诺的落实

在本次日本举行的部长级会议上,代表们承诺要使像拉姬米这样的妇女能分享计划中或已经实施的环境卫生和个人卫生项目,并通过本国政府给与强有力的领导。

世界银行能源,运输,水部门主任杰穆.赛伊尔说:“我们希望看到更多的政府意愿,看到更多的政策落实,以便有更适合的投资环境。有了政府意愿,有了健全的规则和健全的结构,投资就会流动起来。我们希望看到一个比我们迄今为止所能看到的更加全面的环境卫生结构。”

与会代表们一致同意,每两年举行一次复审会议,用以为衡量今天做出的改善东亚发展中国家妇女和儿童的生活承诺的进展情况。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年12月3日:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员斯蒂夫.内特敦报道在日本召开有关改善东南亚环境卫生的具有里程碑意义的峰会。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Japan

East Asian leaders commit to improving toilets and hygiene

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Delegates from 14 East Asian nations gathered in Japan for the first East Asia Ministerial Conference on Sanitation and Hygiene, co-hosted by UNICEF, the World Bank and the World Health Organization.

By Steve Nettleton

BEPPU CITY, Japan, 3 December 2007 – More than 170 delegates from 14 East Asian nations gathered last weekend in Beppu City, on the southern Japanese island of Kyushu, for the first East Asia Ministerial Conference on Sanitation and Hygiene.

Co-hosted by UNICEF, the World Bank’s Water and Sanitation Programme (WSP) and the World Health Organization, it was the highest-level gathering of its kind ever held in the region.

Ministers and decision-makers pledged to boost efforts for improved sanitation and hygiene across East Asia, benefiting hundreds of millions of people who still live without proper toilet and washing facilities. Representatives signed a declaration calling for higher levels of investment in sanitation and hygiene – particularly in ways that benefit the poor and vulnerable – and for strengthening regional cooperation to expedite these changes.

800 million affected

While many countries in East Asia have made significant progress in recentg years, an estimated 800 million people, nearly half of the region’s total population, still lack access to safe water and sanitation.

Three-quarters of those without sanitation live in rural areas, where infant mortality and malnutrition are notably higher than in the cities and an estimated 190,000 die each year of diarrhoea-related diseases, according to data presented at the summit.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Improved sanitation facilities are critical for education and overall development in East Asia.

“It is really the women who have to cope with the consequences of the lack of sanitation – whether because of continued ill-health of their children, whether they have concerns of privacy that they themselves face or whether they have to bear the cost of treatment in looking after their children who fall ill frequently,” said UNICEF Regional Director for East Asia and the Pacific Anupama Rao Singh.

‘It’s a struggle every day’

In an illustration of the problems addressed at the summit, Rakimi, a mother of two from Indonesia, blames poor sanitation and hygiene for an unexplained rash that has affected her sons.

For Rakimi, water for hygiene is a seasonal luxury. Her family’s only choice of toilet is a pit dug into the hillside. The only water source for her village of Selopamioro is the same pond used by cattle. In the dry season, she and her neighbours must pay for water to be trucked up from the city below.

“It’s a struggle every day, balancing going to get water and taking care of my children,” she said. “I expect the government should provide us running water and our own latrine – or any other donors that might help us.”

Commitment to follow-up

At the ministerial conference in Japan, delegates pledged to enable the participation of women like Rakimi in the planning and implementation of sanitation and hygiene programmes, and to provide strong leadership through their governments.

“We would like to see more political will. We would like to see some policy decisions so that an adequate environment for investment is there,” said the Director of the Energy, Transport and Water Department of the World Bank, Jamal Saghir. “And when you have this political will and the right regulation and right framework, investment will flow. We would like to see a framework in which sanitation is looked at much more comprehensively than we have seen so far in some countries.”

Representatives here have also agreed to hold a follow-up meeting every two years, providing an opportunity to measure how far pledges made today go to improving the lives of women and children in the developing countries of East Asia.


 

 

Video

3 December 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton reports on a landmark summit in Japan to improve sanitation in East Asia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search