牙买加

联合国儿童基金会副执行主任访问牙买加成人监狱里的儿童

埃里森.赫克林报道

牙买加金斯敦,2013年2月26日 —— 联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔(Geeta Rao Gupta)在首次访问牙买加期间,来到该国唯一的女子监狱——奥古斯塔堡成人劳教中心(Fort Augusta Adult Correctional Centre) ,倾听被关押儿童的心声。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Jamaica/2013/Hickling
古普塔女士倾听该女子监狱的另一名年轻囚犯的讲述。联合国儿童基金会正与合作伙伴共同努力通过推行非监禁措施减少被关押儿童的数量。

成人监狱里的儿童

联合国儿童基金会驻牙买加办事处与其他专注于儿童事业的机构携手,主张释放该监狱关押的儿童。许多被关押的女孩均因行为“无法控制”的这一非刑事指控而入狱。根据国际法,他们不应该被关押在成人监狱。

近期的抗议行动要求政府解决这一问题。青年和文化部长已经宣布了一系列将要采取的措施,其中包括设立女子青少年教养所。

目前,青少年囚犯被关押在奥古斯塔堡监狱。

“我想回家”

昨天下午,正在牙买加了解更多关于拉丁美洲及加勒比地区的儿童所面临问题的古普塔女士与一群年轻囚犯会面。

女孩们向古普塔女士讲述了她们艰难的生活经历以及对监狱生活的看法。“我想回家。”其中一个女孩说,她从儿童之家出走后便被关押在奥古斯塔堡监狱。这里所有的女孩都很同情她。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Jamaica/2013/Hickling
联合国儿童基金会副执行主任吉塔.饶.古普塔正在牙买加了解更多关于拉丁美洲及加勒比地区的儿童所面临的问题。图中为她与该成人监狱的一名年轻女囚犯会面。

一个17岁的女孩抱着自己年幼的孩子,与古普塔女士交谈。她因怀孕期间行为无法控制这一指控被关押到奥古斯塔堡监狱。婴儿在6个月大前可以与监狱里的妈妈生活在一起。这个十几岁的妈妈渴望与自己的孩子一起出狱。

其中一些女孩已经参加了该监狱提供的作为改造计划一部分的学习班。许多人质疑这些课程的品质,已经放弃,坐等释放。

合作推行非监禁措施

联合国儿童基金会驻牙买加办事处正与合作伙伴合作,通过推行非监禁措施减少被关押儿童的数量。2013年,在联合国儿童基金会与欧盟的财政支持下,司法部将试行一项国家儿童改造计划(National Child Diversion Programme),以减少国家支持的机构中的青少年数量。

欧盟支持的举措还将包括儿童发展局(Child Development Agency)与卫生部建立一个流动心理健康诊所。工作重心将是增加非监禁改造的方法,重点改善心理健康、青少年权利和重新融入社会的能力。


 

 

搜索

Jamaica

UNICEF Deputy Executive Director visits children in an adult prison in Jamaica

By Allison Hickling

KINGSTON, Jamaica, 26 February, 2013 – On her first visit to Jamaica, UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta heard first-hand from children detained at the Fort Augusta Adult Correctional Centre, the country’s only prison for women.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Jamaica/2013/Hickling
UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Geeta Rao Gupta is in Jamaica to learn more about issues facing children in the Latin America and the Caribbean region. Here, she meets with a young female inmate at a prison for adults.

Children in adult prison

UNICEF Jamaica, along with other child-focused agencies, has been advocating for the removal of the children from the prison. Many of the girls are incarcerated for non-criminal charges of ‘uncontrollable’ behaviour. In keeping with international law, they should not be detained with adults.

Recent outcry has prompted government action to address the situation. The Minister of Youth and Culture has announced a raft of measures that will be taken, including the establishment of a correctional facility for female juveniles.

The juvenile inmates are currently living in prison cells at Fort Augusta.

“I want to go home”

Ms. Gupta, who is in Jamaica to learn more about issues facing children in the Latin America and the Caribbean region, met with a group of the young inmates yesterday afternoon.

The girls recounted their difficult life experiences and shared insights with Ms. Gupta on life in prison. “I want to go home,” said one of the girls, who landed in Fort Augusta after running away from a children’s home. All the girls echo her sentiment.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Jamaica/2013/Hickling
Ms. Gupta listens to another young inmate of the women's prison. UNICEF is working with partners to reduce the number of children who are incarcerated, by promoting non-custodial measures.

One 17-year-old talks with Ms. Gupta while cradling her young child. She came into Fort Augusta on a charge of uncontrollable behaviour while pregnant. Infants are allowed in the prison until they are 6 months old. The teenage mother is anxious for both of them to leave.

Some of the girls have embraced academic classes offered at the prison as part of a rehabilitative programme. Others question the quality of the lessons and have given up, spending their days counting down to release.

Partnerships in non-custodial measures

UNICEF Jamaica is working with partners to reduce the number of children who are incarcerated, by promoting non-custodial measures. In 2013, with financial support from UNICEF and the European Union, the Ministry of Justice will pilot a National Child Diversion Programme to reduce the juvenile population of State-supported institutions.

The European Union-supported initiative will also include the establishment of a Mobile Mental Health Clinic by the Child Development Agency and the Ministry of Health. Efforts will focus on increasing non-custodial approaches to rehabilitation, with an emphasis on improving mental health, empowerment and re-integration.


 

 

New enhanced search